We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value, small, quiet and perfectly located.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel des Marronniers

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel des Marronniers to your Saves list
Hotel des Marronniers
21 Rue Jacob, 75006 Paris, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #516 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excellent value, small, quiet and perfectly located.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

What a pretty, quaint hotel- right in the heart of St. Germain. Antiques, boutiques and delicious restaurants nearby. A short walk to the Seine. The rooms are very small- but delightful! Ask for one at the back- no street noise at all. Eat breakfast in the courtyard garden. Excellent value. Enjoy!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
37402671, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel des Marronniers, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear Lesleygrah,

We would like to thank you for writing a comment about Hotel Des Marronniers.

Saint-Germain des Près is a lively district and a central location for a visit of Paris. After walking to the Louvre of the Luxembourg garden, you can come back to the hotel and have a rest in the garden or in the veranda. Rooms overlooking the garden are very quiet, but rooms on the courtyard too. We are lucky to have no rooms on the street.
As you could see, Hotel Des Marronniers is an old building, that is why rooms are not big. However, we paid much attention to comfort and decoration, and we are glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We will be pleased to welcome you again at Hotel Des Marronniers.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    72
    23
    8
    11
See reviews for
25
71
11
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

This hotel is very well situated in the Latin quarter, where there are lot of small restaurants, cafés and bars on walking distance. The rooms are very small, but cosy. The whole atmosphere is a bit old fashion, but there lays its charm. There is no noise from the street, so you´ll sleep well. The staff is very friendly. You can have breakfast in the winter garden or in the garden, if the weather allows. What a luxury in the middle of Paris. We stayed in this hotel for the second time and I´m sure it won´t be the last. If you want to enjoy old time charm, choose this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
37402671, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel des Marronniers, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Kilkki,

We want to thank you for your nice comment regarding Hotel Des Marronniers.

Saint-Germain des Près is very lively area and a central location for a visit of Paris. You can walk to many touristic places and have a rest in the garden or in the veranda after a long day walk.
The ambiance of the hotel is very important for us, we really want our guest feel like in an old Parisian place. That is what it is. Hotel Des Marronniers was a part of the Saint-Germain Abbey (that explains size of the rooms), and History has to be reflected everywhere.
We hope that you will come back in Summer to enjoy your breakfast in the garden, we are sure you will like it.
It will be a pleasure to welcome you again at Hotel Des Marronniers.

Best Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed at this hotel in early Aug. 2012. They have done a wonderful job of renovating the rooms while keeping the charm. As most everybody else has said, the rooms are small, but they are certainly adequate and comparable to most rooms in all of Europe. The staff was very friendly and helpful. My only complaint was that breakfast was kind of a rip-off. Our trip was 4 weeks long and we stayed in very similar hotels all over Europe, and this was the only hotel in which breakfast was not included in the room price. We didn't realize it, but when we got the bill, we saw that we could have gone to any of the nearby restaurants and had a much better breakfast for less.

Room Tip: Our room looked over the rear courtyard which was very quiet and had a wonderful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
37402671, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel des Marronniers, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Carole C,

We would like to thank you for choosing Hotel Des Marronniers for your stay in Paris.

All the staff was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We are sorry for the misunderstanding concerning breakfast. We never include breakfast in the room rate but we always write it on confirmations, in the rooms, and at reception desk. We understand that if you thought it was included, you must have been surprised and disappointed.

It would be a pleasure to welcome you again at Hotel Des Marronniers and we wish you also a Happy New Year!

Sincerely Yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

This lovely hotel is in the very heart of those streets roamed by the ghosts of past American intelligensia. But, even more than that, just a few doors away in Rue Jacob, American history had its most influential moment.
In 1777 Benjamin Franklin stayed at 52 Rue Jacob, and in 1783 he signed the peace treaty with Great Britain at 56 Rue Jacob. This treaty recognised the independence of the United States.
Arriving at this hotel you walk in the footsteps of your history,
Café des Deux Magots and Café de Flore were the meeting places of great minds like Jean Paul Sartre and Simone de Beauvoir and are just minutes away.
From the rooms at the rear you can see the eleventh century square tower of the church Saint-Germain-Des-Pres, the oldest church in Paris. The Café Procope, dating from 1686, and the haunt of Voltaire, is within a few minutes walking distance.
This hotel is close to many art galleries and a street of multi-cultural restaurants that illuminates into vibrant activity as the sun fades, Rue St Andre des Arts.
Relax upon the atmosphere of Paris, a city of flair and imagination. Take a padlock inscribed with your name, secure it to the rails of one of the bridges across the Seine and drop the key into the river; that is your lasting memory of a treasured moment in Paris with the knowledge that Paris has its eternal memory of you and the key to its heart.

See the video on youtube:- Paris France. A lovely autumn day. 31st October 2012.
Paris has wonderful ambiance at any time of the year.

Room Tip: Rooms can be small but think of them as time capsules of history.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
37402671, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel des Marronniers, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Dear Tebbuch,

What a pleasure to read another of your comment on Trip Advisor. We thank you for that.

Paris is one of those cities where you can feel history in every corner. And in Saint-Germain Des Près, histories of different countries meet.
The past is reflected in the stone, but Paris add another atmosphere. Take a walk with your lover and you will understand. Paris at night, on a bridge, in front of the opera, or at a table of nice restaurant. All Paris is romantic. And Hotel Des Marronniers likes welcoming lovers.

We would like to thank you again for your interest and for your nice comments about Hotel Des Marronniers. We are always glad to read it.

We will be pleased to welcome you soon and we wish you a Happy New Year.

Sincerely Yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smeeth
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Excellent hotel. Ideal location. Very clean, quiet and safe. Lots of great shops, cafes, and great attractions all within walking distance. Yes the rooms are small but this is typical of most French hotels in a city. If you want to spend all your time in your room go George V and pay for the bigger room or stay at home. The breakfasts are very good and if you drink more then one cup of coffee are cheap. The staff are friendly and very helpful. This is our fourth holiday this year and was the best due to being able to totally relax and have fun.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
37402671, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel des Marronniers, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Jacqueline R,

We thank you for your nice comment about Hotel Des Marronniers.
Saint-Germain des Près is a very nice district full of restaurants and cafés. We understand why you enjoyed that area, we love working there too.
All the staff was pleased to read your comment and we hope to welcome you as soon as possible for your next visit to Paris.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile

My parents used to stay here, and loved it. But rooms are small, not well cleaned and breakfast is a rip-off extra. Perhaps it was more charming 20 years ago. The location however is perfect for a trip to Paris.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
37402671, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel des Marronniers, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Dear Scotfish555,

We thank you for taking time to write a comment about Hotel Des Marronniers.

We are sorry to read that your were disappointed with your stay with us. The size of the rooms is something we can not change but we started big renovations: stairs, lift, corridors, and most of the rooms. We apologize if you did not like the new one.

Concerning continental breakfast, we imagine that you would have prefered ham and bacon maybe. You can order eggs, (hard eggs for free and others in extra) even it is not included in continental. Do not hesitate to send us an email in order to tell us exactly what you expected. It will help us to improve our breakfast.

The last thing is the cleanliness of your room. We were surprised to read it in your comment. We pay much attention to cleanliness and condition of the room. We are sorry that you have not had that feeling.

We would like to apologize again for that experience at Hotel Des Marronniers and would be pleased to welcome you again on order to make you forget it.

Sincerely Yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

This hotel is definitely well located for travelers and close to shops, galleries, tourist locations and restaurants. While I am understanding of the oft -repeated response from management that the hotel is old, quaint and historic....I have to say that the rooms are not just small...they are REALLY small. If you're just looking for a place to lay your head, this will probably work. This hotel would be almost impossible for travelers with any mobility issues. The doorway into the bathroom had something of a step-up, as did the shower. I did not enjoy the smell of what I assume is mold in the bathroom either. The elevator was super slow and quite small...which might not be an issue if the housekeeping staff made way for the paying guests. Apparently when housekeeping is using the elevator....guests are required to wait or maneuver the quaint, historic and very tiny curving stairwell.
I did not find the staff to be gracious or particularly helpful. I asked about the missing remote control for the television set in my room. I was told by the night clerk that it wasn't something he could take care of, but would pass it on. That didn't happen. Traveling is stressful enough....and my expectations for lodging are relatively simple. I do not enjoy making repeated calls or stand in the lobby voicing my concerns regarding oversights and complaints. I just do not return.

Room Tip: Pack light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
37402671, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel des Marronniers, responded to this review, October 26, 2012
Dear Rita T,

We thank you for taking time to write a comment about Hotel Des Marronniers.

First of all, we would like to apologize for not being at the height of your expectations. We read your disappointment about our services and we can assure you that this is very far from our tourism conception.
We understand your remark about size of the rooms. You are not the first to report it, that is why we built a large room from two small. We also propose triple rooms for persons who need more space, even if they are just two. We renovated the rooms this year because the size is something difficult to change and we want our guests to feel comfortable in their rooms.
Concerning the smell in your bathroom, usually we send someone to fix the problem, if we know it. We are sincerely sorry for that trouble. You do not have to hesitate to contact the reception desk. All the staff is pleased to help you and to make your stay as pleasant as possible. The service starts with listening.
The last thing is the lift. It is true, it is a slow one and small, but as you saw, it was difficult to have a bigger one in the hotel! We only have one lift and that is why housekeepings and guests use the same. We regret that you had to wait too much time for the elevator.

We want to apologize again for your general feeling about Hotel Des Marronniers and we would like to welcome you again in order to make you forget this sad experience with us.

Sincerely Yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel des Marronniers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Marronniers

Address: 21 Rue Jacob, 75006 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #516 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel des Marronniers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Des Marronniers Hotel
Des Marronniers Paris
Hotel Marronniers
Hotel Des Marronniers Paris
Marronniers Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel des Marronniers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.