We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tres Bien!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of New Orient Hotel

Save Saved
You added New Orient Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
New Orient Hotel
16 Rue de Constantinople, 75008 Paris, France   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #38 of 1,796 hotels in Paris
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Tres Bien!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

In the world capital of 2 star hotels, the New Orient must be one of the best. On past visits to Paris I/we have stayed on the left bank, generally as close to Boulevard St. Germain as cost dictates. This time, on my own, I deliberately stayed on the other side of the river in a part of town that I was not familiar with. I was not disappointed.

The New Orient is a bright little establishment close to both Villiers and Rome Metro stops and barely 1km from Saint Lazare station. The Opera district is in close proximity and in the other direction the charms of Montmatre; an area I was delighted to re-visit after a gap of nearly 12 years. Paris is compact and easy to get around so where you actually stay is not always that vital. This however, is a good spot.

The Hotel was clean and well appointed for a 2 star establishment, the staff friendly and helpful. The room was small (it is Paris after all) but all the amenities were present, including free wi-fi and several digital TV channels (other Hoteliers please note). It was quiet and breakfast perfectly fine.

All in all, very happy to recommend and thanks to my fellow contributors who steered me in this direction. Very tempted to rank the hotel as Excellent but certainly very good +. You will not be disappointed, particularly if you a bit of a Francophile like me.

Room Tip: I was at the back of the hotel and it was very quiet. However, the main road (Rue de Constantinople...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

992 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    661
    290
    33
    3
    5
See reviews for
145
536
92
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Falkirk
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Yes it's a lovely hotel, welcoming, clean and charming in all respects. We were looking forward to sitting on the balcony of our room but unfortunately we were on the fourth floor and we both felt a little peculiar sitting up there so we sat at the window and took in the Parisienne air and architecture. Breakfast was unremarkable and cost 8 euros each but there is a small supermarket opposite where you can get all your food and drink needs. The location is central however we found it hard to find a decent restaurant nearby and would frankly prefer to have been closer to the centre of Paris. A lovely stay but not one we will be repeating.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

I'm not sure what can be said here that is different to past reviews, but my title says it all. From the moment we arrived until the second we departed I loved everything about this hotel. We were met with absolute kindness and efficiency. The little bit of French that I spoke was greatly appreciated, but don't worry if you know little of the language you will be made most welcome.
The hotel is very conveniently situated to metro stations, and the location is very quiet. The rooms are charming, and everywhere is spotlessly clean. I cannot think of one negative thing to say. If you want to stay in Paris, which was a city I completely fell in love with, you could do no better than to stay here.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterdown, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

Great central location on our 4 night stay. 2 metro stops very close which was fantastic. Loved the neighborhood and Parc Monceau is beautiful down the street. Our room was clean and bathroom modern. Staff at front desk always helpful. We had continental breakfast one morning which was OK for the price. We would definitely stay here again!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

First of all, my choice based on three things - price, location and tripAdvisor rank.
Overall, I'm satisfied with my stay, but.

Room was very small. I know that this is the problem of old buildings, but for me price for the hotel is a little bit over. Even in very exprensiive Paris area.
My friends lived at the same level 2* hotel near Montmartr, they had 30eur less but it was incl. breakfast.

Room was clean, there were safe, tv, hairdryer and free wifi.

As breakfasts were not included in the price, I decided to have them in the city so I believe it was good decision.

Reception was very friendly and helpful.

Overall, this hotel is good first of all because of this price but if you want you can find another maybe even cheaper and not so far from quality.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
umee, Directeur général at New Orient Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear Guest,

We thank you for your visit and kind comments on our hotel.

We would just like to come back to the point of price and quality.

The fact to have 2 stars only is our own choice. We could have demanded 3 stars and would have received them. Our area is very residential , safe and very well located and we really have very low rates compared to other hotels in Paris which for often less service and quality are at least 30% more.
We have rooms with a good comfort, charm, high quality beds (changed in April 2012 for a very high level mark which you only find in 4/5 stars hotels) . Of course if you look for a price, you will find cheaper hotels in Paris but it is important to compare everything.
Concerning the breakfast, we really propose 2 very good quality breakfasts which is a very high cost for us for a very little profit. We know what are the breakfast included in the room rate and it's really hard to compare with ours. If you go in any café in Paris, you need 6/7 Euros for a coffee and a croissant and we offer a continental breakfast with coffee, croissants, juice, hot drinks as much as you want. For guests who need to eat more, we propose a buffet to 12 euros which offers choice and very good quality (many organic items). These breakfasts are served in a nice room with a good service.
Anyway we are pleased that in spite of all you enjoyed your stay with us and wish you all the best.
With our best regards

Catherine and Josef Wehrle


Anyway we are pleased
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

The hotel lived up to all the good reviews. The welcome was warm and efficient, the rooms were lovely and the location was ideal, very close to two metro stations in a nice neighbourhood. An excellent choice for any visitor to Paris, and not expensive either. Perfect!

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter but those facing the street have small balconies on higher floors or o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sylmar, usa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Daughter and I stayed mid October. Couldn't have been happier with stay! We knew we were in the right place when these 2 jet lagged and tired travelers received such such a warm welcome upon arrival. No silly tourist question was to much for them, no matter how busy they always took the time to answer. The hotel is exactly as pictured on the website. We stayed in 1 room with 1 doubled sized bed. Room size just fine, very comfy beds. The shower room had a hair blow dryer mounted on the wall a bit weak with air but it did serve the purpose. No small wash cloth so if use one, bring it with you.

Metro Europe & Villiers stations within 10 mins walk ( which takes u just any where you would want to go) there are others stations but they are a farther walk. I thought walking to any major tourist attraction was a bit too far from the hotel but taking the metro was close and easy.

Decent bakery just a couple of doors away but found even better ones in Montmartre area which was just about 15 min walk .

Opera garnier was also 15 -20 mins walk with lots of shopping.

Thank you to Catherine, Josef and all the wonderful staff at New Orient for making our first visit to paris such a wonderful visit, we can't wait to return!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to New Orient Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Orient Hotel

Address: 16 Rue de Constantinople, 75008 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#21 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#29 Family Hotel in Paris
#66 Best Value Hotel in Paris
#137 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This elegant, charming 2-star Hausmann style hotel,in the 8th district, a quiet and central residential area, near 2 metro lines, will allow you to discover Paris at your own pace: Opéra, Madeleine, Champs-Elysées, Montmartre, Place Clichy, Batignolles. Catherine,Josef Wehrle and their team will welcome you in a friendly atmosphere offering you a quality service in this famous district, centre for musicians from all over the world, near the Paris Conservatoire de Musique.ENTIRELY NON SMOKING AND AIR CONDITIONED ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your New Orient Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Orient Hotel Hotel Paris
Hotel New Orient
New Orient Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Orient Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.