We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect choice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Belle Juliette

Save Saved
You added Hotel La Belle Juliette to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel La Belle Juliette
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   92 rue du Cherche Midi, 75006 Paris, France (Luxembourg)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #121 of 1,794 hotels in Paris
Oslo, Norway
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“perfect choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I slept incredibly well at this hotel. Lovely bed and harmonious environment. Fantastic shower.
I've stayed at many hotels in Paris. This was the best,with its special style. Very delicate with the mix of old and new

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

425 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    293
    94
    23
    13
    2
See reviews for
40
266
18
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

We booked a room at the La Belle Juliet for three nights. When we arrived, we were told we had to take two rooms as the hotel was licensed to only house two guests per room.

We explained that our 5 year old daughter sleeps with us, and we did not need a separate bed for her. However, they were inflexible, saying they could get in trouble if they bent the law. So, as a compromise, they gave us a junior suite and a deluxe room. That though generated a dilemma - what to do with the extra room? It would defeat the purpose of us having a family holiday if we were separated at night, so we slept one night in the deluxe room, another in the junior suite.

For each night, the hotel bill came to 620 euros (for two rooms, the price of the junior suite was discounted to that of a deluxe room for us). To be fair, the hotel staff did offer to find us alternative accommodation when they first told us that they could only accommodate two per room, but as it was late when we checked in, we took the two rooms offered, partly also because a friend was flying into Paris the next day and had booked to stay at the La Belle Juliet as well. But by the second day, we had wisened up that this was a costly option, so my wife contacted the next hotel we were changing to in Paris to see if they could take us all (my family and the friend that had arrived) in a day earlier. They could and so we moved. However, we had to pay for a night for our friend's room as a penalty for checking out early, but overall, we still saved several hundred euros.

That said, for the two days we spent in the Saint Germane area, we found the La Belle Juliet well located, near nice boutiques, the Le Bon Marche upmarket mall and near many restaurants.

The rooms we took were also quite nice. The junior suite had the added advantage of having a little more space and a bathtub instead of a standing shower.

A standout feature is the hotel uses a Mac computer for TV as well as Internet connection in the rooms. I personally found this useful in doing some online photo uploading to a storage site I subscribe to.

One thing needs to be said about the staff of La Belle Juliette. They were always helpful and understanding of our predicament, though they could not bend the law to accommodate our needs.

We still don't understand why such an odd law applies to some hotels (we found a review for the W hotel in Paris in which a traveller detailed a similar situation) while others seems to have no issue with three per room. If not for the extra cost and inconvenience incurred of having to take two rooms, we would have given La Belle Juliet top ranking for its location, nicely appointed rooms and good service.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We arrived at the hotel on Saturday, before the check in time and we were showed straight up to the room, without any problem and the bonus of being upgraded to a Superior room. The staff on reception made us feel very welcome, taking our luggage straight away and showing us up to the room and talking us through everything we would need to know for our stay. The room itself was a good size and the decor tastefully and stylishly done. We couldn't fault it!! The use of the Mac and tv in the room was such a nice touch - being able to listen to our favourite radio station whilst relaxing was perfect!! We used he spa facilities, which we really enjoyed and wished we had the time to use more than once. The spa was a relaxing and inviting atmosphere and we couldn't get over how quiet it was - it felt like we were the only ones down there that day. On our last day, we had some drinks in the bar, which we really enjoyed as the lounge was beautifully set out and quiet too. The service was excellent for the duration of our stay - at the bar, for room service and also when we had any questions about sight seeing or special requests. We enjoyed breakfast in bed on our last morning, which was 25 euros per head. The only thing we felt could have been better was the size of the breakfast for the price. The portion of cereal and fruit was tiny and the coffee wasn't that hot either. Aside from this, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will definitely be back. It was our first romantic break away and the hotel staff could not have done anything more for us. We highly recommend this place, if you're looking for a quiet, small, boutique hotel in a pretty part of the city then this is perfect. Thanks for making us feel so welcome! Jennifer and Ben X

Room Tip: Go for the superior room if you can afford it
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We stayed for a week and Loved It! Very helpful English speaking staff helped with restaurant reservations and taxis, and the small bar was very friendly and fun. Very good location on a quiet street yet only a few blocks from wonderful shopping and Metro stops. Our room was elegantly decorated and we loved the big bath tub....very romantic.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a bathtub .....a bubble bath is wonderful after shopping all day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We stayed here for our Paris mini-moon and were thrilled with our choice. The hotel and its decor were fabulous and the attention to detail in the design was fantastic. The location was perfect for us as there was plenty in the immediate vacinity and it was just a short stroll to St Germain. The bar/restaurant in the hotel itself was great and the service from the staff was faultless. Everyone was extremely friendly and helpful and nothing was too much trouble. We had some great recommendations for places to go for dinner. The spa was also an added bonus and the steam room in particular was wondeful after a long day walking around Paris. I would definitely go back to the hotel if visiting again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

This is a quaint little gem worthy of your travel dollars. It's a bit off the beaten track, closer to Montparnesse as opposed to St. Germain, however that's not a big deal as the area has many restaurants and bars that are traveler friendly and reasonably priced. The rooms are larger than neighboring sites, a good choice for the area.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

I recently stayed in this hotel twice and loved it! It is on a quiet residential street full of shops and restaurants with Parisian characteristics. It was great fun to go to the market on Raspail, where you can find all sorts of foods, such as cheeses, pastries, meats and seafoods. The street (rue du Cherche Midi) where the hotel is located has lots of unique stores and nice restaurants. Staying in the hotel makes me feel as if I lived in Paris . The hotel was redesigned and renovated completely in 2008, and I love the stylish deco of the rooms and the common areas. The service was first rate. When I arrived in the morning around 9am, my room was not ready. Rather than sitting in the lobby waiting for the room to become available, I was brought to the spa in the basement where I showered and freshened up in a nice, big bathroom undisturbed. This nice touch really made a difference after an over night flight. The staff were very helpful and the Italian restaurant they recommend just a few steps down the street was very good. I want to try more restaurants, and there is even a Sushi place across the street. In summary, the hotel provides a very comfortable and convenient base for sightseeing, shopping and feel how Parisians live. The room is well equipped and has everything you would need, and comes with a stylish Mac display, which serves as a TV. The bathroom and the shower are very comfortable. From the hotel it is an easy walk to Luxembourg park, Luxembourg museum, and other tourists attractions, such as St Sulpice. There are many nice shops in the area, from well known designer stores, such as Prada, Etro, Ferragamo, to local often funky shops. I chose this hotel because Hotel Luxembourg Parc was not available, I was pleasantly surprised and will definitely plan to come back

Room Tip: Right now, because of the construction, ask for a room in the wing farther away form the building th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel La Belle Juliette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Belle Juliette

Address: 92 rue du Cherche Midi, 75006 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Luxembourg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #121 of 1,794 hotels in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel La Belle Juliette 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Belle Juliette. The discreet luxury of a four-star hotel and the charm of an address that visitors and Parisians will give to their most demanding, cultured friends. In the pure Parisian tradition of Saint-Germain-des-Prés, the hotel is guided by a modern vision of romanticism and urban conviviality. Exceptional service with particular attention to hospitality, guests’ well-being, calm and tranquility… all in the heart of bustling Saint Germain. Corinne and Pascal Moncelli, the owners of the hotel, have decided to breathe new life into an establishment that had been left to abandon on the rue du Cherche-Midi by telling the story – or rather stories – of a famous historical personality. This star of her time lived in the 19th century, frequented all the intellectuals and politicians of the era, was blessed with exceptional beauty, had an extraordinary love life and – above all – excelled in the art of receiving. The popular literary salon that she organised from the tender age of 15 attracted the greatest minds of the time and continued until her death, age 72! It is Juliette Recamier – famously known as La Belle Juliette – who gives her name to this new hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Splendia, Cheap Tickets, AvailPro, Tingo, MrandMrsSmith, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel La Belle Juliette reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La Belle Juliette, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.