We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mediocre Food, Mediocre Service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Aarapana

Aarapana
6 rue du petit pont, 75005 Paris, France (Odeon / Saint-Michel)
0979510384
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9,444 of 13,200 Restaurants in Paris
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Neighborhood: Odeon / Saint-Michel
Paterson, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Mediocre Food, Mediocre Service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

The restaurant is buffet-style, but maybe you will have a better experience if you order a fresh platter. The chicken was kind of tough and not very flavorful at all; nor were the potatoes. I expect a certain bare minimum with Indian food as I eat very much of it any chance I get, so I know a thing or two about what I should be getting...this restaurant simply did not measure up.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    20
    18
    8
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
Top Contributor
195 reviews 195 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“Good food, good price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

We loved the Indian cuisine. It is a buffet style with several common Indian favorites for a very reasonable price. It is very near the Notre Dame Cathedral. The wait help was very friendly and spoke excellent English.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucca, Italy
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
215 helpful votes 215 helpful votes
“Nice place, tasty food, good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2011

The restaurant is very near to the Latin Quartier of Paris. The food is very good and some of the flavors very spicy. The quantity is more than what you can expect. I was enchanted by a mint cream that was soooo delightful! Although the cleaning was not the maximun (but that is true for almost all the restaurants in Paris) the service was always ready.
In addiction to the inner tables there are some tables outside, a place closed by windows, where you can drink something and smoke the Hookah (Narghilè).
Considering the food variety and taste, the quantity, the service and the atmosphere I definitely suggest this place.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice Restaurant with tasty food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

This is an Indian restaurant very near to Notre Dame castle. Look of the restaurant was quite classy. Very much Indian with idols of worship everywhere. The food was tasty, though the service seemed to be mediocre. Would recommend it for the food and the location. Go for it!

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Our family ate there almost every night we were in Paris”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

We discovered this restaurant the day we arrived in Paris - and ate dinner there for the following two nights. We particularly enjoyed the buffet offered during the weeknights. The food - especially the chicken tikka and the bengan bharta (eggplant) - was delicious. Furthermore, the staff graciously accomodated my "special orders" (as I cannot eat some things).

  • Visited June 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aarapana also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Aarapana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aarapana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.