We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deeply Disappointed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Belle Juliette

Save Saved
You added Hotel La Belle Juliette to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel La Belle Juliette
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   92 rue du Cherche Midi, 75006 Paris, France (Luxembourg)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #192 of 1,798 Hotels in Paris
Grandtully, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Deeply Disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Confused by the positive reviews of La Belle Juliette. This was our 6 th visit to Paris and we have never experienced such poor service and facilities. Despite asking for a bigger room which we had to pay for to get we still had a poorly lit and claustrophobic room which was inadequate for a 5 night stay. The common areas are beautifully decorated but soulless and the building works next door were intrusive, very noisy and at times it sounded as if the walls were about to come in. No notice was given of the building works and had we known we would never have stayed. Housekeeping was excellent with great attention detail.

Room Tip: Wait until building works are complete and anything less than a suite is inadequate for space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ebourquin, Directeur général at Hotel La Belle Juliette, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear customer,

We would like to thank you for your feedback about your stay, as every remark is important to us.

Actually we are quite surprised that you did not come to see us at the reception to talk about all of it during your stay with us. We couldn’t have suspected that you were disappointed about our hotel.

Concerning the rooms and the common areas, you actually have several pictures and descriptions on our website, in order to have a precise idea of the atmosphere, the equipment or the style of our different room categories. So we are sorry if you did not like the decoration and the layout of your room.

Regarding the building construction done by our neighbors, the Lazarist Monks, we actually did not know that they would work a few days during the holidays. That is the reason why we did not warn you about the potential noise. We had been told that nothing would happen during Christmas break, therefore we were taken unawares. This was, unfortunately, absolutely beyond our control. You should have told us that is was unbearable for you and we would have helped you to find another hotel for the end of your stay in Paris.

We are nevertheless most grateful to you for taking the time to write us those comments about your stay.

Best regards,

Eric BOURQUIN
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

443 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    297
    101
    28
    15
    2
See reviews for
43
276
19
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Great hotel. We had no problem getting there in a taxi from the Eurostar station and from the moment we arrived to the moment that we left I felt very welcomed by the staff. The room was delightfully decorated and was exactly what we wanted for our week in Paris.

We didn't eat at the hotel nor did we use the pool facilities so I cannot comment on those but I did have some drinks in the bar area and found it was a lovely place to relax in the evening. It isn't cheap and it doesn't feel cheap so if you are comfortable with the rates I would easily recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Beautifully decorated hotel and in a great location, however missing all those lovely and important details that I would expect from a Mr. & Mrs. Smith hotel. Also, at the moment next to a building site.. and also no double glazing so could hear the noise on the street.
We paid for a larger sized room which would have been a standard / small anywhere else, the toilet was also tiny. The front desk were very helpful and organized taxis etc. but the cleaner left a dirty cleaning cloth on the table in the room. Also we got bons bons instead of chocolates on the pillow and since we didn't take them they left this out altogether the next day. No bathrobes in the room even though the hotel is very proud of its spa facilities.. but free bottled water.

Room Tip: I'd pass on the hotel till the buildig works next door are over, otherwise make sure you request...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ebourquin, Directeur général at Hotel La Belle Juliette, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear guest,
We would like to thank you for taking the time to write a comment about your stay at La Belle Juliette.
Concerning the building work done by our neighbors , it is clearly mentioned on Mr & Mrs Smith website in order to avoid any surprise or disappointment upon arrival as it is really beyond our control. As far as our windows are concerned, we would like to notify you that all our rooms do actually have double glazing.
For the size of the rooms, it is clearly described on our website but also on all our reservation documents. That is why we are quite surprised to see that you found our rooms to small. Moreover, you should have told us that you did not have any bathrobes in you room, we would have directly solved the problem. Regarding the cleaning cloth forgotten in your room, we would like to apologize and we will ensure that this never happens anymore.

We are nevertheless delighted to learn that you appreciated the service provided by our staff, and the location of our boutique hotel.

Once again, we would like to thank you for this note as we always welcome feedback from customers.

Kindest regards,
Eric BOURQUIN
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Overall our experience was very positive and very pleasing with this hotel. My boyfriend i were on a romantic Christmas vacance in Paris, and found this hotel to be very conveniently located, very clean, spacious rooms, unique and charming decor, lovely spa, excellent front desk staff that were friendly and knowledgeable.

We booked a deluxe room and found the space to be ample, given that space is a premium in Paris:) Room 401; a bit noisy during the early morning hours from the garbage collectors and the renovation next door, but seeing as we were out of the room the entire day this did not bother us at all. View; you are overlooking the Cherche-Midi street, but truly not an issue.

Location; we found this hotel to be well located on Rue Cherche-Midi; walking distance to a selection of a few good restaurants and shops nearby, the Bon Marche is literally 5 min walk, and the closest metro stations would be St. Placide, Vaneau and Babylone. All these lines connect one to all the major monuments and areas such as St Michel, Marais, St Germain. We would primarily use St Placide as our metro stop and found this very convenient.
If you train in from CDG airport, which I highly advise, you should take the RER B from CDG airport to Denfert Rochereau and then switch to line 4 in the direction of Porte De Clignancourt and get off at St Placide. Literally 6 min easy walk to hotel from St Placide and will cost you a mere few euros compared to a taxi which will cost Euros 70.

Food; Carrefour grocery store around the corner from hotel is very convenient; we would purchase our daily breakfast items from here or from the dozen or so boulangeries nearby and was perfect. Also a Proxi convenience store on Rue Du Cherche midi should you need any food etc late at night. Lovely Italian wine shop approx 1 min walking from hotel.
Best creperie: at the St Michel metro stop was an amazing creperie. Authentic, cheap, and yummy. Once you get off the at the metro stop, walk a little inwards down the street called Rue St Andre Des Arts. Lots of cute restaurants, shopping etc down this street.
Also try KGB; kitchen gallerie bistro on rue des augustines; amazing food and wine selection and good value
Rue De Dragon; italian lane filled with great italian restaurants!!

Staff; Julie, David (who is from Toronto now living in Paris) and Dany were all super friendly, very knowledgeable and helpful. Great staff overall and really made our trip much more personable and enjoyable. Thank you:)

Value: i think Paris is a very pricey city, hence this hotel was a bit pricey, but given the location, the charming and fairly spacious rooms, the spa, we felt this price was adequate with what you received. A Nespresso machine in the room, daily bottles of complimentary water were a big bonus. We had some issues with the internet service on our television; was extremely slow and didnt work, but wasnt a big deal.

Room Tip: We booked a deluxe room and found the space to be ample, given that space is a premium in Paris:) R...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012 via mobile

From the moment you arrive you are made to feel special. Superbly helpful staff, not overly fussy but able make every little request seem so easy.

Decor is unique, probably not everyone's cup of tea but a refreshing change from unimaginative standard hotel style, again emphasising their attention to detail.

The rooms have personalised touches and IMAC facilities, not exactly a fantastic view out window but in the middle of winter hardly needed to be.

The basement Spa is a bonus extra but the pool is only a tiddly one for splashing around in, so don't pack your trunks thinking you'll be burning off the croissants In pool mileage.

Nearby, lots of trendy shops and cafes and only a short stroll to metro, montpanasse, Hardin see Luxembourg and Latin quarter.

Prices in keeping with the rest of Paris.

Overall, highly recommend for a couples' city break stay.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

Paris has a reputation for being expensive for mediocre hotels. This wasn't either. A good hotel but not especially cheap. Swimming pool was closed when we stayed there (the main reason we chose this place) and was miraculously opening precisely the day after we left.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ebourquin, Directeur général at Hotel La Belle Juliette, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Sir,

We would like to thank you for your comment.

Actually we would like to clarify that the pool was exceptionally unavailable for maintenance. It was compulsory and absolutely beyond our control.

Normally our guests have a free access to our spa from 9 am to 10 pm, for a relaxing moment of wellness. They can also, on demand, book unique and personalized treatments with our spa manager.

So we hope we’ll have the pleasure of welcoming you for you next stay in Paris !

Kindest regards,

Eric BOURQUIN
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

For the second time we spent two nights at La Belle Juliette! It is still amazing, the service is great, the rooms lovely although small, and spotlessly clean! The Location is wonderful ! We would go there again anytime!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel La Belle Juliette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Belle Juliette

Address: 92 rue du Cherche Midi, 75006 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Luxembourg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #192 of 1,798 Hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel La Belle Juliette 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Belle Juliette. The discreet luxury of a four-star hotel and the charm of an address that visitors and Parisians will give to their most demanding, cultured friends. In the pure Parisian tradition of Saint-Germain-des-Prés, the hotel is guided by a modern vision of romanticism and urban conviviality. Exceptional service with particular attention to hospitality, guests’ well-being, calm and tranquility… all in the heart of bustling Saint Germain. Corinne and Pascal Moncelli, the owners of the hotel, have decided to breathe new life into an establishment that had been left to abandon on the rue du Cherche-Midi by telling the story – or rather stories – of a famous historical personality. This star of her time lived in the 19th century, frequented all the intellectuals and politicians of the era, was blessed with exceptional beauty, had an extraordinary love life and – above all – excelled in the art of receiving. The popular literary salon that she organised from the tender age of 15 attracted the greatest minds of the time and continued until her death, age 72! It is Juliette Recamier – famously known as La Belle Juliette – who gives her name to this new hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, AvailPro, Priceline, Agoda, Venere, Tingo, MrandMrsSmith, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel La Belle Juliette reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La Belle Juliette, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.