We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love Le Citizen” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Citizen Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Le Citizen Hotel to your Saves list
Le Citizen Hotel
96 Quai de Jemmapes, 75010 Paris, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #13 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Rocky Mountains
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Love Le Citizen”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

The staff at Le Citizen have the knack of making you feel like you have arrived home to your family. Welcoming in a natural way, helpful but not invasive, present but not oppressive. Actually, that sounds better than family, doesn't it? Breakfast was of very high quality; natural juices and wine offered whenever we came back home... oops, I mean to the hotel; staying in the zen suite gave us plenty of room and comfortable, light-filled surroundings. One piece of advice: earplugs are a must, unless you are already accustomed to city traffic noise. I especially liked the color tones in our room, which were restful, but warm and inviting.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

613 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    481
    110
    17
    2
    3
See reviews for
104
355
40
49
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hollywood,Fl
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Le Citizen Hotel lived up to all the praise received on Tripadvisor. The surrounding neighborhood was interesting with many good restaurants. As noted in many posts, the rooms are tiny. However they have everything you need and comfortable beds. The breakfast was more than adequate. The staff, especially John (whom we had the most contact with) was exceptional. Several metro stops are near enough, but if you are a walker you can explore so much on foot. We had the hotel arrange a ride from CDG, which was very convenient. They also called a taxi to take us to the train station. Wifi worked well. Free mini bar and loaned Ipad were nice touches. Just don't expect the big informal large hotel experience. More like a B&B.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

I cannot say enough good things about Le Citizen - the room was exactly as advertised, very stylish, very comfortable. The staff was wonderful - everyone was very helpful (and spoke fluent English, much better than my Kentucky-accented attempt at French). My wife and I spent 2 days of a 4-day pass at Le Citizen in December 2012 during my deployment, the other two at the Hilton Park Lane in London; Le Citizen wins hands-down.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Refreshing and eye catching modern design with impeccable service. Would definitely stay here again. Didn't mind the very small rooms at all! Great breakfast and pretty easy access to the Metro station (I think it was about 4 blocks walk).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lemoore, CA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We stayed for four nights and absolutely loved this hotel! The rooms were pretty tiny but it was all part of the charm of this 12-room boutique hotel. The staff was absolutely fabulous and went above and beyond in helping us with our visit to Paris. Would stay here again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

If one can get by with the extra small rooms, it's a nice quiet area. The hotel includes use of iPad, made to order breakfast, happy hour for wine and snack. Snacks and drinks were replaced each day and all were complimentary (hey, I hope they were anyway!) The subway station was fairly close, so we used that to go to the main Paris attractions each day. Some nice restaurants were nearby and the front desk clerks were very helpful.
We understand there are larger rooms, but did not see one of them.

Room Tip: Ask for the bigger room if you have 2 people or more
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

We have just returned from a two night mini break to Paris, staying at Le Citizen.
We choose Le Citizen purely based on the excellent TripAdvisor reviews and were not disappointed.
The hotel is based in the Saint-Martin area of Paris, right on the canal and close to some fantastic restaurants and bars. If you are arriving by Eurostar into the Gare du Nord, then the hotel is just a couple of stops away on the Metro. Alternatively, you can walk (as we did) and it only takes around 15 minutes.
The location itself is just outside of central Paris and could be described as where ‘real people actually live’, as there are plenty of apartments in the neighbourhood where you see people coming and going. It is a little bit rough around the edges, i.e. a bit of graffiti, but nevertheless kind of trendy and genuinely a pleasant place to be staying in.
To get to the Eiffel Tower / Champs Elise / other Paris attractions etc., takes minutes on the Metro - ‘Republique’ being the most useful local station as it has the most lines crossing through.

The hotel itself is fantastic – the most important asset being the staff who look after you from the second that you arrive to the second you leave. Nothing was too much trouble- from making drinks on your arrival to booking meals in local restaurants and constantly checking you are enjoying your stay.
The rooms (there are only 12) are extremely modern with very comfortable beds, trendy bathrooms, loaded mini bars (included in the price), ample toiletries and an iPad that replaces the normal out of date information pack that you normally find in hotel rooms. We were in one of the smaller rooms, which was fairly compact – but had ample room for us for the weekend. Other larger rooms are available, but at additional cost.
The included continental breakfast was great – croissants, coffee, cakes, fresh orange juice, choice of cereals etc., again served by the extremely helpful staff.
We slept reasonably well although did get disturbed a few times during the night by a bit of street noise, just outside the hotel. However, this wasn’t too much of an issue and the hotel does include ear plugs, if it really bothers you!
We ate at Marie-Louise & Philou (both recommended to us by John at Le Citizen). The food was great (real French menus) and at a reasonable cost, although make sure you book to avoid disappointment.
I would recommend taking a walk along the canal, down to the Bastille and then down to the Seine. If you then take a right – you are shortly at Notre Dame (around a 50 minute walk from the hotel).
In summary – if you want to stay in a place that is just outside the normal touristy areas, see a bit of real Paris and stay in a trendy boutique hotel, then this could be the choice for you. I would definitely recommend staying at Le Citizen…

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Citizen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Citizen Hotel

Address: 96 Quai de Jemmapes, 75010 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Boutique Hotel with twelve rooms run by a team whose ultimate goal is that guests enjoy every moment of their visit. The building has been completely renovated from top to bottom, with aesthetic natural wood accents throughout. The quality of the accommodations includes top of the line beds, flat screen television with a vast choice of international channels, air conditioning, sound buffering and complimentary in-room services of WiFi, filtered water... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Le Citizen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Citizen Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.