We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful hotel full of Parisian charm” 5 of 5 stars
Review of New Orient Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added New Orient Hotel to your Saves list
New Orient Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   16 Rue de Constantinople, 75008 Paris, France   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #69 of 1,794 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence 2014
South Wales
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A beautiful hotel full of Parisian charm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

My sister and I stayed here for the first weekend in February 2012 ( 3rd - 5th) it was minus three in the day and snowed while we were there. The hotel was warm and cosy. The beds were so comfortable with spotless clean white sheets that we did not want to get up in the morning. Every time we entered the room it smelt fresh and clean. The bathroom was a good size with a shower over the bath, toilet and bidet.The shower was powerful and hot just what was needed after a days sightseeing! I loved the furniture, beautiful pieces that really gave the place warmth and character. We were on the fifth floor and loved the balcony and the view although due to the temperature we didn't make too much use of it. Although we didn't eat at the hotel the dining room reminded me of an elegant tea room. Our friends stayed in a hotel a few streets away and our room was much larger than any of theirs and a good size by Parisian standards. The staff we perfect; helpful, polite and friendly. When it came to the much discussed lift and stairs, if you have small children and therefore pushchairs etc, or are disabled potentially it could cause a problem. The lift is small and is at the top of the first section of spiralling stairs. However I noted pushchairs stored downstairs where we left out luggage when we checked out and the staff were so helpful I'm sure they would do what they can to accommodate you. I also did not notice the hotel being particularly noisy and I live in a rural area with little noise overnight so I do tend to notice that. I would recommend this hotel and fully intend to stay there whenever I go back. If you are looking for slick and modern don't bother, but if you want character and charm at a good price this is the hotel.
As far as access to restaurants and sights etc, we actually walked to the Eiffel Tower, Sacre Coeur, Notre Dame Sunday markets etc, and made all sorts of discoveries along the way. There are several restaurants under a five minute walk away and three metro stations ( Villers, Rome, Europe) very close by so it's very easy to get about.
In summary I cannot fault this hotel it was a pleasure to return to at the end of the day.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,055 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    699
    314
    34
    3
    5
See reviews for
153
567
99
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Blacksburg, Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

Trust the other Tripadvisor reviews on this one. The hotel is quiet, a little bit away from the city center but very convenient to several subway stops, and situated in a nice neighborhood filled with luthiers, music shops, good restaurants, fantastic bakeries, and an amazing cheese store. The hotel is simple, small, clean, and cute. Our room was small and simple, but very comfortable and clean. As in many older buildings, the plumbing was a bit loud, but never became irritating. The staff is amazing, exceptionally polite and helpful. Really. The New Orient is not an elegant four or five star hotel. But in a city like Paris, it's a fantastic value for the money, and I would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2012

Located maybe about 1/4 mile from a underground train stop, it is actually a really nice location. My husband and i walked around and had NO problems at any time of nice. There is a laundromat right across the street so we were able to wash our clothes. The people at the front desk were very kind and were able to speak enough english that there was no problem communicating. Our room was really pretty, clean and nice. Loved it.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

The hotel is in a very quiet neighborhood, within walking distance to at least 2 metro stations. It is located a bit outside of the center of the city - is about a 15 minute walk to the Opera/Galeries Lafayette/Printemps area, for example, but this wasn't a problem for me, as I don't mind walking. I was staying in a single room, which is quite compact, but plenty of space for one person. The wifi connection was good throughout my 2 day stay. The room and bathroom were very clean, and the staff were all very pleasant and helpful. When I'm back in Paris, I will definitely be looking into staying at this hotel again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

We stayed here last year back in March, but have only just got round to reviewing!

The hotel is located in a quite neighbourhood with some very nice restaurants around, it is also very close to a number of Metro stations, so you are never to far from the action, although most days we chose to walk from the hotel to the tourist spots, it is a walk but definitely can be done.

The hotel itself is tiny, but has the feel of a big 5 star hotel with it's well appointed rooms and immaculate design. Yes the rooms are very small, but that did not bother us, it had a bed and a bathroom and that is all we needed.

When we went the hotel was undergoing a renovation but this did not disrupt our stay at all, so all credit to the owners here.

The one thing I would say is that the lift if extremely old, tired and tiny, my partner used the lift on arrival but this did not leave room for our bags, which meant I did the galliant thing and lugged them up the stairs, also getting out of the lift can be a little tricky as it opens directly onto some stairs! This is more down to a lack of space than anything else.

We tried a B&B on a more recent visit to Paris, but both agreed that next time we return we will be staying here.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony, they are very small and a little tricky to get onto through the windo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

We stayed here on a weekend break to Paris. The hotel is easy to get to from the Eurostar station although there is a bit of a walk up a hill from st lazare.

Before you even go through the door you can tell the hotel is going to be good! It's on a quiet street with a few little restaurants, bakery's and other hotels around it. We didn't have any problems with noise although it did take a while to get used to the rumble of the underground... Maybe take earplugs if you're not used to being in a city.

The room was small but did the job, the shower was so nice you didn't want to get out of it! There's a safe provided which puts your mind at ease.

The highlight of the hotel for us though was just how friendly the staff are, they speak good English and are happy to help with anything. One evening after we went for dinner we asked for a pot of tea which they were happy to provide, one downside may be that hot drinks aren't provided in the room but they're willing to make you one at any time so its not a problem.

We think the room was really good value for money and we will be going back again as well as recommending it to friends.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

My daughter and I had a wonderful stay at New Orient Hotel last week. The staff was very friendly, entirely helpful and quite patient with my lack of French. The rooms were clean, quiet, and very nicely appointed. The rooms are are fairly small, or perhaps "compact" but that's to be expected. The breakfast was excellent. The location is great in between two subway stops that are a very easy walk away. It's good value for the money, too. We have no reservations in enthusiastically recommending people to stay here. We'd go back whenever we are next in Paris.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to New Orient Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Orient Hotel

Address: 16 Rue de Constantinople, 75008 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#38 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#65 Family Hotel in Paris
#244 Business Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — New Orient Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This elegant, charming 2-star Hausmann style hotel,in the 8th district, a quiet and central residential area, near 2 metro lines, will allow you to discover Paris at your own pace: Opéra, Madeleine, Champs-Elysées, Montmartre, Place Clichy, Batignolles. Catherine,Josef Wehrle and their team will welcome you in a friendly atmosphere offering you a quality service in this famous district, centre for musicians from all over the world, near the Paris Conservatoire de Musique.ENTIRELY NON SMOKING AND AIR CONDITIONED ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your New Orient Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Orient Hotel Hotel Paris
Hotel New Orient
New Orient Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New Orient Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.