We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Hotel for a Stay in Paris” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Citizen Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Le Citizen Hotel to your Saves list
Le Citizen Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   96 Quai de Jemmapes, 75010 Paris, France (Canal Saint-Martin)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Hamden, Connecticut
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Perfect Hotel for a Stay in Paris”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

My family and I just returned from a 1 week stay in Paris. Le Citizen was the perfect hotel for a family of 5 with 3 children (8, 10 and 11 years old). We had rooms 3 and 33 on the third floor and it was the perfect size. Two rooms together is actually larger than most other European hotels. The rooms are clean, new, modern and feel just like home. All the members at the hotel were very attentive to our needs. Sophie had assembled a team of staff that makes you feel welcome and comfortable. They assist with taxi travel and restaurant reservations. Erin, Eric, Caroline, Ilyas and Laure were very kind and helpful in ensuring we had everything we needed during the stay. The breakfast each morning was exceptional with fresh fruit, eggs, yogurt, cheese, bread, pastries, coffee and squeezed orange juice. Our children really looked forward to the breakfast each morning. The evening wine and appetizers were a nice touch and the complimentary mini-bar was a real hit with the kids. The hotel is in a very nice location. It is about a 10 minute walk to the closest Metro and the neighborhood is filled with excellent restaurants that the Erin and other staff expertly recommended. We ate at Philou, Chez Marie Louise, Hotel du Nord, Verre Vole and Fuxee. All were excellent and the children tried food they never thought they would. My wife and I liked the Zen showers. We also were given 2 iPads but we mostly used our own iPhones and iPods with the free WiFi.

The beds were very comfortable. There was some street level noise on the third floor but after living in Boston for several years, this was not a bother to me or my wife. We were able to visit all the museums and sites easily from this hotel with the use of the Metro. We felt safe in the hotel and surrounding area. None of us experience a pickpocketing event which was good.

There are so many choices of hotels in Paris. Le Citizen is highly recommended in the 2014 Paris Fodor's travel book and is in the top 20 hotels in the city on TripAdvisor. This is one of the few hotels where old school (Fodor's) advice and new school (TripAdvisor) converge and it is perfect for a stay in Paris. This was my method of selecting this hotel. If you are having trouble deciding which hotel to pick for your vacation in Paris- look no further. This place is exactly the one you are looking for.

Room Tip: 3rd floor and higher will have less street level noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

676 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    533
    118
    18
    3
    4
See reviews for
111
381
46
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

We chose this hotel based on its reviews and were not disappointed. From the first to the last step in Le Citizen, the staff were always helpful and accommodating. Given an iPad for the duration of the visit was a nice touch. We stayed on the 6th floor overlooking St. Martins canal, which was buzzing during the World Cup. The layout and the comfort of the room was excellent and the size of the room was better than most in Paris.
By the way the breakfast is also brilliant.
It deserves it's rating.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

My husband, 11 year-old-daughter and I stayed here for 6 days and loved this hotel.
We stayed in a Zen Suite which was the perfect fit for us. The suite has been well designed and uses the space extremely effectively with built in storage and seating areas. We had a great view from the 5th floor of the Canal, boats, charming bridges and beautiful sunsets over the rooftops. The room has a large bed and the hotel made up a separate bed for my daughter on the window seat that was very comfortable. The bathroom was a decent size with a great walk in shower and separate toilet area. The hotel provided free wifi and long distance calls.
The hotel staff was exceptional. Laure and Erin at the front desk were wonderful(everyone who works there is great but we dealt with them the most) and helped us get difficult restaurant reservations, gave us directions and were an overall pleasure. The breakfast was also delicious with amazing pastries, fresh squeezed juice, good coffee and eggs cooked upon request. The breakfast crew(thank you Lia!!!) was so sweet and treated us like royalty.
Le Citizen is located in a charming area with many great cafes and restaurants narby. On nice evenings the locals come and picnic along the canal. We were there during the World Cup and the only issue was noise from the crowds in the street who were drinking and watching the games. If you are a light sleeper be aware that the street noise can get very loud but regardless we highly recommend this hotel and can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: we really liked the zen suite with a shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new haven, usa
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

We just spent 3 nights at LeCitizen Hotel and enjoyed it quite a bit. The room itself was very nice, had everything we needed , was clean and well appointed. The extra's were great - free wifi, free "mini bar", great breakfast with lots of breads and yogurt as well as eggs cooked to order. The staff was helpful and friendly. The rooms do face the street so if you need quiet to sleep it may not be the best place for you but I recommend it highly.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

Very stylish and comfortable hotel, staff are friendly and located in one of the most hip area in Paris. I have both lived as well as visited Paris many times and stayed at high end to budget hotels but this one is a real good value to cost hotel.

Room Tip: I stayed at Citizen Apartment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for our honeymoon. I would highly recommend Le Citizen Hotel and would absolutely return on future trips to Paris. The location on the canal is charming, and the neighborhood is lovely--not at all touristy, but still plenty of interesting boutiques, restaurants, cafes, etc. The hotel is also a quick 10 minute walk from the Republique metro stop, which makes the rest of the city easily accessible. I can't say enough good things about the staff--they were by far the friendliest Parisians we encountered: welcoming, helpful with answering questions and assistance with dinner reservations/information--especially Laure and Caroline! The complimentary breakfast is delicious: croissants, fresh squeezed OJ, eggs and coffee prepared as you wish, plus lots of other delicious things. The rooms are small, as most in Paris are, but they are modern, very clean and comfortable. Another lovely touch -- the fridge is stocked with complimentary bottled water, juice, a couple beers -- which is great after a long day of walking. Each room is also provided with an iPad, which is tremendously helpful for planning visits around Paris. The attention to detail, while remaining low key but very comfortable makes for a seamless stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the canal...very charming to open the windows for fresh air and people...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

Been our 4th time at Le Citizen and it is now unofficiallyl our home in Paris, until we actually buy an apt. When, who knows.

Thanks to wonderful staff, Laure, Caroline. Forgot the name of the guy who let me borrow his lighter a few times.

Fresh sheets daily.

Laure, please tell Sophie to add Apple TV next time and a docking station.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Le Citizen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Citizen Hotel

Address: 96 Quai de Jemmapes, 75010 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Canal Saint-Martin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Citizen Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Boutique Hotel with twelve rooms run by a team whose ultimate goal is that guests enjoy every moment of their visit. The building has been completely renovated from top to bottom, with aesthetic natural wood accents throughout. The quality of the accommodations includes top of the line beds, flat screen television with a vast choice of international channels, air conditioning, sound buffering and complimentary in-room services of WiFi, filtered water... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Le Citizen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Citizen Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.