We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WHAT A FIND!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel d'Angleterre, Saint Germain des Pres

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel d'Angleterre, Saint Germain des Pres to your Saves list
Hotel d'Angleterre, Saint Germain des Pres
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   44 rue Jacob | 06 Arr., 75006 Paris, France (Luxembourg)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #358 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Mission Viejo, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“WHAT A FIND!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

This was a wonderful hotel, from the charm & character to the value & service. Stayed here for 4 nights in May 2012 and would definitely book again. We had the Hemingway room, very spacious and tasteful.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    58
    7
    6
    11
See reviews for
34
49
15
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Situated in the Latin quarter of Paris & close to the Saint Germaine de Pre Metro station. It is in that quaint part of town where the streets are narrow & often cobbled. I'd probably class this as a boutique hotel, a far cry from the chain hotels. We were enthusiastically greeted at reception & establishing that my French was pretty limited, he seamlessly switched to English to complete the check in. We had a nice room on the ground floor with sitting area, double bed & separate bathroom & toilet. The room is a rustic style' with a stone wall on one side & windows onto the internal courtyard. The room had safe, hair dryer & TV & was very comfortable. All the staff were very helpful & polite. Breakfast was included & was continental style buffet, although you could order an omelette. A very pleasant breakfast could be had to set yourself up for the days sight seeing. Each of the bedrooms are of individual design, with the hotels's main claim to fame being that Ernest Hemingway stayed in one of the rooms. Within a few hundred yards is the St Germain du Pres Church & allegedly the two oldest cafes in Paris. It's a very comfortable & safe feeling area to stroll around with plenty of cafe/restaurants nearby. A few points to note. The rooms have radiators but no air conditioning, so this was fine even though the daytime temperatures reached 23C but I'm not sure how comfortable they would have been if it had not cooled quite a bit at nighttime. Our room (38) was directly onto the inner courtyard which was very pleasant & although people were allowed to take breakfast n the courtyard they were not allowed to do this until after 9am. Unfortunately people did sit in the courtyard until quite late to chat, so if you are a light sleeper I would recommend you request an alternative room. I read in reviews prior to attending the hotel that service at breakfast e.g. To get omelettes or clear the tables was slow. That turned out to be true, however, it was somehow conducive to the relaxed atmosphere at the hotel & I simply requested my omelette from reception (a mere 10 steps away) & it was ordered immediately & arrived promptly. I thought the charm of the hotel & the lovely staff made this a place worth staying & I would stay here again if I returned to Paris.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Hotel d'Angleterre is just a great place to stay in a fabulous part of Paris. Whilst there was a mix up when we first arrived with the room booked this was very quickly rectified without fuss. I have no hesitation in recommending nor will I have in booking and staying there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Very happy with our stay at this lovely hotel. The reception was very welcoming and helpful. We stayed in room 10 on the 1st floor overlooking the courtyard. You could imagine this was once an office for some official in the Embassy, as it opened into a long passage with a separate toilet being 1st room to left, followed by a little sitting room, then a bedroom and thru to the large bathroom at the end. It seemed a long way to the WC at night thru 2 doors and it would have been better to have a toilet also in the bathroom instead of a bidet. The shower head was a little weak, but then the pressure may have contributed to that. There was a bath, but the plug needed replacing as it leaked out the water. Felt this room was a little tired compared to our friends in room 5 which was ginormous with twin beds and seemed more uptodate (both same price). We did have windows all down the side which overlooked the courtyard and made it lovely and light. Noise does travel up but didn't cause us a problem when we needed to sleep. Having got the negatives out of the way, we did enjoy our stay here because of the pleasant and friendly place it was. The breakfast was good continental, with cereals, yoghurt, fruit, cold meat, cheese croissants etc. and to be able to eat in the courtyard on a lovely morning was delightful. In the afternoons it was a peaceful haven to come back to for a cup of tea/coffee away from the crowds. The two quirky things were the little lift for 2 people and the "heritage" staircase which made one feel slightly drunk as it slopes to one side. But this we felt was part of the experience of Paris hotels like this.
Located in St.Germain des Pres is for us ideal as this area is lovely and one we have chosen before. As others have said, lots of cafes (& famous ones), boutiques, macron and choccie shops, metro not far away, easy walk to Seine.
Visited the restaurant across the way "Au 35", which we can recommend.

I think the thing that stands out the most for us is the helpfulness and friendliness of the staff (Thomas in particular) which can make a trip nice or nasty. I think the negatives I addressed may be avoided by choosing the "superior" rooms (costing a little more) and knowing which are best. We have previously stayed in a small apartment in Paris in St.Germain and a B&B at Monmatre, so this was our first "hotel" experience and we were very happy with it and would return again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Hotel d'Angleterre is a small, quaint hotel in a very trendy part of Paris. It is walking distance from the Musee d'Orsay, the Louvre, the banks of the Seine and many other attractions in Paris. It is surrounded by many terrific restaurants - we ate at Au Coin which is just across the street and thoroughly enjoyed our meal. Cafe di Flore and Les Deux Magots are a block away and Laduree, the famed macaron shop is 1/2 block away.

We stayed at the hotel for four nights with our two teenagers - son 15, daughter 14. We had two rooms. The building used to house the British embassay so some of the rooms are a bit odd in shape yet they come with all of the major amenities inlcuding an in room safe. The beds were extremely comfortable and there was plenty of closet space in in-room armoires. The bathrooms were large with natural light flowing in. Lots of counter space which is a must for me. The hotel does not have air conditioning but we found that we didn't need it - we just left the windows open and it was fine. All the rooms border an open courtyard in the centre of the hotel. One evening, a group decided to sit and chat late into the evening and the noise filtered up to our open windows. We called down to reception to let them know and they immediately spoke to the people and the noise stopped. Breakfast is served in a lovely room on the main floor. It consists of croissants, baguettes, cheese, fruit , yogurt and cereals.
The front desk service is exceptional at this hotel and makes it feel like home. Thomas couldn't do enough for you. Many times he provided us with directions - both for walking and on the Metro including researching which was the best route as well as advice on when to go to particular atrtactions such as the Musee D'orsay - if you go at 5 p.m. -- its free!. We also got a list of all the recommended restaurants in the area and we were not disappointed with any of them. We love this hotel and will return!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

We have come to Paris for the past 10 years and my only regret is that I didn't discover this hotel sooner! Larger than usual rooms, super quite rooms and friendly service make this possibly one of the very best hotels in the 6th. The beds and pillows are comfortable and the rooms on the inner courtyard are simply fantastic. The showers, like most in Paris, don't have much pressure, but other than that, the stay was flawless. The breakfast is solid and fresh and the staff is friendly and helpful, especially if you need help getting reservations at restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We stayed at this hotel based on the recommendation of a friend. Great location, most staff very helpful, particularly after being pick pocketed at the Arc de Triomphe. The breakfast was excellent and a good way to start the day. Courtyard a great place to sit. We stayed in room 14, the room where Ernest Hemingway stayed. Although that was a lovely thought, there was no air conditioning and you had to keep windows open. The room faced the street and it was hard to sleep through the street sounds. They did have a good fan, but next time I would stay in a room higher up or one that faces the courtyard.

Room Tip: Get one on a higher floor or facing the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel d'Angleterre, Saint Germain des Pres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel d'Angleterre, Saint Germain des Pres

Address: 44 rue Jacob | 06 Arr., 75006 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Luxembourg , Saint Germain Des Prés
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#312 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel d'Angleterre, Saint Germain des Pres 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel d'Angleterre, Saint Germain des Pres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
d Angleterre Hotel Paris
Hotel d Angleterre
Hotel Dangleterre Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel d'Angleterre, Saint Germain des Pres, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.