We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another predictably great stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Artus Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Artus Hotel to your Saves list
Artus Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   34, rue de Buci | 6th Arr., 75006 Paris, France (Luxembourg)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
€10 off room rate
Ranked #46 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Boston
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Another predictably great stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

We have stayed here maybe 10 times over the past dozen or more years. The decor has changed, the name of the hotel has changed, the rooms remain small but comfortable (the space within the rooms is well-utilized), the exchange rate against the USD has worsened, and yet we keep returning because the location is excellent, and we have the ever-helpful Sanjay's smiling face to welcome us back to Paris. He makes us feel taken care of, and as always, he is able to make all of our dinner reservations in advance and offer advice about pretty much anything. Could we manage somewhere else, without him, save a few dollars? Sure, but he is part of our Paris experience and it's hard to imagine it without him. We will be back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels_MHurand, Directeur général at Artus Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear Palladium35,

Thank you so much for the great feedback you wrote. It was our pleasure to look after you and I am very pleased that you enjoyed your time with us.
We always try and our very best to accommodate all of our guest request
Our aim is that Artus Hotel `s return back home with good and happy memories !
Please let me know of any future visits to Paris and I be happy to assist you with a reservation

Very best wishes,
Romain Binet - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

564 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    371
    139
    35
    12
    7
See reviews for
73
320
26
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

We picked this hotel based on all of the great reviews on Trip Advisor. Yes, we did see the legendary Sanjay but only for a very brief time when we first arrived. The other fellow at the front desk was pleasant but a little daffy. He said he had just started working there. His English was limited, our French was bad/non existent (It was something out of a Lucy episode...lots of awkward pointing and pauses). So, although he was nice enough, we did get quite a few puzzled looks and a number of "I don't knows".

The room was cool and clean but nothing really special with no clock so when the drapes were drawn, we had no idea what time it was. Additionally, I don't think this is a true 4 star hotel...more like 3.

The location was excellent. Very much classic Paris in an area with dozens of amazing restaurants, bistros and very high end shopping. Another major plus is that you could walk to almost everything.

The major drawback was probably due to the size of the hotel. For me, perhaps it was a little too small with not enough staff to truly offer good service and suggestions for guest who were having a first time expedience in Paris. All in all, it was good but you were pretty much left on your own to fend for yourself and is perhaps better suited for those who are more familiar with the city.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels_MHurand, Directeur général at Artus Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear Flatbushgirl,

I feel sorry to read that Artus Hotel services did not give you satisfaction and I am truly distressed by the way you experienced your stay.
Naturally, I took into consideration all your comments and you can be sure that they will make this experience not happen again in our hotel.

Best regards,
Romain Binet - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We were happy to make a repeat visit to the Artus. Our decision was based mainly on location and our wonderful experience with Sanjay. Dining is extremely important to us in Paris, so Sanjay is the only one I would trust to make reservations for us. He is the biggest reason we returned. I agree with other reviews, though, that the other front desk staff is lacking in warmth and abilities.

The RER B is within walking distance (about 15 min or so) to come right in from CDG and several metro lines are convenient, although we walk almost everywhere.

The rooms are, of course, very tight, but we stayed in a renovated room which was quiet and comfortable enough. The Palais des Thes is a wonderful touch. The bathroom amenities are no luxury, but I always bring my own conditioner when traveling to Europe, as most hotels don't provide a good one.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels_MHurand, Directeur général at Artus Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear Worldtravel09,

We are so pleased actually that two years later, we still manage to meet your expectations!!

We would like to thank you for your comments, and the trust you have placed in us.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon at the Artus Hôtel.

The whole team joins me to show you our best intentions,

Romain Binet - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

My husband and I stayed 6 nights in September. This was our second stay at the hotel. Located close to Metro station, great restaurants, shopping, grocery store and walking distance to many of the "must see" sites. There is a bar that recently opened that is connected to the hotel, which is so fun.
Make sure to communicate with the concierge, Sanjay, about any requests or questions you have. He knows everyone and is always happy to help. The breakfast is beyond what you will find at any other Parisian hotel and is included if you book directly with the hotel. Christian takes great pride in making certain it is perfect. He does a wonderful job.
We stayed in room 140, the Duplex Suite, with a top floor bathroom, which includes two sinks, a bathtub and shower, and plenty of room for a couple of suitcases. Although higher priced, the larger space is worth it and the room is quiet, quiet, quiet.
Please don't forget to tip at breakfast ( 2-5 Euros daily is appropriate ), tip housekeeping (at the end of your stay) and tip Sanjay for his assistance.
I can't say enough good things about the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels_MHurand, Directeur général at Artus Hotel, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Dear Guest,

Your comments mean a great deal to me and my team, thank you for taking the time to post such a wonderful review.
I am so glad you had a wonderful experience whilst you stayed with us and I`m happy all went well.
Glad you enjoyed "Playtime Cocktails" our new bar and our breakfast !
Please let me know of any future visits you may have planned and I be more than happy to help you with a reservation.

Looking forward welcoming you again in the near future,

Romain Binet - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Navi Mumbai, India
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We stayed 5 nights in August. Excellent location! Step out of the hotel and you have Saint Germain des Pres at your footsteps. Lots of loal bars and restaurants. A Carrefour grocery store right across. Few mins from Mabillion & Saint Germain stations. Hotel staff very friendly and helpful. Rooms are a wee bit small. Rooms are clean and have air conditioning. Free computer at the reception and wi-fi available.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels_MHurand, Directeur général at Artus Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Dear Ruchi2503,

We thank you for sharing your recent experience at the Artus Hotel and we are delighted to read that you found your stay with us most enjoyable.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

With our best regards,
Romain Binet - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, BC, CA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel for four nights in July. The location was absolutely perfect for us. Close to wonderful restaurants, cafes and a good spot from which to get around Paris on foot. We took the trip advisor advice and paid for an upgraded room which got us a higher floor. This seems pretty key. I heard other guests complaining about street noise from the lower floors. We heard nothing unless the windows were open. Yes the room was small, but a large bed and it is what you need to expect. Breakfast was included and was quite lovely, fresh pastries, fruit, coffee and "American breakfast" (eggs and bacon). We didn't meet the famous Sanjay talked about as he was on vacation but in advance he made all of our dinner reservations for us. A very enjoyable stay. We will return.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels_MHurand, Directeur général at Artus Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Dear AandB1015,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us and fellow travellers, it is much appreciated.
We are thrilled to read that your expectations were met and that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to Artus Hotel in the future.

With our best regards,
Romain Binet - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012 via mobile

We were scheduled to stay at the Artus Hotel for a couple of days in August 2012. The location is fantastic! The hotel is right in the heart of the 6th with lots of really good restaurants and shops nearby, easy access to the Metro, and proximity to the Tuilleries, Louvre, and Notre Dame. The lobby is lovely and the staff is warm and helpful.

We were given a small room on the first floor right off the lobby. When we entered, it was clear that the air conditioning was not working at all. Worse, the room had only a fixed window that could not be opened. A technician quickly arrived, though he could not fix the system. We were offered another room with windows that opened, though the a/c in that room was also not working. That wasn't going to work for us.

Finally, we were offered an alternate room at the Hotel de Buci, a "sister" hotel right up the same beautiful street. All worked out well in the end.

Notes - Though there is a lift at the Artus, it is tiny and you must climb a small flight of stairs with your bags just to get to the lift. Also, hotel staff mentioned that they were aware of the a/c issue on one side of the building. Why then wasn't that mentioned to us or repaired? We're they hoping we wouldn't notice?

In any event, all worked out well in the end. The Artus is lovely and we would give it another try on our next visit to Paris.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Artus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Artus Hotel

Address: 34, rue de Buci | 6th Arr., 75006 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Luxembourg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Paris
#31 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#44 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#49 Family Hotel in Paris
#167 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Artus Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Saint-Germain-des-Pres, the Artus Hotel revisits the 1950's style. This 4-star boutique hotel on the Left Bank is a tribute to contemporary art. This hotel with 26 rooms including an Exclusive Suite and a Duplex Suite has a decidedly modern interior, featuring all the pop colours of the Fifties. Reflecting its close association with Jacques Tati films, the decade brings fun and frivolous touches to Artus Hotel. Straight-backed chairs, wooden chests of drawers and small, brightly coloured pieces of furniture are part of the charm of this contemporary architecture. Lovers of art and design will make the Artus Hotel their home from home in Paris. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Artus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Artus Hotel Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Artus Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.