We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint little hotel, very friendly.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Citizen Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Le Citizen Hotel to your Saves list
Le Citizen Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   96 Quai de Jemmapes, 75010 Paris, France (Canal Saint-Martin)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 1,791 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Quaint little hotel, very friendly.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Really enjoyed our stay at Le Citizen Hotel in Paris. Excellent value for money (195 Euros per night when we stayed inclusive of local taxes, continental breakast, use of i-pad and wifi in your room, mini-bar in the room (soft drinks & water) and telephone calls to landlines). Rooms were compact but clean and comfortable.

John on reception was a great guy really helpful and friendly.

The hotel is a 5-10 minute walk from the metro (go straight over the bridge over the canal, turn left off the bridge then right down the first street and the metro line is right at the end jon bon sergent I think). The metro is easy to use and we went all around from here (Eiffel Tower, Champs-Elysees, Latin Quarter, Bastille etc).

Thank you for a great stay!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

687 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    541
    121
    18
    3
    4
See reviews for
114
384
47
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

I spent three nights at le Citizen at the beginning of October in a standard "City Room" on the sixth floor. As so many others have pointed out, the views of the canal are great, the beds are extremely comfortable, the breakfasts both healthy and filling, and the front desk consistently positive and helpful (merci Laure, tu étais si charmante et patiente avec moi). I travelled solo this time but if I go back as a couple, I think I would spring for the larger Zen or City K or L suites. The standard room was quite snug. I didn't find noise to be an issue between 11 pm and 7 am but the street is busy at other times. Lots of good restaurants and bistros oin the area which mercifully seemed to have more Parisiens than tourists as clients. All in all, highly recommended.

Room Tip: My sixth (top) floor City Room had a great view and may have been a little quieter since it was furt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathurst, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

I stayed at this brilliant hotel on my first ever visit to Paris. The moment I set my first foot in the front door I was greeted with such warmth, care and professional hospitality it was as if I were staying with friends. The rooms are so comfortable, the breakfasts so delicious and the staff soooo helpful I would recommend Le Citizen to anyone! As a solo traveller the interactions you experience with hotel staff and other guests are very much a part of your overall experience of places you visit, and here it was as if we were one big extended family sharing our stories over an evening glass of complimentary wine and then continuing the conversation over the next day's complimentary breakfast. Add in the free use of the landline phone in your room to call home and I would suggest that this hotel was close to perfect. Thank you Laure, John, Patrick and Macky - my seven days with you all was wonderful. I hope to do it all again sometime in the future...

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012 via mobile

Had a fantastic few days there now. Yes it may not be right in the centre of town but its not far away and you really get to experience a bit of where the locals are... Its a very trendy area. Great little shops and restaurants all around too and the staff are all fantastic, so friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Brunswick, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

We stayed at this wonderful, small boutique hotel for five nights in October. We agree with the accolades in previous reviews.
The staff is welcoming, caring and helpful from the moment of arrival. The feeling is more like staying with friends than being in a hotel. Attention to detail is what really sets Le Citizen apart from other hotels in Paris. You will notice this with the stylish and fresh complimentary breakfasts and late afternoon/early evening wine and hors d’oeuvres to the goodies left in your room daily. John, Laure and everyone there are top shelf. You won’t regret your decision to choose this hotel. Lou & Michele.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

My husband and I just returned from a 6 night stay at Le Citizen Hotel. From the moment we arrived to the time we checked out staff could not be more friendly and helpful. The service was excellent. This boutique hotel with small but very cozy rooms, very comfortable beds and amazing rain shower. The location is perfect, great breakfast. We absolutely loved this place. It's 100% true what has been written on trip adviser.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Stayed at this Hotel in September 12 with mother who is 82 years old. After a very long trip from Aus, we arrived at 2200hrs and were welcomed like old friends by the night receptionist. Our room was all that could be wanted, two very comfortable beds, clean and functional bathroom and a great modern decor. The breakfast (included in the room rate) is one of the best "continental" offerings I have found - did I mention the freshly squeezed orange juice and pastry still warm from the bakery? Every one of the staff, reception, housekeeping, breakfast room went out of their way to make our stay our best experience in Paris, ever. Once again, the Tripadvisor reviews came up trumps!

Room Tip: City K rooms are spacious and good value
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Canal Saint-Martin
Le Robinet d'Or
Le Robinet d'Or
#28 of 1,791 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 522 reviews
Bastille / Oberkampf
Hotel Fabric
Hotel Fabric
#18 of 1,791 in Paris
5.0 of 5 stars 569 reviews
Hotel Residence Foch
#16 of 1,791 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 1,603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Helussi
#29 of 1,791 in Paris
5.0 of 5 stars 180 reviews
Tour Eiffel / Invalides
Hotel Signature St Germain des Pres
Opera / Bourse
Hotel Joke - Astotel
Hotel Joke - Astotel
#3 of 1,791 in Paris
5.0 of 5 stars 143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Citizen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Citizen Hotel

Address: 96 Quai de Jemmapes, 75010 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Canal Saint-Martin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 1,791 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Citizen Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Boutique Hotel with twelve rooms run by a team whose ultimate goal is that guests enjoy every moment of their visit. The building has been completely renovated from top to bottom, with aesthetic natural wood accents throughout. The quality of the accommodations includes top of the line beds, flat screen television with a vast choice of international channels, air conditioning, sound buffering and complimentary in-room services of WiFi, filtered water... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Le Citizen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Citizen Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.