We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely, charming hotel at an incredible value.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of New Orient Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added New Orient Hotel to your Saves list
New Orient Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   16 Rue de Constantinople, 75008 Paris, France   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #69 of 1,794 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Baltimore, MD
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A lovely, charming hotel at an incredible value.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2010

My husband and I stayed at the New Orient during a two night stay in Paris en route home from Morocco. I had searched dozens of hotels before deciding on New Orient based on a New York Time review and positive comments on Trip Advisor. We found the hotel easily after taking the train from CDG to Gare du Nord and then on to Villiers metro station. We were so delighted to see our room, which was of ample size with a large comfortable bed and small details that makes one say "this is so French!" The bathroom seemed newly renovated and was sparkling clean. There were towels hung over a radiator on the wall so they were warm after my bath. I have heard many complaints from people about rude staff in other hotels and I must say that the staff at the New Orient was wonderful! Everyone we met was friendly, patient, and welcoming. We just adored this hotel and highly recommend it. Although it is a little distant from the main tourist district, everything is accessible by subway. We liked that it is tucked away on a quiet street. I prepaid our room at a non refundable rate which made this a great value.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,055 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    699
    314
    34
    3
    5
See reviews for
153
567
99
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London UK
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2010

My partner and I stayed here for 3 nights. The location is great - the hotel is about 5 minute walk to Saint Lazare station, close to department stores like Printemps and Galeries Lafayette, and the Opera Garnier. To the north of the hotel is Villiers metro station, and the neighborhood around it is really lively with numerous bakeries, butchers, tabacs, grocers, etc. Oh yes, there is also a supermarket in front of the hotel as well.

The room was clean and tastefully decorated, although quite small. We had a double room with shower. The shower room with sink was located in the opposite corner from the toilet, which was a little bit awkward (you would have to walk through the room to wash your hands). Our room looked out to a little courtyard surrounded by other apartment buildings, and it might be a good idea to request a room facing the road if possible.

Over all, great place for a very good price.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2009

My husband and I stayed here in the fall for several days. What a charming hotel! Our room was, like most in Paris, very tiny but it was adorable. It was decorated with antiques and had a balcony big enough for us both to sit and enjoy a glass of wine. We liked the neighborhood. A bit off the tourist track but so easy to walk to the Metro that it hardly mattered. The staff is outstanding. They take great pride in their hotel and in pleasing their guests. We hardly wanted to leave!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2009

this quaint and charming hotel deserves all the thumbs up below. it is really a gem of a find in a sea of many options.
the room was just about the right size with small reminders that you are indeed in paris. immaculately clean, and given a two thumbs up by my wife, it stayed that way all throughout our stay. the hotel staff we have interacted was just warm and quite helpful. it was an honest welcome as if a friend has visited their lovely home. centralised airconditioning might not work for everyone but it was ok for us. location was superb as it is near a metro with a small grocery shop in front. musicians would love the area as we stumbled upon small shops crafting violins and guitars, musical notes/books nearby. just be wary of thin walls that a hip-hop loving neighbor might play in the most ungodly hour. nothing a quick call to monsieur at the front desk cant fix.
we are already plotting our return to new orient hotel in spring.!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, NY
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2009

Some may say I am insane, but I went to Paris with my wife, 4 children under the age of 6 and young lady as a helper. This hotel was simply fantastic. I found the hotel by looking on Trip Advisor and I vowed I would write a good review after the experience we had.

First of all, the service personnel were great. They were very friendly. They accommodated our family by putting us on the first floor (mind you that's the 2nd floor for Americans). We had a room with two double beds and another room with two single beds. The rooms were a decent size. The quality of the rooms was also nice. I wasn't looking for elegance, just simplicity and cleanliness. I found that and more in this hotel. We were very comfortable and would recommend this place to people with traveling with children in a heart beat!

The location was decent. There are two metro stops which are a short walk away and there is a market street nearby which is fun to visit in the morning with all their shops and booths.

If we ever go back to Paris we'll definitely be staying here. Don't let the star rating fool you, this is a very nice hotel.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2009

Me and my boyfriend have just came back from our stay in Paris and had a lovely stay at this hotel. I would reccomend this hotel to anyone, the staff are very polite and helpful and the location is close to the metro station Villiers. The rooms are small but comfortable and very clean. It is also close to lots of little cafe's and shops. It is approx 30 mins walk from the Champs elysees but only 5 mins on the metro. I would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jouffroy, DIRECTEUR at New Orient Hotel, responded to this review, February 16, 2010
We thank you for your kind review on our hotel but would just like to know why you would not recommend it to your friends, as you seem to have appreciated your stay at the New Orient according to the good notes you gave on most of the different points.

We thank you for your kind answer.

With our best regards

Catherine and Josef Wehrle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremantle
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2009

We'd done our research on affordable hotels in Paris and chose the New Orient based on what we had read, and we were absolutely delighted. It lived up to our hopes and expectations.

The staff are friendly and helpful, the room (we went for the balcony option) was absolutely fine, and the continental breakfast was excellent (Mmm - those yummy dark brown rolls !!)

Madame suggested a local Restaurant "Le Coin" for an evening meal, and we would heartily recommend this place to others - it provides good honest french food and is very busy with local customers (always a good sign)

The location meant that we could walk to most of the sights of Paris, and the area felt safe and friendly. The little supermarket directly opposite is really handy for odds & ends.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to New Orient Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Orient Hotel

Address: 16 Rue de Constantinople, 75008 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#38 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#65 Family Hotel in Paris
#244 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — New Orient Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This elegant, charming 2-star Hausmann style hotel,in the 8th district, a quiet and central residential area, near 2 metro lines, will allow you to discover Paris at your own pace: Opéra, Madeleine, Champs-Elysées, Montmartre, Place Clichy, Batignolles. Catherine,Josef Wehrle and their team will welcome you in a friendly atmosphere offering you a quality service in this famous district, centre for musicians from all over the world, near the Paris Conservatoire de Musique.ENTIRELY NON SMOKING AND AIR CONDITIONED ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your New Orient Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Orient Hotel Hotel Paris
Hotel New Orient
New Orient Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Orient Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.