We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Year end/New Years in Paris - St. Germain de Pres” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Artus Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Artus Hotel to your Saves list
Artus Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   34, rue de Buci | 6th Arr., 75006 Paris, France (Saint-Germain-des-Pres)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #60 of 1,794 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dana Point, California
1 review
“Year end/New Years in Paris - St. Germain de Pres”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

The rooms are well appointed, and typically sized for older European buildings. I had a view of Rue de Buci from my room, which was a nice bonus.

The staff are all very friendly and helpful, with recommendations and printed directions. But, the service star was Sanjay, the concierge. This trip for me was to enjoy the new fine dining of Paris. Sanjay was superb. We began communicating by e-mail in early December, and he gave me several recommendations and their web links. This allowed me to do Yelp and Google reviews to help with my choices.
When I arrived in December 27th, Sanjay welcomed me by name, never having met me before. During my stay we finalized my dining choices and Sanjay had reservations for me at all of my choices. What a difference that made! While I got seated immediately, people off the street had to wait to get seated, often waiting out in the cold for an hour or more.
The bed. Though I received a queen sized, it was two twins pushed together. So in the middle of the night I wound up sinking in a widening crack.
Dining, shopping and people watching. Near the Louvre, Notre Dam and the Latin Quarter - Paris!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels_MHurand, Directeur général at Artus Hotel, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear TravelDude949,

Thank you so much for this lovely review on TripAdvisor.

Even before guests' arrivals we start a relevant work for you to have a pleasant stay at the Artus Hotel.

We are glad you enjoyed your time with us !

Please contact us directly for your next trip in Paris that would be a pleasure to welcome you again.

Kindest Regards,
Grégoire Berthelot - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

618 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    409
    152
    37
    13
    7
See reviews for
83
346
32
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Plano, Texas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

I absolutely loved this hotel. The rooms were well appointed and spacious by European standards. The staff was super friendly and helpful. The hotel is in a great location and central to so many things. Lots of great cafés in the vicinity and close to great shopping. But the true gem was Sanjay who is the head concierge. He was so helpful, had great suggestions and was always waiting with a greeting and a smile. If you get a chance book a massage on site. I don't remember the young lady's name but she was great!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels_MHurand, Directeur général at Artus Hotel, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Dear Velkins,

We are delighted to hear that you had a memorable time among us. We always try to do our best to make sure our guests have the best experience while staying with us and it is a great reward to read that.

We hope to have the pleasure of seeing you again soon at the Artus Hotel and we wish you a lovely New Year 2014 !

Kindest regards,
Grégoire Berthelot - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

Great location, recently renovated rooms but it's Sanjay the concierge that makes this hotel an amazing choice for Paris. We stayed in the second level priced rooms which were small but very functional and ours had a bath tub which was a bonus at the end of a winter's day. We didn't have breakfast included but a Paul's bakery with a dining area is across the street. The hotel will be even nicer after the lobby has the planned renovation soon.
Sanjay has recently won an award marking him as a leader in his field of work. Congratulations and obviously well deserved!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels_MHurand, Directeur général at Artus Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear Travelbugalug,

Thank you very much for your nice comment about your stay. It is a real pleasure to read that you appreciated the quality of service delivered by our team during all your stay.

We will share your very nice comment with all our teams and will be more than happy to welcome you back during your next Parisian getaway!

Best Regards,
Romain Binet - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

I stayed in Artus Hotel in December 2013 to celebrate my birthday. First of all the Hotel is in a perfect location in St. Germain. Our room was spotless,the staff was perfect in everyway. Last but not least there is Sanjay the head concierge. When I am in Paris I will only eat in places he recommends.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels_MHurand, Directeur général at Artus Hotel, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Dear Serdar,

Thank you for your lovely feedback.

We are happy that you enjoyed the service at the Artus Hotel, we are happy and proud to provide the best service to our guests.

Looking forward to welcome yo back on your next Anniversary ;-) !

Romain Binet - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

I would absolutely recommend the Artus Hotel. Firstly, the concierge is first class. Particularly the head concierge, Sanjay. Incredibly helpful, fluently bi-lingual [French/English] but makes you feel incredibily welcome. The team are happy to make restaurant recommendations and books for you.

The location is brilliant for exploring Paris on foot. 5 mins to the river, 10 mins to Notre Dame, 40 mins to the Eiffel Tower. But if you just want to stay local in St Germain, you have everything you need within a two minute radius.

The rooms where a little small, especially the ground floor rooms that are street level. Felt a bit uncomfortable with this but the street that the room backs on to is very quiet [no traffic, just pedestrian]. We also didn't spend too much time in the room apart from sleeping.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels_MHurand, Directeur général at Artus Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Dear Myk M,

We are delighted to read your lovely review. Thanks for sharing all these details and for your time.

Luckily the staff at the Artus Hotel is helpful and is always eager to help you without taking your liberty to enjoy your time comfortably in our premises.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Do not hesitate to contact us for your future reservations.

Kind regards,
Romain Binet and the entire staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

Great location, excellent staff - ask for Sanjay he assisted us with all our needs, booked us with airport transfers, provided us this bus tickets made dinner recommendations that did not fail. This hotel was a great find for us as we like to walk to area pubs, restaurants and shopping.

Room Tip: the rooms are on the smaller side but its what you should expect in Paris. Location is great, near...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels_MHurand, Directeur général at Artus Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Dear Jim Rox,

We thank you very much for your lovely comment.

We are pleased to have fullfilled your requests, our entire team is dedicated to our guests and to please you and just let you enjoy your stay with us is our mission.

Looking forward to welcome you back very soon.
Romain Binet - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

I returned here following it's refurbishment and what a massive improvement. The room was absolutely gorgous, like a calm and peaceful oasis in the rafters of the hotel. Beautifully decorated, luxurious fittings and a number of wow factors such as the large jacuzzi bath tub and the tv in the mirror! we were in a junior suite so if your budget allows I would highly recommend. Its a small hotel so no restaurant for dinner but the hotel is in the best location there is in Paris if you are a left banker as your preference. Literally within yards are really great restaurants and bars and boutiques. As a Patrick roger chocolate fan as well there is one of only three on Paris a 5 minutes walk away and Le Bon marche is only a 15 minute walk. As a regular visitor to Paris this will be my hotel of choice and I am sure will start to feel like a home from home, much prefered to the large corporate hotels.

Room Tip: Defintely 161 if the budget allows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels_MHurand, Directeur général at Artus Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Dear Lynne,

That’s lovely to read that the Artus Hotel exceeded your expectations”. We appreciate your time and review.

We are definitely looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,
Romain Binet and the entire team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Artus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artus Hotel

Address: 34, rue de Buci | 6th Arr., 75006 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Saint-Germain-des-Pres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Paris
#29 Family Hotel in Paris
#42 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#61 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#132 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Artus Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Saint-Germain-des-Pres, the Artus Hotel revisits the 1950's style. This 4-star boutique hotel on the Left Bank is a tribute to contemporary art. This hotel with 26 rooms including an Exclusive Suite and a Duplex Suite has a decidedly modern interior, featuring all the pop colours of the Fifties. Reflecting its close association with Jacques Tati films, the decade brings fun and frivolous touches to Artus Hotel. Straight-backed chairs, wooden chests of drawers and small, brightly coloured pieces of furniture are part of the charm of this contemporary architecture. Lovers of art and design will make the Artus Hotel their home from home in Paris. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Artus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Artus Hotel Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Artus Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.