We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Have stayed in many hotels throughout Europe - this one had the best value for the least Euro” 5 of 5 stars
Review of New Orient Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added New Orient Hotel to your Saves list
New Orient Hotel
16 Rue de Constantinople, 75008 Paris, France   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #40 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
“Have stayed in many hotels throughout Europe - this one had the best value for the least Euro”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2010

My 21 year old son and I stayed here just before Xmas for 2 nights. The front desk staff were extremely helpful, the location is fantastic and it has everything one could need. The bathroom was extremely large and even had a bath tub with a shower, and a shower curtain - (unusual in Paris). i would not only recommend the NOH to friends, but I would stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,034 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    691
    302
    33
    3
    5
See reviews for
150
557
96
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2010

Great value for money. You might argue that rooms are small, but compared to what is offered in Paris they are big. The place is very clean and the staff is very friendly. The hotel has an excellent location close to metro. We stayed 4 days and we had an excellent time. We already recommended to friends and they really loved it. Next time we go to Paris we will choose the same hotel.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2010

I stayed 3 days at the end of 3month european trip and loved this place that has well deserved reputation and that was a great bargain in Paris. Although the room was small, it was very clean and very comfortable in the layout including good size desk with TV and ample closet. Bathroom was of larger size and also very clean and comfortable. It was quiet and easy place to get good rest. The breakfasts were affordable and very good food presented in a pleasant cafeteria space. staff was very helpful ( solid english skills ) and went out of their way to provide tips on travel and restaurants and tourist destinations.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jouffroy, Directeur général at New Orient Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2011
Thank you for your positive comments on the New Orient.

We are happy that you appreciated your stay at the New Orient.

With our best regards

Catherine, Josef, Marieke and Sophie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2010

Lovely little hotel. We arrived having come from blizzards in Wales. pleasantly surprised by warm, snug room, Few minutes walk from two Metro stations, plenty of bars, cafés, supermarkets, restaurants. Great as a base for exploring city. Staff useful for restaurant suggestions and very friendly. Only point to note is lift has been put in after the hotel was designed so a bit of a squeeze (3 peeps max) and requires fancy footwork to get into/out of. Not a problem for luggage, though, as helpful staff deliver it to your room!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jouffroy, Directeur général at New Orient Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2011
Dear Guests,

Thank yiu for your kind comments on the New Orient.

For the lift, it's quite true but unfortunately for our guests, for all of us, we can't change anything apart of helping as much as we can.

All the best to you

Catherine, Josef and Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2010

Neat, clean, very French, charming and a bargain, too. Very small but pleasant and quiet room facing rear courtyard. Internet freely available in former telephone booth in lobby. Continental breakfast at 7 euros fine but with wonderful patisserie 50 steps to the right, why? Laundromat 50 steps to the left. Ample grocery across the street, but larger supermarket across from St. Lazare station 5 minutes walk. Two Metro choices 5 minutes walk. Any visit to Paris will be at the New Orient in the future.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jouffroy, Directeur général at New Orient Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2011
Dear Guest,

We thank you very much for your nice review and wish you all th best.

Catherine, Josef and their team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2010

The New Orient Hotel is a very cozy, clean and functional hotel for a budget stay in Paris...

The location is not bang in the touristy areas - but the metros are closeby & there is a nice supermarket bang accross from the hotel.

Rue De Levis which is just a couple of minutes down the road has a lovely local market where we used to pick up our breakfast daily.

From the prompt response to the bookings to the lovely & cozy room on the 6th floor - we had a lovely stay and would like to thank both Catherine & Josef the owners.

Thanks to their helpful advice by the end of our stay in Paris we had become experts on the touristy spots of the city & were recommending places to people!

They also helped us with a taxi when all the public transport was on strike.

A lot is written about their staircase - which to be honest can be a little trying - but honestly we didnt face to many problems. The free internet is an added comfort.

Shweta & Dhruv

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jouffroy, Directeur général at New Orient Hotel, responded to this review, January 22, 2011
Dear Guests,

We thank you very much for your kind words. This is our pleasure to help as much as you can
to make every guest's stay as easy as possible in such a big city like Paris.

We are happy you like your stay with us,

with our best regards

Catherine, Josef Wehrle and their team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2010

Excellent hotel in a very central location close to public transport, rooms may be a bit small, but very cosy and very clean. The bathrooms are also very clean and high standard. The service is excellent and staff is very kind, welcoming and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to New Orient Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Orient Hotel

Address: 16 Rue de Constantinople, 75008 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#37 Family Hotel in Paris
#72 Best Value Hotel in Paris
#145 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This elegant, charming 2-star Hausmann style hotel,in the 8th district, a quiet and central residential area, near 2 metro lines, will allow you to discover Paris at your own pace: Opéra, Madeleine, Champs-Elysées, Montmartre, Place Clichy, Batignolles. Catherine,Josef Wehrle and their team will welcome you in a friendly atmosphere offering you a quality service in this famous district, centre for musicians from all over the world, near the Paris Conservatoire de Musique.ENTIRELY NON SMOKING AND AIR CONDITIONED ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your New Orient Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Orient Hotel Hotel Paris
Hotel New Orient
New Orient Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Orient Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.