We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Citizen Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Le Citizen Hotel to your Saves list
Le Citizen Hotel
96 Quai de Jemmapes, 75010 Paris, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #12 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Beveren, Belgium
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great little hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

We stayed here for 1 night to visit Paris. We booked last-minute and got a nice discount on their smallest room. The room was very nice: great bed and shower, room was equipped well and we loved the small place where we could lay down and take a look outside.

Staff was very friendly and gave us some info about taking the metro.

Breakfast was a nice change in your typical hotel breakfast; everything was homemade, fresh and delicious.

It's a great hotel for short stays. For longer stays I'd take a larger room, that I assume will be as nice as ours.

Room Tip: For longer stays (+3/4 days) I would not take the smallest room as there is not much space to put yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

616 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    484
    110
    17
    2
    3
See reviews for
104
357
41
48
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

I spent 5 days there in September 2013 and honestly speaking it has been one of the most gratifying experience I have ever had regarding the service I received from the staff that works there, they were just amazing and made my stay quite comfortable. The rooms are spacious and the breakfast was always delicious. If you want to use the metro, there are two stations, La Republique and Gard du L'Est, which are close to the hotel. In brief, I strongly recommend this hotel and I will not think twice to use this hotel again. Many thanks to the staff at Le Citizen.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

Just back from a long weekend in Paris with my sister and stayed at the Citizen. This will be my hotel of choice going forward. Small but perfectly formed - a world away from the big hotel chains..
Staff could not be faulted - so considerate of our needs and helpful in every way possible. The rooms made great use of the space and the ability to connect two rooms to make an 'apartment' is innovative. Lovely little bistros just a stones throw away all used by locals. Easy walking distance to La Republique and Gard du L'Est if you want to make use of the metro.
My thanks to the team at Le Citizen!

Room Tip: We were on the sixth floor so no noise from anyone above. With wooden floors, foot fall may be an is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Ives, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

We stayed for three nights and had a lovely time. The room was just right with great views of the canal Saint Martin and beyond. It had a really comfy bed and spacious bathroom.
The welcome and support from the friendly staff was great throughout our stay and the immediate area had plenty of interest.
Breakfast was delicious and the hotel gave us excellent recommendations of where to eat in the evening.
Right outside the hotel is a station for the 'velib' hire bicycles which are a cheap and fun way to get around the city.

Room Tip: Our 6th floor room had three floor to ceiling windows giving plenty of light and great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

The hotel was our base from which we could sightsee around Paris. It was perfectly clean and the staff were very pleasant. It is quite a trendy hotel and I would certainly recommend it for the younger crowd.. The hotel is situated right on a canal which is very atmospheric. Very good value also.

Stayed February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sophieberdah, Guest Relations Manager at Le Citizen Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Glad to see another guest from Oakland CA come through our hotel!! The original artwork displayed throughout the hotel comes from Creative Growth Art Center based in Oakland :)

Hope to see you again soon both at Creative Growth and here at the hotel!

Gaela
Creative Growth Paris Representative
Le Citizen Hotel, back office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles CA
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
438 helpful votes 438 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Although I have strolled along the Canal Saint Martin on past Paris visits, I was eager to stay in this area, given the amount of buzz the 10th and 11th arrondissements have been receiving of late. I had heard about Le Citizen from a family member who stayed here twice, through several mentions in print, and, of course, through TripAdvisor. The hotel is situated across the road from the banks of the canal on the corner of a rather busy intersection with one of the few bridges across the canal that allows vehicular traffic. This particular bridge turns 90 degrees to allow for boats to pass through the canal locks. There are no buildings directly on the canal banks, just walkways, small parks and pedestrian bridges. I enjoyed a 5 night winter stay here, when the canal can perhaps be better seen through the barren trees.

I arrived in Paris via the Eurostar train from London, which alights at the Gare du Nord. After a quick transfer to the Metro, the Jacques Bonsergent station was 2 stops away. Then there was a short walk along the quaint Rue de Lancry to Le Citizen. Consider the amount and weight of your luggage when considering a train (RER) and/or Metro arrival or departure--there will invariably be a fair amount of walking, plus a lot of stairs and traffic (people and vehicles) to negotiate. The hotel works with a private car service that can ease your arrival or departure--I used the service upon check-out to go to Charles de Gaulle airport.

The charming hotel, which opened in Sept., 2010, has a very contemporary interior design and is shaped like a thin slice of cheese ( or pie) with the tip cut off. All windows face the canal. There are 12 rooms total on 6 floors, 2 per floor. The ground floor has the petite reception area and the cute breakfast area/lounge. Staff areas and the kitchen are in the basement. French floors 1-6 each have one City room stacked on one side of the hotel. These are Le Citizen's smaller and less expensive rooms. The rooms on floors 1 and 2 have two windows each, while those on floors 3-6 have 3 windows and the ability to connect to the adjacent room, forming a Citizen Apartment. Stacked on the opposite side of the building are the hotel's larger rooms--the City K on floor 1 (2 beds that can form a king bed, bathtub), the City L on floor 2 (same size as the City K but with a queen bed and sofa, shower), Zen Suites on floors 3-6 (king bed, large bay window with seating area for work or rest, 3 suites have showers, one has a tub, can connect with the City room). City K and L rooms have 2 windows, Zen Suites have 3. Le Citizen's well-designed and detailed website has photos and floor plans.

I had booked the City L room and found it lovely, large by Parisian standards, with blonde wood built-in cabinetry (including 3 closet spaces), sofa and desk, a dark wood floor, blue tiled bath. The bed was exquisitely comfortable. Well thought-out attention to detail did not go unnoticed--an iPad for every room filled with helpful information about the hotel and the area, slippers, robes, shoehorn, heated towel rack, complimentary minibar with eco-friendly refillable glass bottles of still and sparkling water (plus beer, soft drinks and a fruit "juice" that was thick like a nectar), toggle-switches for the lights, toothpaste, earplugs, original artwork in the foyers and public rooms.

Minor niggles: The room's lighting was insufficient near the closets. There was no clock of any kind (although wake-up service was available, and the iPad could turn into an alarm clock). The soap and shampoo was a combination liquid hair and body wash, pumped out of a wall-mounted dispenser. I wondered why there were two bathmats, then found use for both of them because the shower leaked a bit past its metal borders. If using your own iPad or laptop, you must log in with the info given at check-in each and every time you turn it on. Street noise was an issue on my first night, a Saturday night. Parisians love their motorcycles and apparently roam the streets on weekends until past 4am! The earplug supplied were quite helpful, and weeknights were less boisterous. I also heard quite a bit of clomping around on the wood floors from the guests staying above me, who were wearing either wooden clogs or high heels, also until about 4am.

Complimentary breakfast is served from 7:30 to 11am. If you arrive early, they may still be setting up. The reception person usually helps out at this time. Orange juice is fresh-squeezed to order, and eggs are cooked to order. There is a coffee/espresso machine. There is a cute small buffet: delish croissants and pain au chocolat, breads (toaster available), yogurt, cereals, fresh and dried fruit, jams. Plus the kitchen will send up small plates of bite-sized treats such as pancakes topped with nuts, french toast, croque monsieur bites, croissant bites will Nutella and banana, smoked salmon or ham on bread with soft cheese, etc.
In the evening, there is a l'heure de l'apero (happy hour) with wine and nibbles.

The staff was uniformly friendly and quite young. I had the most interaction with Laure, who checked me in and kindly helped me with my strangulation of the usually lovely French language (she sometimes works in tandem with another young woman who looks like her sister but is not--Laure is the one with braces), and Eric, who is somewhat of a celebrity on TripAdvisor reviews. He had just returned from a lengthy vacation, and everything prior reviewers have said about him is true--very proactive and willing to take the extra step for a guest.

Le Citizen's website and iPad recommend numerous restaurants in the vicinity. Eric was quick to point out a few as well, notably Chez Philou and Chez Marie Louise, both excellent and very French spots an easy walk from the hotel. The 10th arrondissement has been the focus of a few magazine articles I've read recently, notably Conde Nast Traveler and Bon Appetit, and there was more than a little overlap in places mentioned by the publications and by the hotel. And again, lots are within walking distance.

Besides the canal itself, there are really no touristy sites in the area. While the nearby eateries will have a smattering of tourists who probably read the same magazines I did, it was refreshing to be amongst locals, to look out the window and see French families taking walks with toddlers and strollers, or older locals taking an exercise class in a canal-side park, or just people walking by in their typically fast Parisian pace without a camera in hand. Tourist-choked sites and museums are a Metro ride away, but it certainly was nice to come "home" to one's own little slice of Parisian paradise away from the madding crowd.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sophieberdah, Owner at Le Citizen Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
We completely understand why you are a top contributor on TripAdvisor, wow, thank you for the amazingly thorough review! We find your review very honest and it perfectly depicts our establishment, so this is very helpful for future guests.

As you state, this neighborhood has become a real gem for foodies and authentic Paris lovers. Ever since we opened our doors, the neighborhood is constantly changing and improving, I'm sure on your next visit you will discover new places!

We put a lot of focus on our service, as we consider this one of the most important assets of a hotel. We are impressed and pleased that you remembered names! Caroline is Laure's look-a-like sister :)

We have made note of the insufficient lighting and will check to possibly add/increase the lighting around the closets. For the bathroom amenities, we have chosen to go the eco-route in line with our convictions, and therefore went for the wall-mounted supplies. We really liked the quality, smell, and brand of Spa Omnisens and they only provide the two-in-one body gel/shampoo combination with the separate hair conditioner.

The wifi system we use allows multiple devices to be connected using unique tickets/passwords and once it is connected, it remembers the password the entire stay. If you had to re-login every time, it is possible we did not provide the right information or sufficient tickets.

We have chosen wooden floors for the hygiene that it provides (compared to carpet) with a noise isolating base, but it implies a level of consideration from our guests that we usually experience and unfortunately, that night, you did not!

Vittorio, our cook, puts a lot of care in preparing the breakfasts, so we're happy that you appreciated it! We think a good breakfast is an important start for a day of sightseeing in our beautiful city.

Once again, thank you very much for the time you took to leave us this great review! Hope to see you again soon.

Sophie
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

Stayed at this cute hotel by the canal for only one night this week but already looking forward to being back next month ( for 2 nights). The staff are fantastic, young and proving that this is no excuse not to provide excellent professional services. Breakfast was lovely and included in the rate, as was the mini bar, free phone calls and a snack and glass of wine in the evening. Oh and an iPad to borrow during your stay. I haven't had any if these at more expensive hotels. Room was very small but this is the case all around Paris ( and I have stayed at many boutique hotels). Would love to stay in one of the bigger rooms but budget won't allow.:-(

Having said that, the bed more than made up for the lack of space. It was so comfortable with cozy duvet DVD perfect pillows. Quiet as well.

Great bar recommended by Eric and only a few doors done and lots of good places to eat on this up and coming area also.
Well done and see you soon!

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Citizen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Citizen Hotel

Address: 96 Quai de Jemmapes, 75010 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Boutique Hotel with twelve rooms run by a team whose ultimate goal is that guests enjoy every moment of their visit. The building has been completely renovated from top to bottom, with aesthetic natural wood accents throughout. The quality of the accommodations includes top of the line beds, flat screen television with a vast choice of international channels, air conditioning, sound buffering and complimentary in-room services of WiFi, filtered water... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Le Citizen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Citizen Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.