We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for the price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Citizen Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Le Citizen Hotel to your Saves list
Le Citizen Hotel
96 Quai de Jemmapes, 75010 Paris, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #12 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great for the price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

We picked this hotel because it was ranked #5 at the time. It pretty much lived up to the reviews. Small but clean rooms with good linens, friendly staff, decent location. The breakfast was nice, with fresh squeezed orange juice and good lattes. You can even ask them to make you eggs, otherwise it's just breads, some fruit, you hurt and cheese. Their croissants were amazing, but I was VERY disappointed that on the last day an hour before breakfast was over they had ran out of them!! I know this sounds like a minor complaint, but I was really looking forward to going down stairs to get one in the morning, and to find they did not have any was disappointing. I mean its Paris and they run out of croissants?
I don't know their names, I wish I did, but one of the staff was much friendlier than the other one. The gentleman from Belgium was VERY helpful, while the other was your average hotel staff member... not really helpful when our phone didn't work, but as soon as the other gentleman came on shift, he had a new phone in my room immediately.
I will stay there again on our next visit.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

615 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    483
    110
    17
    2
    3
See reviews for
104
356
41
48
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Truro, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

This hotel is a stunning boutique hotel. The staff are extremely kind and helpful. They organised our restaurant bookings each evening. We ate so well in non tourist place. Chez Marie Louise Restaurant is a must. We went twice! The Zen room is spacious, a perfect place to relax. I slept 10 hours one night, which is rare for me. Produce in the hotel has good providence and delicious. Just a stone's throw from Gare du Nord, the location is good for anyone who arrives on the Eurostar and wants to explore neighbourhoods.

Room Tip: Zen Room is the most expensive, but worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

This small hotel overlooking the Canal St Martin is in a wonderful area full of locals and away from the touristy areas. The hotel staff are young and so enthusiastic to please. Breakfast can sometimes be a bit chaotic, but, makes up for it with their service. Have the omelet it is delicious! Just a few doors away there is the Hotel Nord which has a great bar and a wonderful restaurant which, again is full of locals and the food is fantastic. The metro is within walking distance but give yourself a chance to immerse in the streets around the hotel - full of tiny bars, cafes and quirky shops. We would definitely stay there again, perhaps when the weather is a bit warmer, so we can enjoy walking along the canal, watch the boats go through the locks and stop for a coffee along the way.

Room Tip: we chose the Zen Suite. It is quite large and has lovely views. Free wi-fi too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen Denmark
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
197 helpful votes 197 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

In September, we went back to the BEST hotel in Paris! We can honestly say that we will never consider staying anywhere else.
We are a small family of two adults and one child (11 years old) - this time we were in the company of a cousin of my daughter, so we opted for the apartment. The two girls loved having their own room and bathroom, but it was lovely to have the window space with plenty of room for all four of us in the master bedroom.
On our second stay, the hotel had made som changes. Now breakfast and minibar is included in the room rate, as well as an evening drink in the breakfast room. The breakfast is wonderful - not too many choices, but everything that you put on your plate is fresh, home made and truly delicious.
The staff is just wonderful. Helpful and friendly.

What makes this hotel so outstanding? Just a lot of small details:

- Great view from room over the canal and bridges.
- Clever use of small space.
- Atmosphere is warm and friendly
- Staff is great
- Location might be away from the beaten path, but it is in our opinion a great bonus. Surrounding streets with lovely local cafes, restaurants, wine bars and shops
- Lovely complimentary breakfast in a room overlooking the street/canal
- Complimentary mini bar
- Ipad in every room

... to name a few. Add the feeling that you are staying at a very exclusive boutique hotel (very few rooms). We are looking forward to staying at Le Citizen again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

We stayed at this hotel because of the great reviews on this site and we were not disappointed! What everybody is saying is true. The staff are young and enthusiastic to please guests. Nothing was a problem. We stayed on the top floor in the Zen Suite and it was perfect for our 4 nights stay. The design of this hotel is smart, using every inch of space and light natural tones giving the feeling of comfort. Good quality toiletries, an ipad and a free mini bar were all pleasant bonuses. Also, free international phone calls to landlines was offered which we couldn't believe. Le Citizen Hotel would have to be one of, if not the best boutique hotel in Paris.

Room Tip: Zen suite is worth the money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

This tiny hotel on the canal St. Martin is staffed by some of the friendliest staff we have encountered anywhere in the world. Nothing was too much trouble, they booked us a restaurant that is almost impossible to gain a booking with (on only 3 days notice) and always greeted us with a smile. We had a room on the top floor and the only complaint was that the room was a little smelly (probably from the plumbing).
We will stay again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sophieberdah, Propriétaire at Le Citizen Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Even after our numerous comments on this site, we appreciate and take each and every one into consideraton. We of course love to hear that you found the service impeccable and this is a very important matter for us. It is unfortunate, though, that you had a 'plumbing' smell in the bathroom and will reinforce with the housekeeping team the treatment with essential oils that we regularly employ in all the pipes. Thanks again for your comment and the whole team wishes you a very happy new year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
97 hotel reviews
Reviews in 116 cities Reviews in 116 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

..this boutique hotel with its marvellous staff and trendy but practical style. We really enjoyed our stay with a great breakfast and enjoyable happy hour (ie free drinks!) every evening. The free mini bar was super as were the complimetary nibbles and good quality linen and toiletries in the rooms. We were superbly accommodated as a large family party - taking over nearly two floors! The web descriptions are fully accurate (bed and room size). We did not find the traffic noise a problem (we often do!) so maybe our 4th and 5th floor locations helped.

Room Tip: Note the accurate size descriptions on the web site, for a longer stay you may prefer the Zen rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Citizen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Citizen Hotel

Address: 96 Quai de Jemmapes, 75010 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Boutique Hotel with twelve rooms run by a team whose ultimate goal is that guests enjoy every moment of their visit. The building has been completely renovated from top to bottom, with aesthetic natural wood accents throughout. The quality of the accommodations includes top of the line beds, flat screen television with a vast choice of international channels, air conditioning, sound buffering and complimentary in-room services of WiFi, filtered water... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Le Citizen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Citizen Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.