We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No more 4 star hotels for us, this is our new go-to hotel in Paris” 5 of 5 stars
Review of New Orient Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added New Orient Hotel to your Saves list
New Orient Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   16 Rue de Constantinople, 75008 Paris, France   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #78 of 1,791 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Islamabad, Pakistan
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“No more 4 star hotels for us, this is our new go-to hotel in Paris”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We decided to save a little money on this trip by booking in a 3 star hotel instead of a 4 star hotel. Well, to our surprise, the New Orient Hotel was a great choice. The owners, Catherine and Josef were delightful, so nice, spoke great English, and were so helpful in directing us to restaurants, getting a taxi to the airport, etc. The rest of the hotel staff were equally as pleasant. The room was small, as you would expect, but spotlessly clean. The bed and pillows were so comfortable, I slept like a baby. For 9 Euros per person you can have a continental breakfast with homemade breads/muffins, fresh squeezed orange juice, and coffee. They also offer a full breakfast for 13 Euros. We had the continental breakfast every morning because frankly, it was a bargain compared to other breakfast places, and we saved our appetite for the dinners in Paris. The hotel has free WiFi in the rooms, and a computer in the lobby. They will print your boarding passes for you as well. They have an elevator that stops in between the floors so you have to climb up or down some stairs. Don't bring a heavy suitcase or you may have trouble! The hotel is conveniently located in the 8th arr., and a short walk to 2 Metro stops. There's a street nearby that has markets, cheese shops, boulangeries, flower and wine shops. Lots of cafes and bistros are in the area as well. We can't wait to return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
umee, Directeur général at New Orient Hotel, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Dear Guests,

We thank you for your kind words to the New Orient. This is such a nice description on our hotel and area facilities.

We look forward to welcome you again in the future and wish you all the best in the meantime.

With our best regards

Catherine and Josef Wehrle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,091 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    722
    325
    36
    3
    5
See reviews for
160
585
105
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (209)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

Spent 5 nights at the New Orient for our 15th anniversary trip and we absolutely loved it. Room was spotless, fresh and well appointed with a very modern bathroom. Small but perfectly comfortable we did not feel cramped at all. We ended up having breakfast in the hotel every morning as we soon discovered that the price was fantastic for what you get compared to breakfast elsewhere and it's so convenient to just step downstairs, have a leisurely bite then head back up to the room before going out for the day. Lovely quiet street and quaint neighborhood walking distance to everything. Close proximity to St. Lazare train station made a visit to Versailles a breeze, we took the SNFC commuter train straight from there, 35 minutes with no transfers. Much quicker than the RER. Staff were so polite and helpful in every way. This hotel has such a warm and friendly ambiance not like a large chain hotel at all. Very much a boutique experience. We would definitely return to the New Orient in the future, and highly recommend it.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
umee, Directeur général at New Orient Hotel, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you for taking time to write this nice review on our hotel. It encourages us to continue our efforts in our service.

We are so happy you appreciated your stay with us.

Kind regards

Catherine and Josef Wehrle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

Well located near metro viliers, this excellent two star meets the needs of the traveler without a single misstep. Exceptional friendly service. Room small but very comfortable. Windows open to street but keep noise out at night. Would elect to skip continental breakfast as the area bistros are of course fantastic.
Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
umee, Directeur général at New Orient Hotel, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Dear Guests,

We thank you for your kind review on our hotel which will be helpful for our future guests.

We hope to welcome you again in the future.

With our best regards

Catherine and Josef Wehrle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Loved this hotel. Well decorated, quiet rooms which are a little small but nothing too bad. The staff are very friendly - the kind of place where they don't need to fiddle around on a computer to check you in, just hand you your key almost before you've told them your name. The hotel is in a great location, close to several Metro stations and the main line St Lazare station. There's also a nice area for non-touristy restaurants close by. I did have some problems with the wifi, but as someone who works for a software company in central London and experiences the same problems at work, I know it's very difficult to get good connections when there's so many other networks around in the centre of Paris. Would definitely stay there again if I return to Paris.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

We stayed here for three nights and really liked it. The room was small but comfortable. The best thing about this hotel is the staff which was very nice. It is a small boutique hotel and the staff speaks English well although I spoke some French. The breakfast was good. Coffee was great! I wish I did not have to book for three days but the website required this. I took the train from the airport and then the metro and the staff gave great directions. Would stay there again. You feel like you are more in a residential area when you stay here. Nice shopping nearby. Wireless was hit & miss. We had to go downstairs to get connected a lot.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
umee, Directeur général at New Orient Hotel, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Dear Guests,

We thank you for your kind review and are pleased that in spite of the irregular wifi, you appreciated your stay with us;

Wifi is not always regular as in many other hotels especially in big cities like Paris as the connections are increasing more and more especially during week-ends or busy times and even with our new and very expensive installation, it can be sometimes interrupted for a short time.

With our best regards

Catherine Wehrle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
63 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

After our stay at the New Orient Hotel we were slightly disappointed with our stay. The hotel is in a great location and we did not have any serious issues while staying there, however, upon arrival we discovered hairs in our bed and in the bathroom. Additionally, for the first three days we were there the internet did not work which sounded as though is a common occurrence there from staff. Our hotel room and bathroom was poorly designed which left us feeling cramped and on top of each other. I would recommend staying here, but being aware that the rooms are small, as expected, but actually feel small and that internet connectivity is sparse. Hotel staff seemed friendly, but not outgoing which we experienced other hotels.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
umee, Directeur général at New Orient Hotel, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Guests,

We thank you for taking time to send your comments on our hotel and are quite chocked about your
critics.

We do not understand why you did not inform the reception as you noticed a problem of hair in the bed and the bathroom at your arrival. We are at the disposal of our guests day and night for any problem they can have.
We never have cleanliness problems at the New Orient and are really known for our very good hygiene. Also if f we would have any, we would of course react immediately. We would be grateful if you could contact us as soon as possible as we do not know who you are and in which room you were accommodated.
Our rooms and bathrooms are like most of Parisian hotels of 2 and 3 stars on a small size but this is
the problem of most capitals in which the space is limited but our rates are really very reasonable compared to other hotels with the same size.
Concerning the WI FI access, we had a problem one week-end but not all the time and it can happen sometimes that the wifi is disturbed during a few minutes which can happen everywhere due to the number of connections increasing more and more and especially during the week-end.
This is a worldwide problem which we experienced in many hotels (also in higher class hotels).
We invested in a very good wi fi installation in the whole hotel which is regularly tested and have very rarely problems. We really do our best but we are first of all hoteliers and not internet specialists.
We also notice that even internet specialists have also difficulties to solve all the problems concerning the wi fi connections in offices or hotels.

Anyway we are extremely sorry about what happened to you in the room and really expect you to contact us as soon as possible to clear this matter which is very important for us.

Thanking you in advance

with our best regards

Catherine Wehrle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

My husband and I travelled to Paris for the first time, and we stayed at the New Orient Hotel. The staff was really kind and helpful! In fact, on our last day in Paris I lost my metro pass that I needed to get to the train station, and the man behind the front desk gave me his metro ticket. What a nice man!

Our room was waiting for us when we got there. Everything was clean, and the bed was very comfortable. The rooms are a little small, but that's what you get when you travel to European cities. The room was big enough for what we needed it for anyway. We had our own shower, too. Great water pressure, which is always a plus for me! We also had a balcony, which overlooked the street. It was a great place for us to sit and enjoy the local city views.

The location of the hotel is great, because it's close to two different metro stops and there is some great shopping and eating in the area. It's in an area where your every day Parisians shop and eat, so you feel like a local. There are numerous shops you'll pass by over on Rue de Levis (walking distance to the hotel) such as charcuteries, fromageries, perfume shops and clothing shops. There are also handfuls of pastry shops (patisserie shops) full of fresh breads, croissants and much more!

All in all, our experience at the New Orient was lovely, and we'd definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jouffroy, Directeur général at New Orient Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Guests,

We thank you very much for your kind review on the New Orient. We are happy that you also enjoyed our area which really deserves to be discovered.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again in the future,

with our best regards

Catherine Wehrle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Le Fabe Hotel
#61 of 1,791 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 949 reviews
Hotel Residence Foch
#15 of 1,791 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 1,604 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Batignolles-Monceau
Hotel Darcet
Hotel Darcet
#71 of 1,791 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 316 reviews
Batignolles-Monceau
Les Jardins de la Villa
Les Jardins de la Villa
#57 of 1,791 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 948 reviews
Grand Hotel Francais
#76 of 1,791 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 1,614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Orient Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Orient Hotel

Address: 16 Rue de Constantinople, 75008 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#41 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#71 Family Hotel in Paris
#277 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — New Orient Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This elegant, charming 2-star Hausmann style hotel,in the 8th district, a quiet and central residential area, near 2 metro lines, will allow you to discover Paris at your own pace: Opéra, Madeleine, Champs-Elysées, Montmartre, Place Clichy, Batignolles. Catherine,Josef Wehrle and their team will welcome you in a friendly atmosphere offering you a quality service in this famous district, centre for musicians from all over the world, near the Paris Conservatoire de Musique.ENTIRELY NON SMOKING AND AIR CONDITIONED ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Venere, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your New Orient Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Orient Hotel Hotel Paris
Hotel New Orient
New Orient Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Orient Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.