We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small but perfectly formed!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Verneuil

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Verneuil to your Saves list
Hotel Verneuil
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   8, Rue de Verneuil, 75007 Paris, France (Saint Germain Des Prés)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #50 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Yorkshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Small but perfectly formed!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Fabulous find in a central Paris location! I stayed at the Hotel Verneuil on a family trip for Christmas 2012, I had never been to Paris before and meticulously researched different districts of the city before deciding on the Hotel Verneuil - I was not disappointed and it will definitely be my first choice on future visits to this beautiful city. As others have said, the location is fantastic in Saint Germain just two streets away from Quai Voltaire and the banks of the Seine. The Musee d'Orsay and the Louvre are literally just across the bridge. The hotel itself is in a quiet side street and directly opposite Serge Gainsbourg's former residence. There are several small restaurants within a couple of minutes walk in either direction so if you fancy a bite to eat after an exhausting day of sight seeing and want to be able to stroll home to bed the Hotel Verneuil is ideally located. There is a deli on Rue Verneuil itself, a beautiful Epicerie just round the corner, a restaurant right on the corner of the street, an artisan baker and a mini market all metres away. The other very handy thing about the location is that although everything is very walkable, it is located only a few minutes from metro stations Saint Germain and Rue de Bac to take you to other desitnations that may be a little far to go on foot. The Hotel Verneuil is a traditional building with a lovely ambience and decor, the Classic Rooms are compact but everything has been well thought out and the space has been used to maximum effect. The beds and pillows are incredibly comfortable and whilst I did not take any rocking after pounding the Parisian boulevards all day they made for a comfortable and undisturbed night's rest. As others have commented cleanliness is top of the list and the rooms, bathrooms and public areas are immaculate - particularly the gorgeous and well proportioned bathrooms! An abundance of white fluffy towels are provided and lovely bathing products too. We had breakfast at the hotel on Christmas day, it is continentel buffet style and the quality and quantity of the produce is excellent. It is served in the basement of the hotel which has been very tastefully converted into a vaulted dining area. When we returned to our room on Christmas Day night it was a lovely touch to find a box of Maison du Chocolat chocolates tied up in a bow with a festive message! Nazira at reception was very friendly and helpful and arranged a taxi to return us to the station to start our journey home. All in all a wonderful stay, I will definitely be returning to the Hotel Verneil - magnifique!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

417 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    291
    94
    29
    2
    1
See reviews for
66
227
30
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We chose his hotel based on Trip advisor reviews and the beautiful photos. On arrival the hotel lobby and drawing room looked just as lovely as the pictures so we were excited to check in. The lady at the desk was courteous but a little moody and preoccupied. We had booked a Club room as we had been warned that the standard rooms are tiny....well our Club room was small, even by Paris standards. By that I mean that you could hardly walk around the bed. The decor was nothing like the pictures suggested. The room was very bare save for one picture and a black desk...none of the antique charms and bookcases you would be led to believe. The bathroom however, was clean and attractively designed. The highlight of our stay was breakfast which was very good and the croissants and pain au chocolate were perfect. We felt that the room was average and the service was quite chilly. It's a real shame because the location and the Hotel building has so much potential to be very good. Maybe we just to a bad room and the receptionist at a bad moment, but in hospitality, you have to always appear happy even if you do not feel it!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

The first thing you notice about this hotel upon arrival is that it looks quite the same as the many lovely apartment buildings and townhouses on this quiet street just two short blocks from the Seine. And when you walk into the hotel, it is as if you've stepped into the parlor of a comfortably appointed French home. No check-in desk or bellhops-- just a library-like office where one of the managers is always sitting down at a table, ready to assist you in making your stay at the hotel or in Paris just to your liking. The staff are what really sets this hotel apart: they are warm and welcoming, ready to make suggestions or offer useful tips, or otherwise offer a kind word. The rooms are small to be sure, but the room rates reflect this small drawback so it is a fair trade-off. This hotel is centrally located in St. Germain and serves as a cozy retreat as you come and go throughout the day.

Room Tip: Reserve one room class higher to make sure you have that extra few square feet in your sleeping room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Wow what a find. We had the pleasure of starting our European holiday in Paris and enjoying five nights at the beginning of December at Hotel Verneuil. We had an inter-connecting room with our two teenage children. Rooms were spotlessly clean and comfortable. The staff were very efficient and knowledgable, the even managed to organise two tickets to the Champions League game between PSG and Porto which was a sell-out. The breakfast was delicious,tasty fresh food and great cappucino. The location is very convenient to many of the top sites and to many great cafes and restaurants. We can't wait to return.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We just returned from a trip to Paris for New Years. The Hotel Verneuil is in a fantastic location, walking distance to literally everything you would want to see and a short Metro ride from anything else. It is in a great neighborhood, walking distance to delicious cafes and restaurants. The Musee d'Orsay is two blocks away, which is convenient for both the museum itself and the RER station inside. The Louvre is 2 blocks across the river and on the way across, you will see Notre Dame to your right and the Eiffel Tower to your left. I really can't say enough good things about the location, we were extremely pleased. The room and hotel itself were also great, the hotel staff were all very pleasant and helpful, which is a big plus. Be prepared for a small room, it's not much bigger than the bed itself and the bathroom is also petite! But, you're in Paris, how much time are you really going to spend in your room?? We slept almost too well, the bed was extremely comfortable. A small-ish room is a very small price to pay for a hotel as well located as the Hotel Verneuil.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

This is a beautiful little hotel. Newly refurbished so in immaculate condition. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful and it's in a great location. We will definitely come back and stay here next time we go to Paris.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

I stayed in the Hôtel Verneuil with my girlfriend from December 22 to December 28.

I booked my stay months in advance after researching many Parisian hotels on the web. It were the hotel's clean website, it's excellent location and the positive reviews on TripAdvisor which made me choose for this hotel. I choose a 'chambre classique' with breakfast included. A confirmation of my reservation was sent right away.

I also contacted the reception by mail a couple of times to get some information. Their response was always fast, polite and informative.

When we arrived in the hotel on December 22 around 10 a.m., we were greeted warmly and were told that our room was already available. We took our lugage upstairs and unpacked. The elevator which brought us to our room on the fifth floor was really tiny, but didn't bother me since it worked very good.

Our chamber itself was really tiny aswel, with little space for walking and turning. Although very small, all comfort was available in the room, due to clever interior design. The badroom had a shower, lavatory and toilet and was recently modernized. The bed was a little to small in lenght for me, but none the less very comfortable. I was always content to go to sleep after long days of sightseeing.

The hotel itself is located in a quiet little street just five walking minutes away from the Seine and the Louvre. In fact, it is quite close to anything. My girlfriend and me have walked to the Louvre, Champs Elysées, Notre Dame, the Latin Quarter, Musée d'Orsay and other important sightings within very reasonable time.
A handfull of metrostations and busstations are not far of aswel.
Due to the hotel being located in a quiet street, we had no trouble sleeping at all. In fact, we left the windows open every night during our stay and enjoyed listening to the nocturnal sounds of Paris.
The only negative thing about our particular room (503) was the temperature. Every time we entered our room it was incredibly warm. We opened the windows right away to let it cool of.

The breakfast which was included in our arrangement was something we looked forward to every morning. The buffet itself is located in the ancient, but renovated, cellar of the hotel, which is very cosy to sit in. We were served by a kind gentleman, who was always politie and helpfull. The baguettes in particular were very tastefull!

On Christmis a small present (a box of chocolats) was awaiting us in our room. We were surprised by this kindness.

All in all, we enjoyed our stay in the Hotel Verneuil very much and will definitely return upon a next visit to Paris, if the prices won't go up too much.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Verneuil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Verneuil

Address: 8, Rue de Verneuil, 75007 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Saint Germain Des Prés
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Family Hotel in Paris
#32 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#39 Business Hotel in Paris
#73 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Verneuil 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 17th century building fully renovatedHotel Verneuil is housed in a small 17th century building situated in a quiet street in the Saint-Germain des Prés area, at the heart of Paris.

The location of this unique and charming hotel is enhanced by the close proximity of antique shops, art galleries, fashion boutiques, restaurants, cafés (deux maggots, Flore), and major museums. 600 meters to the Louvre and 500 meters to the Musée d'Orsay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, AvailPro, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Verneuil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Verneuil Hotel Paris
Hotel Verneuil Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Verneuil, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.