We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Medieval Castle in the Park” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bois de Vincennes

Bois de Vincennes
293 avenue Dausmenil, Paris, France
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$144*
and up
Paris Pass
Ranked #145 of 636 Attractions in Paris
Type: Parks, Outdoors
Activities: Running, Biking
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This large park on Paris's eastern side includes the Château de Vincennes and a popular zoo among its many attractions.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
199 reviews 199 reviews
174 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
“Medieval Castle in the Park”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Although I didn't explore much of the green space of the park (which is extensive), I enjoyed the chateau very much. It's not the prettiest castle (built for defense, not a nice appearance like a palace), but the bright white exterior and chapel were cool enough. My only complaint about the castle was its opening times: it's closed for lunch in winter and didn't open in time for me to see the interior before I had to leave.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    60
    15
    6
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
pasadena
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A hop skip and a jump outside of Paris and well worth the visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

For a real Parisian experience, pack a picnic basket and plan an afternoon at Bois de Vincennes. Admittance is free. It is a beautiful open green space with a lake and lots of outdoor activities as well as boats available for rent. The day I visited the park was full of people young and old taking in the sun, playing bocce ball, biking, walking and rowing on the lake.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waitsfield, Vermont
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice park for soccer and running”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

A running and biking paved path, and many soccer fields for playing. Not perfect place for a picnic, but we had one in one of the soccer fields. Kids enjoyed it for a chance to run around outside of the city.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
exeter
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Quiet corner to get some air”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Unexpected discovery. The lake area is very pretty, albeit quite busy. The woodland has lots of nice tracks and paths.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Still a favorite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

When I'm visiting Paris, I do a Saturday morning bike ride with friends in the Bois de Vincennes on its many paths and unpaved trails. Though manmade, it is more of a country experience than, for instance, Central Park in NY, because of the many trails and streams. I'd love it more if it had toilettes.
Sometimes we enter the square inside the Chateau, and I believe you can visit the church and other parts, but with our bikes it hasn't been practical. The Chateau has quite an interesting history you may look up online.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bois de Vincennes also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Vincennes, Val-de-Marne
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Bois de Vincennes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bois de Vincennes, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.