We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great area!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Saint-Germain-des-Pres Quarter

Saint-Germain-des-Pres Quarter
Place St-Germain-des-Pres, 75006 Paris, France (Luxembourg)
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$58*
and up
Conversational French Language Class in Paris
Ranked #12 of 624 Attractions in Paris
Type: Architectural Buildings, Religious Sites, Neighborhoods, Other, Sights & Landmarks
Activities: Shopping
Attraction details
Sarasota, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great area!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

I was pleasantly surprised by how much I enjoyed this area. I stopped into Les 2 Magots Brasserie for a late afternoon glass of wine and people watch. Highly recommend it! Great shops, and fun restaurants.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,500 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,594
    751
    130
    22
    3
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
441 reviews 441 reviews
185 attraction reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
214 helpful votes 214 helpful votes
“A wonderful walk at any time of the day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

This area is a wonderful walk to experience everyday life in Paris. It´s true… it´s full of tourists like myself, but this is is real life in Paris. A walk during the day is nice and at night, with the city illuminated, is precious.

The area I´m talking about is the 5.o and 6.o arrondissements. There are plenty of department stores and alternative shops (the up scale shops are in other area), very good not expensive restaurants and brasseries (my favorites are: Brasserie Balzar, Petit Pontoise and Che Fernand restaurants), some boutique of just small and cosy hotels (try the hotel Des Grands Hommes or the La Sourbonne boutique hotel). I think that this area is what is considered the Latin neighborhood, "Quartier Latin". It has also the Luxembourg gardens, the university La Sorbone buildings, the Patheon, the Middle Age Museum, the Notre Dame church, to mention some of the interesting places to visit.

It´s my husband and my favorite area in Paris. We try a different hotel every time we visit in order to choose the best spots.

On Saturdays there is a small precious street market that sells vegetables, cheese, bread, foie gras and other foods, as well as incredible African masks. We never miss it when visiting the city.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Top Contributor
230 reviews 230 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“Love this area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

We love to go to this area every time we are in Paris. All of the famous designer shops along the Boulevard. Great place for people watching.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“The best place to be!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

This quartier in the 6º arrondissement is the place to be! With its countless cafés, brasseries, boulangeries/pâtisseries and boutiques, there are so many wonderful options. The ambiance is upbeat and fun. It is also close to so many historical buildings.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Quaint area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

I loved St Germain. So beautiful. There is lots of good shopping in both stores and on the street. There are lots of good restaurants around too. Definitely a place to go in Paris.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saint-Germain-des-Pres Quarter also viewed

 
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Saint-Germain-des-Pres Quarter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saint-Germain-des-Pres Quarter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.