We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of New Orient Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added New Orient Hotel to your Saves list
New Orient Hotel
16 Rue de Constantinople, 75008 Paris, France   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #42 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Stayed here with a friend and two teens in two rooms. Although the rooms were on the cozy side, we had a lovely time and were very satisfied with the service, breakfast and the ideal location. All around great experience and highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,034 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    691
    302
    33
    3
    5
See reviews for
150
557
96
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed here for 4 nights back in late October/early November. We had a room with a balcony. We ate out locally and didn't avail of breakfast at the hotel, although I did order a bottle of water and a shaving kit from reception.
Upon arrival, the staff were extremely welcoming (the hotel appears to be mainly owner-operated). Our limited French was immediately apparent and they had no problem putting us at our ease and speaking in English (probably a lot easier and quicker for them!) .. Our room was spotless, well laid out with a large enough bathroom and a balcony. The balcony was pretty small, but charming nonetheless.
After getting settled in, we returned to reception and again they were very helpful in giving advice on sights to see, how best to get there, what to avoid, etc.
The hotel is a short walk from the local Metro station and once there, any area of Paris is easily accessible. It is in a nice quiet area, with beautiful local architecure.
Price-wise the hotel is also quite reasonable (for Paris at least). I would definitely stay there again.
Overall, a well-located, clean, friendly establishment that doesn't cost the earth. Highly recommended! Five Stars :)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kempley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Somewhat wary of the reputation of some Paris hotels, we were more than happy with the New Orient Hotel. A real find in fact. A small, but perfectly formed hotel. Rooms of excellent standard, well decorated and equipped, clean modern bathroom. We had a room on the fourth floor with a balcony overlooking the street. Despite that it was very quiet at night and no internal noise either. Our daughter had a small room at the back of the hotel, but whilst obviously smaller was of an equally high standard. The proprietors and staff were friendly and extremely helpful. Their recommendation to eat at the nearby Le Petit Canon was fantastic. Excellent french food in an informal bustling setting and the surprise was the bill - £91 for three of us including 2 bottles of wine and more than enough to eat. AND free wi-fi which we really valued. Very convenient to metro's and lovely to just walk around the area - lots to see. No hesitation in recommending this hotel and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We arrived late after having problems with the hotels directions, which we found to be poor. We asked for train tickets to Villers but ended up in Villers sur Marne, outside of Paris. The receptionists seemed to find this quite funny. To their credit, they were more helpful as our stay progressed and the customer service was excellent from all people we met at Hotel Orient. Room was very small but comfortable. Very clean. Noise travelled between bedrooms quite badly and we could often hear other guests talking in their rooms, which kept us awake at night on several occasions. Although so far it sounds negative, we loved our stay at Hotel Orient. The location in Villiers is excellent for exploring the city and seeing the sights. Its a residential area with easy access to Paris metro, which is an amazing system by the way! Queuing for the Eiffel Tower was a nightmare, taking 4 hours!! Make sure you book online and save yourselves hours of queuing! Good local restaurant was Risi Bisi, an excellent Italian restaurant. All in all we enjoyed our stay and would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
umee, Directeur général at New Orient Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear Madam, ear Sir,

First of all we would like to thank you for your visit in our hotel and the corresponding
review.

We are really sorry about your bad experience concerning the access to our hotel.
We are really surprised that you did not find it according to the very precise
explanations written on our website as it is the first time that guests got lost in that proportion.
It is clearly explained, that from the Gare du Nord, you have to take the pedestrian tunnel to metro station LA CHAPELLE, take Line 2 towards Porte Dauphine and get off at VILLIERS which is not the RER to VILLIERS SUR MARNE located far away from Paris..
You wrote that our receptionnist found your experience funny but Abdelhak is working with us since many years and is very helpful with each guest. He really did not find your experience funny. He also was really sorry for you and even brought your luggage in your room.

Concerning the room size, we are not an exception in capitals like Paris, London etc.. and even 3 or 4 stars hotels do not have always bigger rooms than ours but often to much higher rates and if they have sometimes bigger rooms, the rate are of course much higher.

For the noise, we are in a 19 century building and do our best to ameliorate the soundproofing as much as we can. This was also a very special period during which many guests were going out until late at night and did not always realise that they were noisy.

In spite of all we are happy that you appreciated your stay with us and wish you again a very Happy New Year.
With our best regards

Catherine and Josef Wehrle
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Room was not big, but we were in Paris, we were not there to just sit in the hotel room, who cares if the room was small? We had better things to see like the Arc de Triomphe & Eiffel Tower, the Lourve, Champs Élysées which are all accessible from the very close walking distance to Villiers metro station (metro in Paris is wonderfully on time). The little pastry shop just up the corner is great to grab breakfast on the run (wonderful croissants, but all croissants in Paris are amazing!)

Staff here are great at giving directions & showing things on the map when asked for.

Stay here if you can, you will be surprised at how nice it is

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hythe, Kent, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

I booked this hotel for myself and my boyfriend for three nights for my 21st birthday. We were warmly greeted by the staff on arrival and they continued to be very friendly and helpful throughout our stay. The owners and their team even left me a birthday card and a present in our room on the day of my birthday, which was a lovely, unexpected surprise! Our room itself was cosy and comfortable, and the breakfast was nice, if slightly limited. The hotel itself is in a good central location, so it doesn't take much travelling to get to any of the main tourist sights. All in all, I would definitely recommend the New Orient Hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights after Xmas with our children in a double room (no 3) and a twin (no5).
As I say this hotel is spotless, the bedroom, bathroom and breakfast areas are fastidiously well kept. The staff are helpful - not exactly forthcoming but obliging if asked for help.
Bedroom 3 was ours and quite compact with a quirky wardrobe that had a vicious squeaking when opened. My experience of French rooms is that they are not very large, this is true here but enough for a short stay. The bathroom was fine with hair dryer, soap and shampoo.
The only complaint we would have is the noise. Not from the Metro which goes beneath and is evident but not an issue. The quality of soundproofing from the above floor was not good enough to stop our sleep being disturbed several times - why do people have a bath at 4 am? Also a wooden floor doesn't help. The location of bed3 is at the top of the 1st floor stairs and you can hear guests talking in reception quite clearly from inside the room. Added to this when guests use the doorbell you will hear it.
Bed 5 was adequate, quite dark, compact and no view except into a yard of other buildings. Here the shower floods all over the shower room floor due to a poor design. Again it is fine for a short stay.
The bed and linen were very comfortable and good quality.
We had breakfast on just one day, tea juice breads pastries, all of which was good and served on very nice cups & plates etc. We chose to eat out on the other days due to time and trips already planned.
Location wise it is within walking distance, 20 mins or so of a lot of attractions and 5 mins from the metro villiers.
Overall this is a great little hotel, we would recommend it but maybe try rooms on another floor away from the noise of reception.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to New Orient Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Orient Hotel

Address: 16 Rue de Constantinople, 75008 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#37 Family Hotel in Paris
#80 Best Value Hotel in Paris
#145 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This elegant, charming 2-star Hausmann style hotel,in the 8th district, a quiet and central residential area, near 2 metro lines, will allow you to discover Paris at your own pace: Opéra, Madeleine, Champs-Elysées, Montmartre, Place Clichy, Batignolles. Catherine,Josef Wehrle and their team will welcome you in a friendly atmosphere offering you a quality service in this famous district, centre for musicians from all over the world, near the Paris Conservatoire de Musique.ENTIRELY NON SMOKING AND AIR CONDITIONED ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your New Orient Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Orient Hotel Hotel Paris
Hotel New Orient
New Orient Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Orient Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.