We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All the things a small hotel should be.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of New Orient Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added New Orient Hotel to your Saves list
New Orient Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   16 Rue de Constantinople, 75008 Paris, France   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #77 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Limerick, Ireland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“All the things a small hotel should be.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

This hotel was spotlessly clean in every respect. There has been obvious investment over recent years in the furnishings and facilities, yet the rates are perfectly reasonable. Our room had a small balcony which allowed us to appreciate the magnificent apartment building across the street. True Paris. The room was warm and comfortable despite the sub zero temperatures outside. You will go a long way to get better.

Room Tip: The balcony rooms are worth the little bit extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,073 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    711
    318
    36
    3
    5
See reviews for
155
577
103
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
31 hotel reviews
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

The location of this hotel is very central, in a lovely area and just as importantly, close to a tube station. It is within easy access of the CDG Paris airport. There is wireless Internet throughout the hotel at no extra charge. The rooms although small, are really well arranged, decorated beautifully (including consideration to original building features) and perfect facilities. The hotel was very clean, the breakfasts are lovely & very tasty and you are within easy reach of the main sites/tube station. Definitely, recommended to anyone wanting a weekend or short break in Paris.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Forest National Park, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Room 17 for us which is a 4th floor twin room overlooking the frount of the hotel onto the main street. As said by many others, this is not a flash hotel but is very clean, with excellent customer care, very comfortable beds and represents good value and something different from the normal sterile city hotels. No noise from the road at all which was superb. Breakfast was expensive but we enjoy hotel breakfasts and thought it very pleasant. My only concern is the spiral staircase that runs through hotel. This is an old building and some of the steps are very narrow indeed. We managed fine but others guests were not so happy. The alternative is a small lift that we could just get in with 2 small cases. Not for the claustrophobic or those who are less agile as you always either had to go up or down some stairs when you arrived at your floor. It didn’t spoil it for us you just need to be aware.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

I haven't stayed in this hotel, but was staying in the hotel next door. I did try to get a reservation into New Orient for my trip but they were full. Since I was staying in the hotel next door I just thought of getting a feel of the highly rated New Orient, so I just waked in one evening to have a look. I must say that I was rather impressed by the small but very neat lobby and the entrance etc... The lady at the reception was very very courteous and very hospitable.  I think the hotel is run by this lady and her husband. Having travelled a lot and come across all sorts of hotels and management, I do believe this hotel would be a very nice place to stay. Since I was staying in the hotel right next door, my hotel and this one actually are two halves of the very same building with pretty much an identical layout. Hence I am certain that the rooms are of a decent size, small - but decent keeping in mind that most hotels in such historic cities are in very old buildings and have small but nice rooms. For location, and why I would choose this hotel over the one I stayed in - I have written a longer review about the hotel I stayed in (next door), so if you want to can have a look.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodside, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

First of all, you know things have chanced when a 2 star hotel in Paris is now $140/night. When I first came through this town, with a backpack in college, I think 2-star hotels were about $20! But these days $140 counts as a bargain here, and as the other users here have pointed out, the New Orient is delightful choice. You do haul your luggage up a couple flights of stairs to your tiny room, but the place is very clean and charming, and the staff couldn't be more friendly and helpful. Nice breakfast downstairs, and a whole bookshelf full of books previous guests have provided, in a ever-evolving shared library. The location is slightly out of the way (and surrounded by luthier shops, interestingly - you'll see luthiers sitting in their shops, working on violins, and you'll see various Parisians walking the sidewalks with their violins, taking them in for repairs and adjustments) but it's only a 5-10 minute walk from the Gare Saint-Lazare station, where you can get both Metro and RER trains which will which you pretty much anywhere you want to go.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Great hotel in a good location away from the heavy tourist traffic, yet so close with two metro stoped within a few minutes walk. Hotel was clean and rooms a good size for Paris, beds some of the best ive ever slept in. Staff were always helpful and recommended some great local restaurants. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haarlem, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Good location, quiet place, charming and clean hotel, friendly staff. But the single room (or at least number 21) is very small. A tiny table that can hardly contain a laptop. In the bathroom the toilet stands right in front of the shower. Better book a double room even if you travel alone.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to New Orient Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Orient Hotel

Address: 16 Rue de Constantinople, 75008 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#39 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#75 Family Hotel in Paris
#271 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — New Orient Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This elegant, charming 2-star Hausmann style hotel,in the 8th district, a quiet and central residential area, near 2 metro lines, will allow you to discover Paris at your own pace: Opéra, Madeleine, Champs-Elysées, Montmartre, Place Clichy, Batignolles. Catherine,Josef Wehrle and their team will welcome you in a friendly atmosphere offering you a quality service in this famous district, centre for musicians from all over the world, near the Paris Conservatoire de Musique.ENTIRELY NON SMOKING AND AIR CONDITIONED ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your New Orient Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Orient Hotel Hotel Paris
Hotel New Orient
New Orient Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Orient Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.