We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel For Sightseeing, Restaurants and Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Claude Bernard Saint-Germain

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Claude Bernard Saint-Germain to your Saves list
Hotel Claude Bernard Saint-Germain
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   43 rue des Ecoles | 5th Arr., 75005 Paris, France (Quartier Latin)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
10% off room rate
Ranked #799 of 1,794 Hotels in Paris
Livingston, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Hotel For Sightseeing, Restaurants and Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Superb hotel next to University Sorbonne. 5 minute walk from Notre Damme. Great restaurants and cafe bars within walking distance.
Hotel is very clean. Breakfast is continental but more than adequate. The manager, Mohammed, will do everything he can to make your stay enjoyable.
Top Tip - don't bother with Metro tickets as bus stop right outside - cheaper and just as quick; and safer!
Also, instead of an hour on the SNCF from CDG (by the time you have booked the tickets and waited), a taxi booked through the hotel is about 50 Euro and well worth it if you can afford it.

Cannot rate this hotel and it's service high enough for it's location.

Will definitely return.

Room Tip: Just let them know what you want!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelclaudebernard, Directeur général at Hotel Claude Bernard Saint-Germain, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Dear Guest,
Thank you for these wonderful words of praise further to your stay at the Claude Bernard Saint-Germain.
Your Parisian home is waiting your return very soon.
With Warm Regards
Céline Moreaud
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    12
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
4
8
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

This was such a lovely little hotel I was really pleased with my stay. I would like to point out that the man who works in the reception desk was one of the best I encountered in all of my hotel stays. He was extremely helpful, polite, and accommodating. He was able to print my boarding pass for me, and he gave us great advice on how to get around Paris. I hope he gets recognized by the management here, he was great.
The room is a bit dated I have to say, but it is not uncomfortable, and it was really clean. The beds are comfortable, and my room had a balcony which was really nice. The furniture is old and there is no safe, but that was not an issue for me. There was a nespresso machine in the room which I think was a nice detail. I am not sure if it was broken or I didn't know how to work it well, so I was not able to figure it out. I think if the rooms were updated just a bit, this hotel would be perfect. The lift is very small, only one person can go at a time, and if you have large luggage you will not fit. However, it is Paris most small hotels have small lifts in France, just plan ahead with your luggage. The breakfast was included in the stay, it was good European breakfast, (croissants, fruit, etc) So keep this in mind if you are from the US and you are not into that..Last thing I want to mention is that the hotel is about a two minute walk to the metro stop Maulbert, right off of Blvd St. Germain. Also if a very short walk to Cluny La Sorbonne, which links to the RER B to CDG Airport. So very convenient location. Also, it is walking distance from Notre Dame Cathedral. I would definitely stay here again I really enjoyed it.

Stayed February 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelclaudebernard, Directeur général at Hotel Claude Bernard Saint-Germain, responded to this review, March 20, 2015
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you so much you for your long and kind comment on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay at the Claude Bernard Saint Germain.
We try to do our best to make sure our guests have a good experience while staying with us and it is a great reward to read that you enjoyed your time with us and we shall not miss to congratulate our receptionist.
We are delighted to learn that you will mean seeing us
Kindest Regards
Céline Moreaud
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2015

I booked a room in this hotel for two nights and I was very surprised by the quality. A large size room (genrally, in Paris, rooms are very small), very clean, very well-located (100 m from a metro station). Very closed to "Quartier latin", well known for its animation, youth, exotic restaurants ....
A good choice at a good price

Room Tip: Higher floors have less A/C unit noise but street, generally, is quiet during the night
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelclaudebernard, Directeur général at Hotel Claude Bernard Saint-Germain, responded to this review, March 15, 2015
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you very much for your comment onTrip Advsor regarding your stay at the Claude Bernard Saint-Germain.
We always try to do our best to make sure our guests have the best experience while staying with us and it a great reward to read that you enjoyed your time with us.
Recognition is very important to us and I am delighted to see that we exceeded your expectation.
We hope to have the pleasure of seeing you very soon.
Kindest Regards
Céline Moreaud
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2015

THe Claude Bernard Hotel was a nice surprise. The hotel is really well located, close to few sights and the metro. The concierges were friendly.
The room we got despite being on the ground floor, was sound proof and had all the necessary facilities you expect including an espresso machine, which was quite handy at breakfast, since we had breakfast in our room.
The shower is good and the bed is comfortable.On the downside the wifi connection in the room is just ok.
I would definetely recommend it to a friend.

  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelclaudebernard, Directeur général at Hotel Claude Bernard Saint-Germain, responded to this review, March 3, 2015
Dear Sir,

Thank you for these wonderful words of praise further to your recent stay at the Claude Bernard.
Your Parisian home is waiting your retunr very soon.
With Warm Regards

Céline Moreaud
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2015 via mobile

Six of us stayed for a hen weekend for 2 nights. It is perfectly situated, only a short walk from st michel, notre dame RER station. Great if you are coming from CDG airport as there are no train or metro changes. It is clean, rooms are lovely. We had rooms 32 and 42 which had 2 single beds and double bed each, which were spacious and well decorated. We were pleasantly surprised how nice this hotel was, for the price. We were looking for a budget hotel and this one certainly exceeds all expectations.

The breakfast was grand. A small breakfast room with coffee, juice, selection of breads and pancakes, fruit salad and fresh fruit, yoghurt and cheeses. Perfect for a light start to the day. DO NOT go to the boulangerie cafe across the road as recommended by others, it is dirty, a cat has free range to walk over the tables and seats and a cockroach ran over our bread. So the second morning we stayed in the hotel for breakfast because we knew it was clean.

There is a lift that is supposed to hold 3 people. 2 people can fit in at a squeeze. We sent one person up with the cases and the rest took the stairs.

The only tiny criticism is the sound proofing in the rooms, you can hear traffic, and other people banging doors, but it didnt disturb us too much.

There are a lot of little brasseries and pizzza places within a few yards.

I was expecting a basic hotel but this one is fantastic and if i am back in paris i will stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2015
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelclaudebernard, Directeur général at Hotel Claude Bernard Saint-Germain, responded to this review, March 7, 2015
Dear Guest

We thank you for choosing Claude Bernard for your stay in Paris and for taking the time to share your views on TripAdvisor.

It is a real pleasure to read your comments and we shall be delighted to welcome you again in our establishment.

In this expectation, we wish you a pleasant day

Best regards
Celine Moreaud
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki, Greece
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2015 via mobile

Good hotel in general. Nice and clean rooms with well equiped bathrooms. A bit boring breakfast thoughh and bad wifi connecton. Also there isn't hotel bar. It is worth it staying there for the location because is really central and its easier to move around. The personal was very friendly and they were speaking english.

Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelclaudebernard, Directeur général at Hotel Claude Bernard Saint-Germain, responded to this review, March 3, 2015
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay in our hotel.
It is with a lot of attention that we read your comments and at present we work on our breakfast and are going to try to makeit less boring

We hope to welcome you back to the City of Light in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Céline Moreaud
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sifnos, Greece
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2015

We stayed here for 10 nights as couple. Nice quiet place 5 minutes on foot from the center (insland of notre dame). The rooms are too small for the price they gave us (80€) and the breakfast was ok! Nice place if you like to walk around the center of Paris without using the metro always.

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelclaudebernard, Directeur général at Hotel Claude Bernard Saint-Germain, responded to this review, March 3, 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Claude Bernard.
We would like to inform that we have different categories of rooms, so may be for your next stay, it will be a pleasure for us, upon availibities to propose you a bigger room.

We hope to have the pleasure of seeing you very soon.

Kindest regards
Céline Moreaud
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Claude Bernard Saint-Germain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Claude Bernard Saint-Germain

Address: 43 rue des Ecoles | 5th Arr., 75005 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Quartier Latin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #799 of 1,794 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Claude Bernard Saint-Germain 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Claude Bernard Saint-Germain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Claude Bernard Saint Germain
Claude Bernard Saint Germain Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Claude Bernard Saint-Germain, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.