We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Symphatetic and beautiful hidden gem with garden in the midst of quartier Latin” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel des Grandes Ecoles

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Paris
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel des Grandes Ecoles
Save
You added Hotel des Grandes Ecoles to your Saves list
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   75 rue du Cardinal Lemoine, 75005 Paris, France (Quartier Latin)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #262 of 1,794 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Helsinki, Finland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Symphatetic and beautiful hidden gem with garden in the midst of quartier Latin”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Stayed here with a friend for three days and must say we were very content. Staff extremely friendly and service minded, fun to socialize with other quests in the garden, the room just suitable sized, bed comfort ok. The loveliest was to have the door leading directly into the cute garden. Will definitely try to get a room here next time I wisit Paris, as the location is fantastic and the hotel so peaceful and adorable. Book well in advance as it is hugely popular!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

605 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    308
    213
    47
    17
    20
See reviews for
116
246
30
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shaker Heights, Ohio
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I loved everything about this hotel-the neighborhood, the rooms, the ambience- but we couldn't believe the sketchy WiFi. Our iPhones wouldn't stay connected to the internet for more than a short time! The bistro at the corner had a more reliable connection. This problem frustrated an otherwise possitive stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Horsham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Perfect hotel for a night in Paris with two young children. Great welcome (especially for the children!), quirky rooms and lovely breakfast. No frills room but clean and spacious. The location is all important (just five minutes from the Metro and 20 minutes walk from Notre Dame) and the hotel is nicely tucked away from the outside world for when you want to escape the city at the end of a long day's sightseeing.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

Great place to stay, lovely hidden haven in great location. No TV - just as well but good wifi. Great underground safe parking. Very friendly helpful staff. Good for romantic old-fashioned weekend. Beautiful garden

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vichy, France
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

This hotel is excellent for people who know what you can get in Paris at this price. It means, you will not get the services of a four star hotel. There is not an equipment like TV our laptop and music in the room, nobody is going to carry your bags and some of the rooms next to the reception are noisy...

BUT, you will discover a delicious small hotel on its own private street, meaning that you enter a big door on the road and then you have to walk a small "allée" and you will arrive in a 19th century-like house. We liked this hotel because it has a kind of charme that we did not find somewhere-else in Paris. We had a room in the more modern part of the hotel. The equipment is basic, but we did not care to have no TV or so. Everything was really clean and there is enough space to move around the bed. It's also very calm and we felt like on the countryside. There is no noise from a car as no car would drive into the hotel small street. There is a special gate for the parking just under the hotel; having a parking right in the middle of Paris was a great surprise!

The other very good thing is that you can enjoy to sit in the garden/terrace and you can bring your own bottle of wine and cheese and bread etc. The hotel management has no problem with this. The lady at the reception even gived us everything to open the bottle and drink the wine, and plates... The breakfast is typical french, meaning not so much but enough to start the day. Dorotha, the breakfast-lady was really very kind to us.

Anyway, the people working there were all very kind to us. Evi from the reception spent a lot of time for us for restaurant booking and explaining how to take the metro in the city etc. She speaks very good English and even a little German, what we appreciated very much.

All in all, avery good address in the middle of Paris!

Room Tip: Probably it is better not to be next to the reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

This was our second visit at this charming hotel, both in the month of January (2011 and 2013). The location is nice, with close access to the Metro, bridges across Seine, and local highlights of the Latin Quarter. Our rooms have been very generous in size, have nice furniture and beds, and spacious bathrooms. Marie the hotel manager is incredibly helpful and sets the right tone for us when we first arrive. We will come back again, perhaps in warmer weather so we can sit outside and enjoy the lovely garden.

Room Tip: talk with Marie about what you'd like.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

This was the second time I have stayed here. The first time early 2006 with my three daughters. This time, It was just my husband and I. A double room is alot smaller than the quad room we had last time, but no less quaint. The hotel is very well situated in the Latin Quarter, and is within easy walking distance to many of the sites. We particularly enjoyed Rue Mouffetard and all it's offerings. We didn't eat breakfast at the hotel, preferring to try the local cafe's.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel des Grandes Ecoles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel des Grandes Ecoles

Address: 75 rue du Cardinal Lemoine, 75005 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Quartier Latin
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#88 Best Value Hotel in Paris
#177 Family Hotel in Paris
#246 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel des Grandes Ecoles 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Also Known As:
Des Grandes Ecoles Paris
Grandes Ecoles Hotel
Des Grandes Ecoles Hotel
Hotel Des Grandes Ecoles Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel des Grandes Ecoles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.