We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, clean & cosy room” 5 of 5 stars
Review of New Orient Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added New Orient Hotel to your Saves list
New Orient Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   16 Rue de Constantinople, 75008 Paris, France   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #68 of 1,788 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bern, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, clean & cosy room”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We will definitely come back to this lovely hotel. Rooms are small (well, it's Paris), but spotless and nicely decorated. The bathroom was also spotless, functional and looked new. We even had a balcony with table and chairs.

There are two Metro stations within 10 minutes walking distance. In the neighbourhood are a lot of restaurants. Ask at reception; they guided us to a nice local bistro.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
umee, Directeur général at New Orient Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Google Translation
lIEBE gaste,

Wir bedanken uns für Ihre liebe Zeilen über unser Hotel und freuen uns, dass Sie sich bei uns
wohlgefühlt haben.


Mit freundlichen Grüssen


Catherine und Josef Wehre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,055 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    699
    314
    34
    3
    5
See reviews for
153
567
99
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Just had a great experience at this hotel. The owners are extremely welcoming and take care of any need you may have. I was having trouble connecting to the Wi-Fi and they brought someone in and fixed it within minutes. The breakfast service started at 7am and that worked out perfectly since i had to leave for work at 7.30am,

Room was a bit small (like most hotel rooms in Paris), but very clean with a comfortable bed and overlooked the street.

Overall - great stay!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We visited Paris back in June 2012 and stayed here throughout the time. Many good restaurants nearby and a convenience store just across the street. The neighborhood was nice and safe. Most of the time we would hailed taxis or took the train home and we never had problem with it. The room was a pretty good size to go around and they kept it clean. The bed was a bit too firm for me personally but we got home very tired everyday so I still had a good rest regardless. Our room had the shower and the toilet separated. The hotel keepers are very friendly and accommodating. At the end of our stay, we wrote our names on their guest book in the lobby – such a cute touch! Overall, we had a wonderful time at New Orient Hotel and definitely will come back here the next time we’re in Paris.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Stayed in this hotel for 3 nights as a side trip from a business trip in Barcelona. I booked the hotel base on reviews in Tripadvisor.we usually stay with 4 to 5 star hotels but we wanted a more central location for Paris and get a feel of local life and the location of this hotel was just perfect.From our experience with European hotel,4 and 5 star hotels tend to be out of the center. We stayed at room 15 at the 3rd floor. the room was small but clean. the hotel is close to a local market and we go for a stroll every morning to get a feel of local life. next to the market is the metro Villiers stop. From the metro you can get to mostly anywhere within 15 to 20 mins.the owner/manager were very hospitable, friendly people who just naturally likes to entertain. the owner also assisted us in booking a cab service to the airport which was very convenient. my brother will be staying in this hotel too next month base on our recommendation.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Very friendly and helpful staff, for anywhere especially Paris. Maybe I just got lucky but everybody I encountered in Paris was nice and helpful this time. The hotel is a small place with 6 floors. I paid an extra 10 Euros for a balcony. Price was 110 Euro. Very clean, small room with a clean bathroom and shower. The only complaints were the hot water was slow to come (i was on the 6th floor) and the bed was kinda hard but minimal complaints for the price. There was a small TV, mostly French stations but did have BBC and International CNN. The balcony was very small with one chair, but nice to get some fresh air and check out the street below.

The hotel was not difficult to reach from the Main train station. Take #4 line to Barbes (1st stop) switch to #7 line and get off at Villiers (6th stop). When you come out turn Right down rue de Contantinople. Like 1.5 blocks. Nice quiet neighborhood. From this intersection you can get the #30 bus for 2 Euro which takes you past the Arch de Triumph and ends right at the Eifel Tower. The Hotel Lady shared this with me. Very convenient. Also, it was a nice day and she suggested I go to the Tower, walk across bridge and and down steps to the river and take the cruise. Great idea, 1 hour cruise on the Seine for 13 Euros!

Room Tip: If want a view of street the 6th floor Balcony nice. If not going to be in room at all or weather ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

My husband and I stayed for 4 nights in mid-February. The hotel was delightful and the staff welcoming and helpful with suggestions.(Le Coin restaurant is a must!) Although the room was small by our standards it was very clean, had a very comfortable bed and was quiet as we were not on the street.We like being able to open the windows. The location was great,close to two Metro stations.We walked from the hotel to many areas of the city.We enjoyed the breakfast on 2 of the mornings. I loved the carafes of coffee and hot milk. I will not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

Absolutely loved this place. Lovely breakfast, close to the metro gorgeous little balcony and a little convenience store across the road so you buy a bottle of wine and sit out. Very clean and the staff were very helpful and friendly. Would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to New Orient Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Orient Hotel

Address: 16 Rue de Constantinople, 75008 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#39 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#66 Family Hotel in Paris
#244 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — New Orient Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This elegant, charming 2-star Hausmann style hotel,in the 8th district, a quiet and central residential area, near 2 metro lines, will allow you to discover Paris at your own pace: Opéra, Madeleine, Champs-Elysées, Montmartre, Place Clichy, Batignolles. Catherine,Josef Wehrle and their team will welcome you in a friendly atmosphere offering you a quality service in this famous district, centre for musicians from all over the world, near the Paris Conservatoire de Musique.ENTIRELY NON SMOKING AND AIR CONDITIONED ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your New Orient Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Orient Hotel Hotel Paris
Hotel New Orient
New Orient Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Orient Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.