We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly small hotel, excellent location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of New Orient Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added New Orient Hotel to your Saves list
New Orient Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   16 Rue de Constantinople, 75008 Paris, France   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #69 of 1,794 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Warwickshire, UK
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Friendly small hotel, excellent location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Prior to our visit we researched hotels on trip advisor and this one seemed to best suit our needs. We were not disappointed. We asked for a balcony room if possible and were advised that only some rooms had balconies but that they would try and allocate us one and they did.

Upon arrival we were met by the lady that owns the small hotel who was extremely helpful and showed us places to go on a map. She said that she would not be there for the next few days and we both think that she had waited until our arrival before she left which was very nice of her. One of the first things that she said was "thank you for choosing to stay here" which we thought was lovely.

The room was small but big enough! The furnishings were very nice and the bed extremely comfortable. Nothing was too much trouble. The staff gave us cups to make drinks in our room and also lent us an umebrella when it decided to throw it down with rain!

The location is great. Very near a tube station and walking distance to monmatre. We cannot fault this hotel and would not stay anywhere else in Paris. I would suggest booking early if you would prefer a balcony room.

Room Tip: Book early and ask for a balcony. If they don't have one then still book!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,055 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    699
    314
    34
    3
    5
See reviews for
153
567
99
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

My sister & I stayed here for a long weekend in April 2012 and we had an absolutely wonderful time. All of the staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. We arrived a few hours before we were supposed to check in and were allowed to leave our bags in the hotel so we could explore more easily. Similarly on our last day we left our luggage in a locked room after we had checked out and collected later on in the day.

Our room was small compared to previous hotels I've stayed in in Paris, and may not be suitable if you want lots of space, but it was perfect for us. It is located really close to two metro stations and opposite a small supermarket. The breakfast menus were a little pastry/bread heavy for my taste but but there were also plenty of local restaurants/cafes to choose from.

I had high expectations of the hotel based on the reviews I had read in advance and I'm happy to say I wasn't disappointed. We stayed over Easter so may have had a different experience at a busier time but based on the price we paid and the service and experience we had I would happily recommend this to family and friends and will certainly be going back whenever I visit Paris again in the future.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

I stayed here in late April 2012. A very clean, friendly small boutique hotel, perfect for solo female traveller. Good location for metro's, cafe's. I felt very safe & staff kept apologising for very cold weather. Highly recommend

Room Tip: I had a back room, no view but afternnon sun & quiet. Rooms very small but typical of small Fren...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

closer to Main Atractions.
Rooms are quite small especially for two people and suitcases. I guess it's a typical Europe hotel room. Very friendly and helpful front desk.
Nice bakeries around the corner.
Can be loud around 5am when delivery trucks come around.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saddleworth
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

My husband & I stayed at this hotel on a four night break in May. The hotel is very well located & we had no problems getting around as there are a couple of metro stops nearby but if you like to walk you can. The hotel was very clean the room we had was on the back & although it served it's purpose & the bed was very comfortable we would have preferred to be on the front as we felt a little cut off, having said that we didn't spend much time in it! The staff are extremely helpful & booked a couple of trips for us which were wonderful they even lent my husband a tie!
One thing they forgot to do though was acknowledge my 50th birthday on the actual day as my husband had e mailed them to tell them about it before we went he was a little disappointed & so on leaving he mentioned it to them. About a week later I received a gift through the post with an apology from them which I thought was very thoughtful as they didn't have to do that & I was very grateful so thank you New Orient for that!
So we would recommend this hotel & Paris is delightful we will definately return soon!.

Room Tip: try to get a front room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

My wife & I stayed there for three days in transit and this place is conveniently located; the staff at the hotel are super helpful and very pleasant. We made a last minute change in our reservation and they were happy to accommodate. Free Internet - fast and reliable. Breakfast was good and had decent choices (includes home made pastries that were delicious). They took our bags to the room which was very helpful.

The hotel is located a couple of mins from the Europe metro station and short hop away to most attractions. They have several restaurants / cafés nearby and a mini mart across the street! Will stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aventura, Florida
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

Charming hotel, great prices and great service. Rooms are nicely decorated, bathrooms are great
The small stairs and elevator is probably common for an older building in Paris.
Staff is very helpful.
Will definetly go back!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to New Orient Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Orient Hotel

Address: 16 Rue de Constantinople, 75008 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#38 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#65 Family Hotel in Paris
#244 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — New Orient Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This elegant, charming 2-star Hausmann style hotel,in the 8th district, a quiet and central residential area, near 2 metro lines, will allow you to discover Paris at your own pace: Opéra, Madeleine, Champs-Elysées, Montmartre, Place Clichy, Batignolles. Catherine,Josef Wehrle and their team will welcome you in a friendly atmosphere offering you a quality service in this famous district, centre for musicians from all over the world, near the Paris Conservatoire de Musique.ENTIRELY NON SMOKING AND AIR CONDITIONED ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your New Orient Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Orient Hotel Hotel Paris
Hotel New Orient
New Orient Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Orient Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.