We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All the things a small hotel should be.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of New Orient Hotel

Save Saved
You added New Orient Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
New Orient Hotel
16 Rue de Constantinople, 75008 Paris, France   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #41 of 1,796 hotels in Paris
Limerick, Ireland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“All the things a small hotel should be.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

This hotel was spotlessly clean in every respect. There has been obvious investment over recent years in the furnishings and facilities, yet the rates are perfectly reasonable. Our room had a small balcony which allowed us to appreciate the magnificent apartment building across the street. True Paris. The room was warm and comfortable despite the sub zero temperatures outside. You will go a long way to get better.

Room Tip: The balcony rooms are worth the little bit extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

997 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    664
    292
    33
    3
    5
See reviews for
146
539
93
44
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

The location of this hotel is very central, in a lovely area and just as importantly, close to a tube station. It is within easy access of the CDG Paris airport. There is wireless Internet throughout the hotel at no extra charge. The rooms although small, are really well arranged, decorated beautifully (including consideration to original building features) and perfect facilities. The hotel was very clean, the breakfasts are lovely & very tasty and you are within easy reach of the main sites/tube station. Definitely, recommended to anyone wanting a weekend or short break in Paris.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, England
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Room 17 for us which is a 4th floor twin room overlooking the frount of the hotel onto the main street. As said by many others, this is not a flash hotel but is very clean, with excellent customer care, very comfortable beds and represents good value and something different from the normal sterile city hotels. No noise from the road at all which was superb. Breakfast was expensive but we enjoy hotel breakfasts and thought it very pleasant. My only concern is the spiral staircase that runs through hotel. This is an old building and some of the steps are very narrow indeed. We managed fine but others guests were not so happy. The alternative is a small lift that we could just get in with 2 small cases. Not for the claustrophobic or those who are less agile as you always either had to go up or down some stairs when you arrived at your floor. It didn’t spoil it for us you just need to be aware.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

I haven't stayed in this hotel, but was staying in the hotel next door. I did try to get a reservation into New Orient for my trip but they were full. Since I was staying in the hotel next door I just thought of getting a feel of the highly rated New Orient, so I just waked in one evening to have a look. I must say that I was rather impressed by the small but very neat lobby and the entrance etc... The lady at the reception was very very courteous and very hospitable.  I think the hotel is run by this lady and her husband. Having travelled a lot and come across all sorts of hotels and management, I do believe this hotel would be a very nice place to stay. Since I was staying in the hotel right next door, my hotel and this one actually are two halves of the very same building with pretty much an identical layout. Hence I am certain that the rooms are of a decent size, small - but decent keeping in mind that most hotels in such historic cities are in very old buildings and have small but nice rooms. For location, and why I would choose this hotel over the one I stayed in - I have written a longer review about the hotel I stayed in (next door), so if you want to can have a look.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodside, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

First of all, you know things have chanced when a 2 star hotel in Paris is now $140/night. When I first came through this town, with a backpack in college, I think 2-star hotels were about $20! But these days $140 counts as a bargain here, and as the other users here have pointed out, the New Orient is delightful choice. You do haul your luggage up a couple flights of stairs to your tiny room, but the place is very clean and charming, and the staff couldn't be more friendly and helpful. Nice breakfast downstairs, and a whole bookshelf full of books previous guests have provided, in a ever-evolving shared library. The location is slightly out of the way (and surrounded by luthier shops, interestingly - you'll see luthiers sitting in their shops, working on violins, and you'll see various Parisians walking the sidewalks with their violins, taking them in for repairs and adjustments) but it's only a 5-10 minute walk from the Gare Saint-Lazare station, where you can get both Metro and RER trains which will which you pretty much anywhere you want to go.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

My friend and I stayed at the New Orient Hotel in January 2013. Although the room was tiny (to be expected everywhere in Paris), the front desk staff were more than friendly and made you feel very welcome. Wifi was free and the signal was strong with a good connection speed.

My only feedback is regarding a couple of maintenance issues. Our room had a hook that was barely connected to the wall and a rail in the closet that was missing a screw. Very minor but in a small room storage can make all the difference.

Would highly recommend this affordable hotel in Paris.

Room Tip: I have a feeling some rooms have a shared bathroom - be sure to ask for a room with your own.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
umee, Gérant at New Orient Hotel, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Guests,

We thank you for your kind words to the New Orient.

What a shame that you did not let us know about your the inconvenience (hook and lacking screw) caused to you because we could easily fixed it for you immediately.

We are pleased to confirm that there is a bathroom or shower and toilets in all the rooms since over 20 years.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your visit to the New Orient;

With our best regards

Catherine and Josef Wehrle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Great hotel in a good location away from the heavy tourist traffic, yet so close with two metro stoped within a few minutes walk. Hotel was clean and rooms a good size for Paris, beds some of the best ive ever slept in. Staff were always helpful and recommended some great local restaurants. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to New Orient Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Orient Hotel

Address: 16 Rue de Constantinople, 75008 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#25 Family Hotel in Paris
#62 Best Value Hotel in Paris
#138 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This elegant, charming 2-star Hausmann style hotel,in the 8th district, a quiet and central residential area, near 2 metro lines, will allow you to discover Paris at your own pace: Opéra, Madeleine, Champs-Elysées, Montmartre, Place Clichy, Batignolles. Catherine,Josef Wehrle and their team will welcome you in a friendly atmosphere offering you a quality service in this famous district, centre for musicians from all over the world, near the Paris Conservatoire de Musique.ENTIRELY NON SMOKING AND AIR CONDITIONED ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your New Orient Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Orient Hotel Hotel Paris
Hotel New Orient
New Orient Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Orient Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.