We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed to Say the Least!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Claude Bernard Saint-Germain

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Claude Bernard Saint-Germain to your Saves list
Hotel Claude Bernard Saint-Germain
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   43 rue des Ecoles | 5th Arr., 75005 Paris, France   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #829 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Disappointed to Say the Least!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

My husband and I checked into this hotel for a 3 night stay for our "baby moon" and were completely disappointed in the hotel and its rooms. We were given a room on the 6th floor. The elevator goes up to the 5th floor. The elevator itself cannot fit two people and two suitcases in it!! There is mould on the bathroom walls, there was hair in the sink and on the bathroom counter, we can hear birds/bats/rats through the ceiling vent AND our "double" bed is two single beds pushed together! Unbelievable and disappointed to say the least of this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
claudebernard, Gérant at Hotel Claude Bernard Saint-Germain, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear Madame
I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us, as a big majority of people, but
I understand. It is not easy to satisfied 100%
of clients. You were on top floor, so a nice view, balcony, and quiet rooms. I regret to have installed you there, as many clients prefers to be on top floor.
Now I would like to clarify for everyone about "birds/bat/rat" because I am not sure
if you are kidding or you are really serious, as it is incredible and almost funny to read that.
There are no bats in Paris ! We are no in a tropical or sub-tropical zone.There are no rats on 6th floor ! and on the roofs of Paris. I am afraid your confusion with "ratatouille" (Disney movie) !! In the metro or sewer, yes for sure you will find rats, as everywhere in the world.
Concerning birds, we don't have birds nest on roof (we have just finishing inspection for
air conditionning, there is nothing there).
In fact, explanation is very simple : plug the sink was not set and there was a call for air that was the noise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    168
    71
    33
    30
See reviews for
116
137
37
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
dallas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We were delighted with this charming, cozy hotel. It is hard to find a room in Paris that can accomodate a family of 4 with a free breakfast, reasonable (for Paris) nightly rate and great location. It was a 5 minute walk to the metro and there were plenty of good restaurants nearby. We also found a laundromat just around the corner. Notre Dame and Seine river cruise were both within walking distance. Staff was very hospitable and helpful. Breakfast was good with cereal, croissants, yogurt and plenty of beverages. Our kids particularly liked the free Wifi.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

I have been visiting Paris three times a year for the past 6 years and each time I stay at Claude Bernard Hotel. Not only is it convenient to all attractions in Paris as well as attractions in the the suburbs(ie Giverney etc) the hotel feels like home to me and many other customers. The employees at the hotel could not be more gracious, helpful and courteous at all times.The rooms are spotless and the beds comfortable and all rooms have a TV with cable stations. The breakfast is a great extra. The price is extremely affordable and worth every penny.In addition,I met a woman ,who is now one of my closest friends, at Claude Bernard Hotel. She also stays at Claude Bernard three times a year. The Hotel with its lovely lobby is conducive to making new friends or just hanging out. Paul, the owner of the hotel is always available for suggestions or friendly conversation.

Room Tip: corner rooms are large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
asheville, north carolina
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We spent about a week at this hotel, during a trip for business and pleasure. Our room, which was one of the larger, was spacious, clean, comfortable. Some of the furnishings were slightly worn, but quite satisfactory. We were on the third floor, and, as other reviewers note, the lift is tiny, so we just walked up and down the staircase. The breakfast is good -- croissants, french bread, cereal, yogurt, coffee and juice, in a pleasant basement breakfast room. We found the staff very friendly and helpful. The neighborhood is great; across from the Sorbonne, lots of restaurants, not far from Notre Dame, good Metro connections. The Rue des Ecoles is pretty quiet at night. The rooms are not particularly soundproofed, so we could hear our neighbors come in and out. Overall, a good choice.

Room Tip: It might be worth asking if any of the larger rooms are available (at no extra cost).
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

The website gives the impression of a bigger hotel but Claude Bernard is in fact a typical 3* Parisien hotel. We had a family room which would have comfortably slept 4 people. The lift has to be the tiniest in the world and could only accommodate 1 person with a small case, so if you are on the higher floors be prepared to wait some time for the lift or walk! A minor complaint was the lack of decent size towels, even the bathh towells we really little bigger than hand towels.
The staff were very helpful and spoke excellent English.
The breakfast room was too small for the number of guests and was very chaotic. Breakfast certainly isn't worth 12 euros.
The hotel was in a great location about 10 mins walk from St Michel metro & RER station and Notre Dame.
Some excellent restaurants along the same street as the hotel.

Room Tip: Choose lower floor if you don't want to wait long time for the lift or climb lots of stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vernon, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Felt welcomed the moment we arrived. Staff was very helpful with every question we had. Room was clean and exceeded our expectations. Location can't be beat, and the breads served at breakfast were so fresh! Only wished I could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

I booked a room for one person for two nights at the Hotel Claude Bernard and found it completely and utterly charming. The people at the front desk were nice, and the room was spotlessly clean. Even more than that, it was just what I imagine a little storybook Paris room to be- if you imagine a romantic, picturesque little Victorian apartment for one in Paris, this is it. I was in room 45, which was very small, but just right for one person. It had the classic big French window with a wrought iron Juliet balcony, super high ceilings with elaborate decorative moldings, pale yellow walls, a double bed with snowy white covers, hardwood floors, and a lovely view over the Rue des Ecoles. The room was bright and airy, and so pretty. It was not spacious or luxurious or modern, but I loved it from the moment I walked in. If Audrey Hepburn had been a college student spending a semester in Paris, I'm pretty sure her apartment would have been exactly like room #45 at the Hotel Claude Bernard.

Room Tip: If you want a great room for one person and don't mind that it's small, ask for room 45!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Claude Bernard Saint-Germain? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Claude Bernard Saint-Germain

Address: 43 rue des Ecoles | 5th Arr., 75005 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #829 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Claude Bernard Saint-Germain 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Claude Bernard Saint-Germain reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Claude Bernard Saint Germain
Claude Bernard Saint Germain Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Claude Bernard Saint-Germain, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.