We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Sainte Beuve

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Sainte Beuve to your Saves list
Hotel Sainte Beuve
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   9, rue Sainte-Beuve, 75006 Paris, France   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
manistee, mi
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Great location , near Metro & many bistros, cafes, & restaurants. Felt safe in the area at all times. Runners will like its proximity to Luxembourg gardens. Rooms a little tight , but very nice updated bathroom. Little to no street noise. Slept great for 5 nights straight.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurent I, Propriétaire at Hotel Sainte Beuve, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear guests,
First of all we want to thank you for sharing your experience in our hotel.
The location of our hotel is indeed really convenient with 3 metro stops within 5 minute walk (line 4,6 and 12). Moreover, there are countless restaurants in the neighborhood, as well as the Luxembourg Gardens.
We have 4 different types of rooms, with different sizes as well. Several photos are available on the hotel’s website.
We hope to welcome you again in the future.
Best regards,
Charlotte et Laurent Inchauspé
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    284
    119
    10
    8
    2
See reviews for
73
222
22
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

My husband and I spent a week here in May. As others have already said, the hotel is charmingly decorated, spotlessly clean, and very comfortable. We loved being in a quiet neighborhood with great access to mutliple Metro lines and easy walks to restaurants, cafes, and the Luxembourg Gardens. The staff were extremely helpful and polite. Amelie seemed to be behind the desk the most during our stay, and she graciously helped us with restaurant resevations, and even confirmed the details of our car rervation for the next leg of our trip. We enjoyed the very ample breakfast at the hotel several times, and also at Cafe Julien a couple of blocks away.

We were in Room 3, a superior. The bed is a very comfortable king; there was ample storage for our clothing and luggage. We liked having the small refrigerator which had enough space for our own water and wine. The bath room was small, but there was just enough space for our personal items, and we appreciated the robes and slippers. The toilet space was a bit tight-- the door could not be opened all the way, but it didn't really cause us any problem.

We slept with the double-doored window open most of the time. Occassionly there was street noise, so we closed the window and found the sound-proofing worked extremely well.

Part of the reason we chose the Sainte Beuve was because it offered the combination of charm, comfort and service and still stayed within our budget. We reserved months in advance and got a discount for staying more than three days. So, I'd say we found great value here, although I must admit that the size of the room was a bit small for a week's stay. But, I wholeheartedly would recommend it for a shorter stay, and would consider splurging on the junior sweet should we return for more than a few days.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurent I, Propriétaire at Hotel Sainte Beuve, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear guests,
We were deeply touched by your warm and kind review.
The location of our hotel is indeed really convenient with 3 metro stops within walking distance (line 4, 6 and 12) and countless restaurants and bistros.
We pay extra attention to the cleanliness, decoration and layout in our hotel to maintain the welcoming and cosy atmosphere our guests like.
We do have 4 different types of rooms, with different sizes as well. Several photos and descriptions are available on the hotel’s website.
We only serve fresh products to our guests for breakfasts: freshly squeezed orange juice, fresh fruit salad, fresh bread and croissants…It is really important for us that our guests start their day with an excellent breakfast. At any time, our staff is always happy to help our guests, doing their best to make them comfortable during their stay.
The whole team sincerely hopes to welcome you again in the future.
Best regards,
Charlotte et Laurent Inchauspé
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

The Hotel on a quiet street off Boulvard Raspail and a short walk from the Luxembourg Gardens. It has a quaint air about it. The elevator could barely fit 4 people. The room was small but the bathroom was huge and the bath was excellent. The surrounding neighborhood seemed to have a student air about it(not that far from the Sorbonne). We opted for the "Continental Breakfast" which was excellent including the fresh squeezed orange juice(the best I ever had) ham, cheese, yogurt croissant, bread and coffee or tea. We were on the second floor facing the street but heard no street noise. We asked the hotel to arrange a car to the airport when we left. The car was on time and very professional. The housekeeping service was quick and effieient.

Being a small hotel the staff was occasionally pulled in different directions. We had some difficulty getting suggestions and directions as the phone and other booking duties often interfered. In addition the street is 1 block long and taxis had difficulty locating it. We quickly learned to use the intersection of Blvds Raspail and Montparnesse; a short walk from the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurent I, Propriétaire at Hotel Sainte Beuve, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear guests,
First of all we want to thank you for sharing your experience in our hotel.
The location of our hotel is indeed really convenient with 3 metro stops within 5 minute walk (line 4,6 and 12). Our guests can therefore easily discover Paris during the day, and come back to a quieter place in the evening to relax. Moreover, there are countless restaurants and bistros in the neighborhood.
We only serve fresh products to our guests for breakfasts: freshly squeezed orange juice, fresh fruit salad, fresh bread and croissants…
We do have 4 different types of rooms, with different sizes as well. Several photos are available on the hotel’s website. Our lift is indeed not particularly large but is typical from Parisian old buildings.
We hope to welcome you again in the future.
Best regards,
Charlotte et Laurent Inchauspé
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Le Sainte-Beuve: We couldn't have been happier with our beautiful, charming hotel on the quaint left bank of Paris. Le Sainte-Beauve was everything we could want. It was clean, the front desk staff (Amelie and Laetitia) were so helpful and every recommendation they offered was outstanding, from our trip to the Champagne country to the Vivettes Bateaux on the Seine to the wonderful dining bistros. Our room was quiet and had everything we could ask for. From a comfortable bed to the beautifully designed brand new bathroom. The breakfast was delicious and so much fun to look forward to and at the end of the day our drinks were in front of the real fire in the lobby. The location is one of the best, 1/2 block from 2 Metro lines. We can't wait to return to Paris and wouldn't think of staying any other place but the Sainte-Beauve. Thank you for making our trip a lasting memory. Jill from CT, USA

Room Tip: Upper floors - quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurent I, Propriétaire at Hotel Sainte Beuve, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Dear guests,
We were deeply touched by your warm and kind review.
The location of our hotel is indeed really convenient with 3 metro stops within walking distance (line 4, 6 and 12) and countless restaurants and bistros.
We pay extra attention to the cleanliness, decoration and layout in our hotel to maintain the welcoming and cosy atmosphere our guests like.
We only serve fresh products to our guests for breakfasts: freshly squeezed orange juice, fresh fruit salad, fresh bread and croissants…It is really important for us that our guests start their day with an excellent breakfast. At any time, our staff is always happy to help our guests, doing their best to make them comfortable during their stay.
The whole team sincerely hopes to welcome you again in the future.
Best regards,
Charlotte et Laurent Inchauspé
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utica, New York
Top Contributor
266 reviews 266 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

A beautiful boutique hotel that we fell in love with. We had a 3rd floor room facing the street (with a balcony) and oh my, we will return. The room was of good size by European standards & is yards away from the Jardin du Luxembourg. Superb. Very congenial staff; don't worry about little things like the small elevator... it's Europe. This is the hotel you will love to come back to. A beautiful experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurent I, Propriétaire at Hotel Sainte Beuve, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear guests,
It was a pleasure for us to read your kind review.
Our hotel is indeed a boutique hotel, i.e. a small hotel with exceptional service. We would therefore like to thank you for noticing it.
We take great pride in providing the highest level of service to our guests. Our staff is always delighted to recommend restaurants or places to visit in Paris.
We do have 4 different types of rooms, with different sizes as well. Several photos are available on the hotel’s website. Some these rooms have a balcony.
We hope to welcome you again in our hotel.
Best regards,
Charlotte and Laurent Inchauspé
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hinesburg, Vermont
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We stayed 3 nights in this lovely hotel and loved the overall experience of being in a quiet neighborhood, though within easy walking distance to many restaurants and 2 metro stations. There is an authentic French ambience with a cozy salon and dining area and excellent breakfast - the large, warm, flakey croissants, fresh breads, fluffy omelets and freshly squeezed juice were superb. The staff is very good in helping you navigate the city and suggesting restaurants and attractions. We cannot wait to go back to this wonderful place!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurent I, Propriétaire at Hotel Sainte Beuve, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear guests,
We were truly touched by your kind review.
The location of our hotel is indeed really convenient with 3 metro stops within walking distance (line 4, 6 and 12) and countless restaurants and bistros. Our guests can therefore easily discover Paris during the day, and come back to a quieter place in the evening to relax.
We pay extra attention to the decoration and layout in our hotel to maintain the welcoming and cosy atmosphere our guests like.
We only serve fresh products to our guests for breakfasts: freshly squeezed orange juice, fresh fruit salad, fresh bread and croissants…It is really important for us that our guests start their day with an excellent breakfast. At any time, our staff is always happy to help our guests, doing their best to make them comfortable during their stay.
The whole team looks forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Best regards,
Charlotte et Laurent Inchauspé
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

Lovely two night stay in this hotel with my wife.

Location is great for metro, restaurants, gardens and sight seeing.

Service from hotel was great - from the moment I booked, until we left.

Would recommend highly to others and hope to visit again one day.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Laurent I, Propriétaire at Hotel Sainte Beuve, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear guests,
Thank you for your nice review.
Our hotel is “surrounded” by many restaurants, bistros and boulangeries; this area is therefore really enjoyable. Moreover the Jardin du Luxembourg is just one minute walk away from the hotel. The location is therefore really convenient with 3 metro lines close by (4, 6 and 12).
We take great pride in providing the highest level of service at any time. Our staff is therefore delighted to help guests during their stay with dinner reservations or excursion bookings. They are of course always happy to answer any questions our guests might have before their stay upon reservation.
Our team hopes to welcome you again in the future.
Best regards,
Charlotte et Laurent Inchauspé
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Sainte Beuve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sainte Beuve

Address: 9, rue Sainte-Beuve, 75006 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#45 Family Hotel in Paris
#50 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#223 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Sainte Beuve 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Sainte Beuve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sainte Beuve Hotel
Sainte Beuve Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Sainte Beuve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.