We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I dare you to find a better use of an audio tour.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Musee de la Musique

Musee de la Musique
In the Cite de la Musique | 221 av. Jean-Jaures, 19e, Paris, France (La Villette)
01-44-84-44-84
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Musee de la Musique like an insider
Top Rated
$133*
and up
Paris Pass
Ranked #87 of 1,131 things to do in Paris
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This museum has nearly 1,000 different instruments on display, complete with audio commentary.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“I dare you to find a better use of an audio tour.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

The first saxophones created Adolph Sax, and aboriginal instrument created by termites, and a rare live performance of a Crystal Bachet. Every instrument comes alive in the audio tour provided by the museum. You can also buy a CD of the entire museum in English. This is my all time favorite museum. I believe that I've seen examples of instruments in the museum in the The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug (2013). See if you can pick it out.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    40
    7
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Most friendly museum to non-French visitors”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014 via mobile

With a rich collection of exhibits and excellent curation, this is one of the most impressive visits in my 7-day trip in Paris. The free English audio guide together with video descriptions of various instruments and artists are very attractive to both me and my 10 years-old son. It's not crowded and live performances are free for visitors. Highly recommended to families! Don't miss the big park nearby!

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
541 reviews 541 reviews
274 attraction reviews
Reviews in 115 cities Reviews in 115 cities
301 helpful votes 301 helpful votes
“Very good option for music lovers or those who are looking for something different”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

This is not one of the key attractions in Paris, but still a very good one. The museum is very well presented. There are a variety of musical instruments (three floors) presented in chronological order. The audio guide allows you to hear what the instruments sound like. If you do not read french, then the audio guide is very important to have so you have some explanation of what you are seeing.

Unless you have an interest in music history, I would not recommend this for a first time visit to Paris as there are other attractions more unique to Paris. Nevertheless, it is a good option if you have been to Paris multiple times and are looking for something new to see. It is also a good indoor activity to get away from the crowds.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Uncrowded Museum”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

We loved this museum. It was well organized and the artwork that accompanied some of the displays was a nice addition. The audio guide is a must even for French speakers because you can listen to beautiful samples of the instruments as you walk along and learn about them.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great alternative to traditional tourist attractions”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

When I asked a French friend of mine what we should see while we were in Paris, he told me about the Musée de la Musique. We only spent a little over an hour but had a wonderful visit away from the crowds. If you have any interest in music or music instruments this is a must see.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Musee de la Musique also viewed

 

Been to Musee de la Musique? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Musee de la Musique, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.