We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of New Orient Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added New Orient Hotel to your Saves list
New Orient Hotel
16 Rue de Constantinople, 75008 Paris, France   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #42 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Seattle, Washington
1 review
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

My friend and I stayed a the New Orient Hotel a few weeks ago and felt right at home. The staff is lovely, extremely helpful and genuinely interested in making sure their guest are taken care of. There's a great little grocery store across the street to buy wine and snacks and the location is nice because it isn't int he thick of things and is very quiet. The rooms are wonderfully appointed and very clean. I think it's an excellent place to stay for a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
umee, Directeur général at New Orient Hotel, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Dear Guests,

We thank you for your kind comments on our hotel. We are pleased that our quality and service were corresponding to your expectations.

We look forward to welcome you again in the future,

Kindest regards

Catherine, Josef Wehrle and their team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,034 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    691
    302
    33
    3
    5
See reviews for
150
557
96
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

The hotel was truly lovely and the rooms looked exactly like they do in the photos. We really enjoyed the hotel, staff was very accommodating - booking dinner reservations for us, helping us find our way around Paris. Breakfast was lovely. We were a group of 4 - 2 singles and 1 couple. My friends booked the basic rooms and were very happy. My husband and myself booked the upgraded room - a larger-tiny balcony and a bit of a larger room. We loved our room and agree it felt truly Parisian. It was small and beautiful- the bath in the larger room was much nicer than the smaller rooms. A great hotel experience. My only issue is the location. Taking the subway in to site-see in the day was no problem...it was not a long ride and was easy to get into the city. It was the evenings that were an issue. We like experiencing nightlife and spent 40 euro each way to get in and out of town at night. Add the taxi fares to the price of the hotel and I think I would have stayed somewhere closer to the city at night. Add to that - we found it difficult to find the right spots for us at night in Paris...I think this may have been because we were staying so far out of the city that we did not have a "home base" at night with friendly restaurants and bars nearby. I learned a lesson from this one....loved the hotel....just wished it put me closer to where I wanted to be at night.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
umee, Directeur général at New Orient Hotel, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Dear Guests,

We thank you for your kind review and are pleased that you appreciated the quality of our hotel and service.

We are quite surprised that you consider our location as out of the city as the 8th arrondissement is really part of the city centre with many transportation possibilities.

Concerning the Parisian night life, we regret that you did not ask us information as there are many different spots in Paris, all very far from each other Near aour area, we have 2 which are 10 to 15 minutes walk from the hotel :

the Batignolles with many small restaurants and night bars and in the area of the Rue Fontaine by metro station Blanche for trendy bars and discotheques.
then of course on the Champs-Elysées (a little more classical) which are 20 min. walk from the hotel.
To come back from these spots by night to the hotel by taxi the rate should not exceed 15 to 20 €, if you pay more it means that the taxi driver was not honest which can unfortunately happen everywhere.Also if you take a taxi with 4 persons, an extra charge is required by the taxi drivers which is completely legal. Also a night rate is applied for all Parisian taxis from 10 p.m to 7 a.m;

There are of course many other spots especially near Bastille which is not really the Paris center for you but still very alive at the moment.

We have many young guests coming regularly to our hotel and going out by night but never heard any complain concerning the night life access from our place.

Again sorry that you did not ask us for more information more as it would have helped to make your stay more enjoyable.

Kindest regards

Catherine, Josef Wehrle and Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

We would like to highly recommend the New orient hotel. Where we stayed for our family vacation. The staff is so welcoming and was extremely helpful, clean rooms, etc. This certainly enhanced our travel experience into a fabulous one.
Looking forward to our next stay.
The Yoffe's

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
umee, Directeur général at New Orient Hotel, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Dear Family Yoffe,

Thank you so much for your kind review. It was a real pleasure to welcome you again at the New Orient in family.

All the best to you all
Kindest regards from

Catherine, Josef Wehrle and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We recently stayed at the New Orient hotel for 4 nights. The hotel is very clean and has a friendly staff.

We booked this hotel based on the great trip advisor reviews, however, we would not stay here again due to the extremely thin walls. Our first night, we barely slept due to being able to hear every move from the other rooms. We stayed in room #3 which was right off the stairs so we could also hear every person going to and from their rooms.

Our second night, we learned our lesson and downloaded a "white noise" app on our ipad that played a fan noise. We were able to sleep the rest of the trip because of this. We did ask to move rooms, however, they were fully booked.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
umee, Directeur général at New Orient Hotel, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Guests,

We thank you for taking time to share your impressions on our hotel.

We are really sorry that you were disturbed by one of the room near yours but this really does rarely happen. Of course it is difficult for us to anticipate the guest's behavior. It is a shame that you did not call the reception in order we could intervene with the next door guests.Normally our hotel is generally considered as a quiet hotel for Paris;

We are pleased that you appreciated our cleanliness and staff service.

With our best regards
Catherine , Josef Wehrle and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

My husband and I spend 4 nights at the hotel. Due to the many reviews on trip advisor, I knew what to expect in terms of room size etc. I was not disappointed when i arrived. Despite the small room, we managed to fit in both our big luggage. When we checked in, Josef was friendly and offered to help with my luggage up the steps. The room was nicely decorated and I was surprised by how clean the place was, which made our stay more comfortable. Each day, the room was well cleaned and the toilets were spotless!
In terms of location, New Orient is pretty self sufficient in that there are good restaurants/ convenience store, laundry and even some shopping within walking distance. However, when you take into account the places of interest in Paris, and places to visit as a tourist, I feel that New Orient's location falls short as it was not located along the most convenient train line.
All in all, a comfortable stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
umee, Directeur général at New Orient Hotel, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Guests,

We thank you for your kind comments on our hotel and are pleased to note that yu enjoyed your stay with us.

Concerning the transportation possibilities from our hotel we would just like to precise that we have 1 different metro line at each end of our street :

From VILLIERS line 2 direct to Arc de Triomphe and Champs-Elysées and Montmartre Sacré Coeur and the famous Cemetery Père Lachaise.

From EUROPE Line 3 direct to Havre Caumartin (the big department stores, Opera, Sentier (Halles Musee Beaubourg), Arts et Métiers (Marais)
From the Saint Lazare Metro station (!8 min walk from the hotel) Line 14 direct line to station Pyramides (Louvre) Châtelet (Beaubourg Museum and left bank)

We also have 3 good bus lines : 53 direct to Department stores and Opera - 30 direct to Arc deTriomphe and Trocadéro (Famous museums and Eiffel Tower) 80 to Montmartre and to Rond-Point des Champs-Elysées (Musée du Grand Palais)

So many transportation possibilities are difficult to find in Paris and we regret that you did not ask us more advice, we would have been pleased to help you.

Thanking you again for your visit,

with our best regards

Catherine Wehrle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Stayed for 5 nights in September. Had the twin room with bath and balcony. Spotless and with some nice touches. The air con (it reached 32*C) was effective and silent. If you want to explore Paris and want a lovely hotel to sleep in off the beaten track but close enough to stroll to the sites then you could be in for a treat. Would we stay here again. Yes

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
umee, Directeur général at New Orient Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Guests,

It is really nice to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and we thak you very much for your kind recommendation.

Looking forward to welcome you again in the future,

Kind regards

Catherine and Josef Wehrle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

My daughter and I stayed at the New Orient Hotel for a few days in August. The hotel was charming. Not in a touristy area (a good thing) but plenty of nice places to eat close by - although when we visited (18 August) many were closed for their annual holidays so choice was slightly reduced - not that this spoilt our time there at all, just something to be aware of. As two women alone we felt very safe walking around the area even at night. Our room was nicely decorated, comfortable, clean and light. The metro was a few minutes walk away and it was easy to get to all the tourist sights. Staff were very pleasant and helpful. We are planning to stay here again when we return to Paris next year. Those with mobility problems might find the small winding stairs difficult. There is small lift but you need to walk up a short flight of stairs to get to it, however, staff are willing to help with cases.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
umee, Directeur général at New Orient Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you so much for your kind comments on our hotel.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and also our area which is really quite attractive to discover Paris in a real Parisian way.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you for your next trip in Paris.

With our best regards

Catherine and Josef Wehrle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to New Orient Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Orient Hotel

Address: 16 Rue de Constantinople, 75008 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#36 Family Hotel in Paris
#80 Best Value Hotel in Paris
#142 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This elegant, charming 2-star Hausmann style hotel,in the 8th district, a quiet and central residential area, near 2 metro lines, will allow you to discover Paris at your own pace: Opéra, Madeleine, Champs-Elysées, Montmartre, Place Clichy, Batignolles. Catherine,Josef Wehrle and their team will welcome you in a friendly atmosphere offering you a quality service in this famous district, centre for musicians from all over the world, near the Paris Conservatoire de Musique.ENTIRELY NON SMOKING AND AIR CONDITIONED ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your New Orient Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Orient Hotel Hotel Paris
Hotel New Orient
New Orient Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Orient Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.