We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic, Boutique Hotel in a Quiet Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sainte Beuve

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Sainte Beuve to your Saves list
Hotel Sainte Beuve
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9, rue Sainte-Beuve, 75006 Paris, France   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Buffalo, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Fantastic, Boutique Hotel in a Quiet Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Hotel Sainte Beuve in June 2013. It is a very nice hotel located on a quiet side street in Paris within a 5 minute walk from Luxembourg Gardens. It is near all major rail lines, and the hotel staff are very accommodating. Each day we were met with a smile, and they were more than happy to give up directions, recommend attractions, and make dinner reservations. They were especially helpful when a rail strike happened, and we were stuck in Normandy. The rooms are clean, tidy, and the bathrooms are up-to-date with hot water running the whole day. I would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurent I, Propriétaire at Hotel Sainte Beuve, responded to this review, February 25, 2014
Dear guests,

Thank you for sharing your nice review of your experience with us. We are glad you enjoyed the hotel, we love to keep it in the best condition possible, and its location. We are in a friendly and quiet area close to places of interest such as the Luxembourg gardens and within walking distance of metro lines 4, 6 and 12 which can get you anywhere in Paris easily and efficiently. Our staff is always happy, hence the smile, to explain how to use them and more generally to help you any way we can to make your stay as delightful as you expected or even more!
We look forward to having you stay with us again the next time you come to Paris!

Charlotte and Laurent Inchauspé
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    284
    119
    10
    8
    2
See reviews for
73
222
22
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Espoo, Finland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

This a very nice hotel is located on quiet sidestreet about 500 meters walk from Luxemburg gardens, close to metro stations(50-150m) and the AirPort train station(5 min walk, when asking we got very clear and good directions from the hotel by E-mail). The rooms are rather small (as usual in Paris) but nicely decorated, the french "balkony" helped to give a more spacy feeling. Bed is good and the hotel is kept very clean. Reception area is very cosy, nicely and homely decorated with a fireplace. Sabrine in the reseption is superb; helpful, nice and always with a warm smile making you feel welcome. Breakfast was stressfree( at least when we stayed in early January and the hotel was only half booked), as you get a nice choice served to the table in the cosy bar area, and do not need to que and run around to pick your breakfast choice yourself.
There are some nice restaurants close to the hotel. 50m on the same street is LeTimbre with a three course meny ( you can choose from the ala carte meny) for very priceworth 32-35€. Food is clearly cooked with passion by the owner and the friendly waiter is very professional what it comes to recommendations of both food and wine. Restaurant is small why you are sitting very close to your neighbours. Another great restaurant in the area (about 1,5km away) is Pique Pigue, more expensive, but great food and service. Parc de Clerf close to the hotel was a disappointment after the great experience we had had in the other two restaurants mentioned. Nothing very wrong, as food was better than in the touristplaces, but not comparable to what you can get in the ambitious places. Service was was OK, but lack of true warmth and interest made it impersonal.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurent I, Propriétaire at Hotel Sainte Beuve, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear Guests,

It’s a pleasure reading your detailed review of your experience with us!
We’re very happy you were satisfied by the service provided by our staff, as we are genuinely anxious to do our best to make your stay as pleasant as we can, welcoming you, providing information and tips throughout your stay or serving a delicious, fresh breakfast in our cosy salon.
Our hotel offers different room sizes according to the room type and though some might appear small, they are indeed very satisfactory in comparison to Paris’ standards. About our location, we’re enchanted to offer within walking distance three subway stops (line 4, 6 and 12) which allow our guests to move easily in Paris, the Luxembourg gardens and amazing restaurants. We’re very sorry you didn’t like the Parc aux Cerfs which is close to us but thrilled that you enjoyed dining at Le Timbre. This restaurant is quite unique and our absolute favorite : Chris, the chef, cooks beautifully and you enjoy your meal in a very professional but warm and friendly atmosphere. Pouic-Pouic is also a very good option to have a great French cuisine experience.
We look forward to having you stay in our hotel again very soon!

Charlotte and Laurent Inchauspé
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astoria, OR
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

We travelled to Paris in October 2013 with friends, one of whom had never been to Paris and one of whom hadn't been in thirty years. We found the location to be very convenient, close to the Luxembourg Gardens for a peaceful respite. It was great to be able to walk to so much in the 5th, 6th and Montparnasse as well as having easy access to the Metro. Several restaurants that are just steps away are quite wonderful, which was nice after being out and about all day long. The staff was helpful and welcoming, our room was comfortable and relatively spacious - and very quiet. We enjoyed sitting in the lobby having a drink or tea between excursions. I would be most happy to stay at the Hotel Sainte Beuve on our next trip to Paris.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurent I, Propriétaire at Hotel Sainte Beuve, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear Guests,

We thank you for choosing to stay with us for your (re)-discovery of Paris!
We do have a very convenient location, close to three main subway lines allowing you to get anywhere in Paris easily and quickly and within walking distance of some of the most enjoyable parts of Paris : the Luxembourg gardens, Saint-Germain-des-Prés or the Latin Quarter. Our neighborhood offers some high quality restaurants that our staff are always happy to recommend, according to what you are looking for! We also take pride in making you feel at home with us, our hotel being the place where you can rest and relax after a long busy day in Paris.
We hope we’ll have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon!

Charlotte and Laurent Inchauspé
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

We stayed here in April 2012. Possibly one of the best hotels I've ever stayed at.
Entrance foyer is warm and welcoming with a fireplace. We were warming up next to the fire after a chilly walk around the beautiful Luxembourg Gardens and were offered a wine and pasties by the charming staff. The girl at reception was extremely friendly and helpful.
Room was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was first class.

When we next visit Paris this will definitely be our hotel of choice.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurent I, Propriétaire at Hotel Sainte Beuve, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear Guest,

We were delighted to read your warm review of our hotel!
The fireplace is indeed one of the best feature of our foyer. When the weather is bad, it’s always nice to know that you have a cozy place to go to and relax. Our staff has also the genuine desire to make you feel at home and to do their very best to make your stay as special and unforgettable as possible; So we make sure to take good care of our guest’s requests, recommending restaurants according to what they’re looking for, of the hotel’s condition and of our breakfast, serving only delicious fresh products.
Our hotel is also very well situated, especially for those fond of walking as we have some of Paris’ wonders only a few steps away such as the Luxembourg Gardens for example and we have three main subway lines (4,6 and 12) as well which allow you to get anywhere in Paris very easily. The neighborhood is nice, quiet and friendly and offer lots of very good restaurant options.
We were happy to have you stay with us and we hope we’ll see you again in the near future!

Charlotte and Laurent Inchauspé
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

We had such a great time, spending four nights in December. the staff was wonderful and the breakfasts delicious. Our room was quiet, comfortable, and tastefully decorated. the lobby was beautiful for Christmas. the hotel is located near the metro but also within walking distance to much. we loved the restaurants in the area, also. the weather was terrific! maybe the hotel had something to do with that!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurent I, Propriétaire at Hotel Sainte Beuve, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you again for staying with us and for sharing your experience!
We’re delighted you appreciated our Christmas decorations and the “home away from home” atmosphere of our hotel. Serving a delicious and fresh breakfast is therefore very important to us and we pay attention to it every morning. Our staff is always happy to help, making their best to offer the highest quality of service so that your only trouble is to enjoy your trip to the fullest. We do not control the weather yet but we’re working on it!
Our hotel location is indeed ideal since you are within a few minute walking distance from three metro stops (lines 4, 6 and 12) and some of Paris main attractions such as the Luxembourg Gardens for example. So you can enjoy all of Paris’s treasures easily but leave the noise behind to rest and relax in your room or in our comfortable foyer (More so in the wintertime, when we light a fire in the fireplace for our guests to be able to sit by the fireplace, sipping a glass of wine, reading a good book).
We hope we’ll have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon!

Charlotte and Laurent Inchauspé
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

Charming, comfortable & cozy!! We arrived early and Henry got us our room early!! We felt welcomed right away. The lobby is adorable and you feel like your staying with family..It is right around the corner from the metro and the location is perfect..We walked to the gardens and ate a few times at the Vavin Cafe and La Rotunde!! Great bakery right around the corner and supermarket..The hotel exceeded all expectations..We loved it and look forward to coming back!! The place is super clean (spotless) and the bathroom is perfect..It is cozy (we are in Paris) the only thing I would change is the pillows- get comfortable pillows, that would be my only suggestion.. A plus !! thanks for making our anniversary super!!!

Room Tip: Stay in room 10
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurent I, Propriétaire at Hotel Sainte Beuve, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear Guests,

Thanks again for staying with us to celebrate your 20th anniversary, a very special occasion!
We’re delighted you enjoyed your stay in our hotel, taking advantage of our great location in Paris. We are surrounded by very nice restaurants and bakeries (Café Vavin and La Rotonde are among our favourites), and only a few steps away from the Luxembourg gardens which are beautiful even during winter time. Our staff is always happy to help our guests any way they can to make their stay as agreeable and unforgettable as possible, giving a room early being (when possible) being the easiest one! We try to create a French, cosy and welcoming atmosphere in our hotel so that our guests can feel comfortable from the very minute they check in and it is a real pleasure for us to read that you felt it.
Thank you for your suggestion about the pillows, we are changing them as we speak and we look forward to hearing your feedback about the new ones. We just hope you won’t wait until your 30th anniversary to stay with us again!
Our whole team hopes to welcome you soon again.

Charlotte and Laurent Inchauspé
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

The hotel is very well maintained and the staff is highly professional and friendly - no exceptions in our experience!. Every request we had - room service, recommendations, reservations, etc. - was quickly and thoroughly met. We've stayed at the Sainte-Beuve several times and it is clear that an excellent job is being done of not only keeping it first class but making subtle improvements constantly .

Room Tip: We prefer the "line" that includes Room 11 - it has good division between the bedroom and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurent I, Propriétaire at Hotel Sainte Beuve, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Dear guests,
We were truly touched by your kind review.
It is always a pleasure for us to see that returning guests still enjoy their stay.
We did create a French, cosy and welcoming atmosphere in our hotel so that our guests can feel comfortable from the very minute they check in.
We pay extra attention to maintain a very high level of service in our hotel every day. Our guests can thus contact the front desk at any time should they have a question or a special request. Our staff is always delighted to help.
The whole team sincerely hopes to welcome you again and again in our hotel.
Best regards,
Charlotte and Laurent Inchauspé
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Sainte Beuve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sainte Beuve

Address: 9, rue Sainte-Beuve, 75006 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#45 Family Hotel in Paris
#50 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#223 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sainte Beuve 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Sainte Beuve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sainte Beuve Hotel
Sainte Beuve Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sainte Beuve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.