We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely boutique hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Citizen Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Le Citizen Hotel to your Saves list
Le Citizen Hotel
96 Quai de Jemmapes, 75010 Paris, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #13 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Wexford, Ireland
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
209 helpful votes 209 helpful votes
“Lovely boutique hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We picked this hotel primarily because of the area which is residential, next to Canal St. Martin. There are numerous really lovely bistros nearby. The hotel is nicely decorated in a modern style, although the rooms are a bit small. Nevertheless we would return to stay here again, without hesitation. The staff are without exception pleasant and courteous. Any queries we had were dealt with With a smile. The hotel has put together a very useful list of restaurants, bars and shops nearby.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

600 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    469
    109
    17
    2
    3
See reviews for
102
352
38
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sedro Woolley, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The location is great, within a short walk to the metro stop at Gare de l'Est. Right on the canal surrounded by great local restaurants. Staff were really helpful especially Laure. Breakfast is continental with an option for eggs any way you like.

Room Tip: We had the Zen room and my wife's sister had the City K. Both are good rooms and very comfortabl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menlo Park
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

a taste of the real Paris, beside a lively Canal St Martin, the hotel is delightful, with young, attentive staff and the best breakast included in the price Walking distance from Gare de l'Oest and Metro, always something to watch on the locks of the busy Canal with good restaurants and eateries geared to students all around. Le Canal is a modern hotel in an old building. Book before it gets too popular.

Room Tip: The quieter rooms are on the upper floors. There is some street noise on the premier etage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We travelled to Paris for a friends birthday this weekend. I read a lot of reviews and so chose to book 2 suites and 2 doubles for our stay...we were not disappointed!!

From the second we arrived the staff were helpful, friendly and couldn't do enough for us!
On check in we all received an iPad with the hotel wifi which was great to research bars and cafés!
The rooms were gorgeous, compact but perfect for our needs. The suites were very spacious and housed 3 ladies comfortably! All features were well thought out and modern.
The location was ideal close to metro and an abundance of great bars, cafés and restaurant. We felt safe and comfortable walking around the area and exploring it's many charms!
Breakfast was included and was excellent. Everything made fresh for us, very tasty and great value. The staff were very attentive.

I would also like to mention Lara and how well she looked after us! She was kind and nothing was too much trouble. She made our stay at le citizen a fantastic one!

I would highly recommend le citizen for anyone looking for a good base to explore Paris!

The only disappointing part of our trip was the end of it!

  • Stayed October 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belo Horizonte, MG
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

located near Gare de L'Est, by Canal de San Martin, this is a small hotel that offers many comfortable points: ultra-comfortable bed, good breakfast, good Service and Nice people, IPad and 4G cell phone to use while in Paris loaded with Paris useful info. Only 12 suítes/rooms, reservation well in advance is needed and...rewarded. It has several good bistrots and shops nearby, few foreigners around as not a tourist attraction área, very Parisian and friendly neighborhood. Certainly we will return there Inácio future trip to Paris.

Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We had a really great stay at this hotel, awesome views of the canal, very friendly and helpful staff (never snobby or stuck-up) and it was great to feel like we had a "home-base" in Paris. We stayed in 'La Suite Zen' and I really liked the layout, the space, and how you could always catch a piece of the action on the canal. The neighbourhood is really cool, not a lot of tourists, but great bistros nearby and the canal really comes alive at night as a place where locals come to hang out with their friends. It takes about 5-10 minutes to get to a subway station, depending on which line you are going to, but since we had been to Paris before, we didn't mind exploring away from the super touristy areas.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Perfect for my stay, great location-cool area without being too touristy. Trendy decor, nothing was too much trouble for the staff. They were so friendly and spoke fluent English which was a help. The area had lots of great restaurants and the view of the canal was brilliant. The breakfast was included in the price and was tasty. Would 100% stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Citizen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Citizen Hotel

Address: 96 Quai de Jemmapes, 75010 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 1,797 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Boutique Hotel with twelve rooms run by a team whose ultimate goal is that guests enjoy every moment of their visit. The building has been completely renovated from top to bottom, with aesthetic natural wood accents throughout. The quality of the accommodations includes top of the line beds, flat screen television with a vast choice of international channels, air conditioning, sound buffering and complimentary in-room services of WiFi, filtered water... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Le Citizen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Citizen Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.