We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Orient Hotel in Paris” 5 of 5 stars
Review of New Orient Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save Saved
You added New Orient Hotel to your Saves list
New Orient Hotel
16 Rue de Constantinople, 75008 Paris, France   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #42 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Chesterton, Indiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“New Orient Hotel in Paris”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

I found this hotel searching TripAdvisor and was so delighted! My daughter and I stayed here on an overnight stay in route to Germany and LOVED it! GREAT location away from the "touristy" Eiffel Tower area which we loved! The staff were OVER accomodating helping me with finding a restaurant for dinner, finding the location and bus number to get to the Eiffel Tower, Louvre, bus stops, train station AND holding my luggage from 11 am check out until 4 pm until our train left for Germany. They also warned me of the pick pockets by the Eiffel Tower which we DID run into. The pictures of the rooms are EXACTLY how they look online. EXTREMELY clean and mattresses were very comfortable. We had the twin room in the back and it overlooked some old aged apartments which I got wonderful pictures of. We paid for the breakfast and loved sitting in the little front room filled with French books, teapots and bunnies. French pastries, bread, cheese, fruit, yogurts, some meats, and granolas were on the self serve buffet. A waitress attended to warm pots of tea and coffee to our table. I cannot say enough good things about this little boutique hotel and their staff. I highly suggest you choose it as your boutique hotel for a stay in Paris!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
umee, Directeur général at New Orient Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you so much for your kind review on our hotel. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us even for a short stay.
Thank you also for your lovely pictures.

All the best to you both

Kind regards

Catherine and Josef Wehrle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,020 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    681
    298
    33
    3
    5
See reviews for
149
552
95
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Arizona
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

I found New Orient thanks to TripAdvisor, my traveling bible! We were not disappointed. The hotel is in a convenient location; and once we got our bearings we were like locals using the metro to get everywhere. We did not partake in the breakfast - we traveled for 2 weeks and had to limit the spending. There is a bakery just to the right when you walk out the hotel - maybe half block away that we stopped at nearly every morning. Some wonderful baked goods and americano coffees.

We were on the 5th floor in a double room with shower. It was a quaint small room. My only disappointment was at times you could here conversations in adjacent rooms and people walking in the room above, because of the hardwood floors. Room and restroom were very clean.

We made use of the laundry mat a few doors down from the small market across the street. We grabbed a bottle of wine and a few cold cuts to enjoy while we did a load of laundry. It was wonderful.

I would certainly return and not hesitate to recommend anyone. The service was great and they all spoke good English.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
umee, Directeur général at New Orient Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear Guests,

We thank you very much for your kind comments on the New Orient and are really happy that you
enjoyed your stay with us.

Kind regards

Catherine and Josef Wehrle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We booked three rooms for a family trip. Nominally it's a two star, but the cleanliness, hospitality and overall quality are more five star. The staff are very helpful, the rooms are small but well designed - all our rooms were very clean with new shower rooms. It's well -positioned.The only minor issue was that Wi-fi often dropped in our rooms- but it was strong in the reception lounge. And it's free. anyway! Fully recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
umee, Directeur général at New Orient Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear Guests,

We thank you for your kind comments. We are sorry about the disturbed wi-fi access in the rooms during your stay but we had a technical problem which has been repaired n the meantime.

We will be pleased to welcome you another time at the New Orient

with our best regards

Catherine and Josef Wehrle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for a long weekend as we were traveling through Europe and we fell in love with this place. It's exactly what you hope for when you travel to a foreign country: amazing location (three minute walk to metro), integrated into the community (not overly-commercial), impeccably clean (even to our sterile American suburbia standards) and a staff that genuinely treats you like a WELCOMED guest. I would not even entertain staying somewhere else if I were to visit Paris again. There is a good reason this place has the rating it does. Thank me later...

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony. The scene was so perfect that my wife and I had cappuccino on our balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
umee, Directeur général at New Orient Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you so much for taking time for this kind review on the New Orient.

Your satisfaction is the best reward we can get.

We wish you all the best and hope to welcome you again in the future.

Kind regards

Catherine and Josef Wehrle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights at the beginning of March. It cost £160 per night for a double room which I thought was quite expensive for a 2 star hotel but then your realise this is Paris and this is not your not your usual 2 star hotel! I booked over the phone, in English, which I was quite relieved about as my French is a bit rusty. The were very professional and friendly during the call and again at reception when I arrived. I took the train then the metro from Charles de Gaulle airport, all very straight forward, then a short walk from metro station. The hotel looks stylish from the outside and is smart and welcoming inside. It is very french in style and the rooms are fairly small but beautifully decorated and have everything that you need. Ours had a small balcony (which I would recommend) overlooking the street - balcony doors are double glazed so no problem with noise. You can eat your breakfast there when its a bit warmer. There is a supermarket across the road - useful if you fancy a bottle of wine in your room! The staff were all excellent very professional yet still providing that personal touch. There are a number of bars and restaurants nearby we ate at Le Coin which was good, recommended by the hotel. Many of the sights are within walking distance and the hotel has plenty of leaflets for information. The breakfast was reasonably priced with plenty of fresh rolls, croissants and pain au chocolat and a huge choice of teas all served at your table.
All in all the hotel is a great alternative to the usual chain hotels and I would certainly choose to stay there next time I vist Paris.

Room Tip: rooms at the front have a small balcony with table and chairs - no problem with noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
umee, Directeur général at New Orient Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear Guests,

We thank you for your kind words on the New Orient. It is so nice for us to read that you appreciated your stay with us.

We stay at your disposal and send you our best regards

Catherine and Josef Wehrle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldenburg, Indiana, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

There are plenty of places in Paris where you can spend an arm and a leg for the kind of experience we had here. Two couples from Indiana for 5 nights found the New Orient charming in every way. Wine and cheese right across the street at a small market. Metro and many more great food spots less than a 10 minute walk. Beautiful park close by for a stroll or run. Very friendly and attentive owners and staff. You can spend more, but you can't get more for your money.

Room Tip: Steep stairs and small lift may be an issue for some.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
umee, Directeur général at New Orient Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Guests,

We are really grateful for your kind comments on our hotel and are pleased that you enjoyed your 5 days with us.

We thank you for taking time for us and wish you all the best.

Kind regards
Catherine and Josef Wehrle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

This is a very nice hotel situated in a very convenient location in Paris. The hotel is very efficiently run, the rooms are clean and well decorated and the owner really cares that you have a positive experience. The breakfast is very good and reasonably priced and you could not really ask for more of a 2 star hotel in Paris. The rooms are not very large by American standards but it's Paris and they listened attentively when I told them about the one thing that was not working in the room when I left.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
umee, Directeur général at New Orient Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear Guests,

We are really pleased that our hotel service was corresponding to your expectations and we will do our best to continue on this way;

Thanking you for your help.

With our yes regards

Catherine Wehrle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to New Orient Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Orient Hotel

Address: 16 Rue de Constantinople, 75008 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#36 Family Hotel in Paris
#59 Best Value Hotel in Paris
#114 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This elegant, charming 2-star Hausmann style hotel,in the 8th district, a quiet and central residential area, near 2 metro lines, will allow you to discover Paris at your own pace: Opéra, Madeleine, Champs-Elysées, Montmartre, Place Clichy, Batignolles. Catherine,Josef Wehrle and their team will welcome you in a friendly atmosphere offering you a quality service in this famous district, centre for musicians from all over the world, near the Paris Conservatoire de Musique.ENTIRELY NON SMOKING AND AIR CONDITIONED ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your New Orient Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Orient Hotel Hotel Paris
Hotel New Orient
New Orient Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Orient Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.