We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the Hotel d'Angleterre!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel d'Angleterre, Saint Germain des Pres

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel d'Angleterre, Saint Germain des Pres to your Saves list
Hotel d'Angleterre, Saint Germain des Pres
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   44 rue Jacob | 06 Arr., 75006 Paris, France (Luxembourg)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #350 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Moraga, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Loved the Hotel d'Angleterre!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

This hotel has the best of everything! It is located on the Left Bank with the Musee d'Orsay, the Louvre, Sainte Chapelle and Notre Dame a short distance away. Plus it's near St. Germain de Pres with so many restaurants and shops. Lots of antique shops and art galleries around the hotel.
The hotel was once the British Embassy and is decorated with lovely antiques. We did not have one of the rooms shown in their brochure, but it was also beautifully decorated. Our room with 2 twin beds was the biggest hotel room I've ever been in. And the bathroom measured 10' X 12'. A rare find in Paris! The staff was so helpful and friendly and answered, in English, so many of my questions. We had many interesting conversations!
The breakfast was very nice...lots of choices....and the breakfast room and outside courtyard were just lovely. This hotel was recommended by several friends and I will also recommend it to anyone visiting Paris!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    58
    7
    6
    11
See reviews for
34
49
15
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

We visited this hotel on our honeymoon. The hotel had been recommended to us by my father who adores Paris and had stayed at this hotel not many years before. While he was right that the setting in the 6th arr. is perfect, the perfection ends there. Our room, Number 46, allegedly a "Superior" Room was anything but. The bathroom was horribly in need of an update - rife with cracks and shoddily applied wallpaper, and a rusted showerhead. The main room also did not have any air conditioning and was located over a pretty, but very loud courtyard. As a New Yorker, we understand that luxury lodging in a major city is expensive, but you can do much better for your money than staying here.

Room Tip: If you do stay here, avoid Room 46.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012 via mobile

Perfect in every way - the location is unbeatable if you want to stay in the most picturesque part of town. The staff was very helpful and went along with our tragic attempts of speaking French , especially the gentleman who was on duty during the days - regreattably we never learned his name, he is definitelty an asset to this hotel! My room suite 16 was lovely, breakfast more than adequate and fresh, and I will most definitely stay here again on my next Parisian adventure!!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

Because of travel arrangements we arrived before our check in time and were warmly welcomed. Our lovely room was ready for us, which is wonderful after over 24 hours travelling.
The staff were very kind and helpful. The great location of the hotel in Rue Jacob meant we could immediately enjoy Paris.
We would definitely stay at Hotel d'Angleterre again!

Room Tip: Our room was at the front of the building so there was a good view along the street and lots of ligh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tel aviv
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Paris is a great city but most of hotels have small rooms . In this hotel you have great location near st germain de pres , large and elegant rooms witha ll comfort , breakfast and nice service

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

This has to be the most charming 3 star hotel in Paris. The breakfast room is elegantly appointed with a marble French fireplace, wainscotting and tapestry - like fabric covering the walls. Breakfast is served from the grand piano - and this has to be the best continental breakfast in Europe: coffees, tea, baguettes, 2 types of cheeses, cold cuts, several cold cereals, individually sized yogurts as well as a fresh fruit cocktail that can be added to a bowl of plan yogurt and of course lots of croissants and jams. The sitting room is comfortably appointed with large easy chairs, the latest newspapers are available as well as an internet equipped computer. There is a small delighful bar where you can have a drink and the courtryard is adorable! you may take your breakfast there if you like (it was too cold to do so when I was there in May). The rooms are comfortable and cleaned daily. The staff is very helpful and friendly. They speak English very well (but were kind enough to speak to me in French) and will always help you get a taxi, make reservations on the computer etc. Just as an example, I forgot my insulin in the fridge in the hotel's bar, and they couriered it to me within 24 hours to my hotel in London. I had to have a lot of laundry done because I was there for 12 mights and very apprehenisive about damage - but they did a great job !I loved them! As much as I would like to try another hotel on my next trip to Paris I would be a fool to over look this hotel. I'll be back in 3 years!, Don MacKay, Toronto.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cocoa Beach, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

Very French and love the newly exposed wooden staircase in this lovely old building. Appreciate the free wi-fi and friendly reception which is a definite improvement on earlier visits. No complaints but expect quirky plumbing due to the restraints of the building

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel d'Angleterre, Saint Germain des Pres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel d'Angleterre, Saint Germain des Pres

Address: 44 rue Jacob | 06 Arr., 75006 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Luxembourg , Saint Germain Des Prés
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#310 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel d'Angleterre, Saint Germain des Pres 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel d'Angleterre, Saint Germain des Pres reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
d Angleterre Hotel Paris
Hotel d Angleterre
Hotel Dangleterre Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel d'Angleterre, Saint Germain des Pres, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.