We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second Time Visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Delambre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Delambre to your Saves list
Hotel Delambre
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   35, rue Delambre | 14 Arr., 75014 Paris, France (Montparnasse)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #478 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Newmarket, Canada
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Second Time Visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

When we were planning our return trip to Paris this past September with another couple I did not hesitate to make a second time reservation at the Hotel Delambre in Montparnasse 14 arr of Paris. The staff is extremely helpful and took good care of all my restaurant and entertainment reservations. My thanks to Jean-Paul and Veronique who are wonderful to their guests. The hotel is in a great area of Paris and close to two Metro lines. The area is mainly residential which adds to the charm. Every convenience is close at hand and I love the wide assortment of restaurants and brasseries within walking distance.
Bon Voyage!!!

Room Tip: Book a room on the second floor with balcony overlooking the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    74
    12
    2
    2
See reviews for
30
50
10
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Haifa, Israel
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012 via mobile

I got a room on a short notice, which is rare in Paris. A quiet room in a quiet hotel on a very quiet location in the middle of Paris. Those who do not like city noises abstain. The location is perfect: two or three minutes walk from two metro stations, less than ten miinutes from the Gare Montparnasse and the Tour Montparnasse, 5 minutes from La Coupole, le Select and the Edgar Quinet Market on Saturdays and Sundays. There are two cheap groceries at two minutes walk from the hotel, and even a souvenirs seller shall sell you postcards and last moment gifts you forgot to buy elsewhere. The decor is typically Parisian, small, but has the atmosphere you should expect if you come to enjoy Paris. Two signs at the entrance say that in their time, Paul Gaugin and Andre Breton stayed there. The staff is very helpful, although the breakfast they serve is, as they say in French: "pourrait être mieux". You are, of course, free to go to the "Place Edgar Quinet" and have a Parisian breakfast in one of the numerous cafes or brasseries around, the same place where you had lunch or a small coffee yesterday. There are many cafe-theatres and small theaters around, and The Bobino is not far away, but you should reserve your tickets in advance. I love Paris and I like this place.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

Traveled with a friend. Hotel Delambre is very clean, quiet and comfortable. We used the lobby to meet with work associates. The staff was very gracious and helpful. The room was clean, the bed/pillows were very comfortable and the bathroom was a nice size with good water pressure. The Delambre is located in a very Parisian neighborhood, many cafes within a few blocks. The elevator was very nice to have! There is a artisan market just a block away. Only a few blocks to catch the "hop on hop off" tour buses. We both recommend the Delambre!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012 via mobile

Accommodating staff, very easy access to metro and within walking distance of great cafes. comfortable room - small but enough space to not feel cramped (superior room), very clean and good sized bathroom. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patrick k, Propriétaire at Hotel Delambre, responded to this review, July 29, 2012
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,
Thank you very much for your coment on Tripadvisor, and we will be pleased to welcome you again for your next stay in Paris.
Patrick KALMY
Directeur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

We had the family rooms on the top floor with adjoining doors which was fine for a family of four. Decor looks a little tired and you have to watch your head in the bathroom as the attic ceiling slopes a lot. Clean, Comfortable beds and friendly staff and the price was right. The rooms have a safe and were quiet and the location is excellent - you could take the train from the airport and get off at the metro at the top of the street about 100m away. Go into the street that runs parallel and there are many , i mean many crepe & Galette restaurants- always a good lunch there. Ideal as a base to explore Paris

Room Tip: If you take the attic rooms the lift stops the floor below and you'll have to carry your luggage...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2012

My wife and some friends stayed here for 4 nights this past May. It was our first time in Paris but won't be the last as we just relocated to Switzerland from NY. We booked our stay at Hotel Delambre on pretty short notice and got stuck with a room on the top floor. I wouldn't call myself a tall person but ended up hitting my head over a dozen times as the ceilings slanted down in each end of the room. Other than the size of the room, which I imagine is a bit smaller than the typical european standards, I would recommend staying here if you are on a budget. The room was clean and we had two sky lights (1 above the bed and 1 in the bathroom). It rained almost everyday and luckily neither of them leaked which would've been a disaster. The shower/tub didn't have a curtain but we were careful not to soak the floor. The hotel staff was very friendly even to us "rude" Americans. They were helpful in providing us recommendations on daily excursions and restaurant suggestions. The hotel is conveniently located by by one of the metro stations and you must try the small sandwich/crepe stand located at the corner. It looks like it is part of the cafe restaurant but there is a gentlemen who runs the stand separately. He has a board that list all the types of sandwiches/crepes he makes and he doesn't allow for any other recommendations or substitutes (we asked for mozzarella on one of the chicken sandwiches) but boy was I glad he didn't cause it was perfect as is.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evansville, Indiana
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

My husband and I stayed four nights at Hotel Delambre during our honeymoon. We both are the type who do not need a luxury hotel but would like some comfort. When we arrived around 11am on Saturday morning, the room was ready for us. The room was very clean, normal size for a European hotel, had a closet and a counter to place our things. The room had two windows overlooking other apartments. It was decorated in bright yellows and blues. The bed was a queen (it was not 2 beds pushed together) and quite comfortable. The maid cleaned our room daily and sprayed a lemon scent for freshness. I speak some French and was able to communicate with the front desk workers easily in both French and English. Each of them were very helpful. The hotel is located near 3 metro lines. You can get anywhere you need in minutes. You can also easily walk to the Saint Germain area (15 min walk, maybe) and Luxembourg Gardens is within 5 minutes. Breakfast is 11 euros and is a typical French breakfast (pastries, yogurt, coffee). The next street has several Creperies and I suggest meandering over there one morning. Galleries Lafayette is also nearby, as well as several restaurants. The hotel is nestled on a quite street and we never heard traffic or other people. Although our room was next to the elevator, we rarely heard a sound from it. The entire premises was clean. They allowed us to complete the checkout process the evening before departure, since we were leaving at 5am. This made it very easy on us. Overall we were extremely happy with our stay at Hotel Delambre and would go back again. We were able to book for 99 euros/night but the normal is 149/night.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Delambre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Delambre

Address: 35, rue Delambre | 14 Arr., 75014 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Montparnasse
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#523 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Delambre 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere and Despegar.com so you can book your Hotel Delambre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delambre Hotel Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Delambre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.