We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chocoparidise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Maison du Chocolat

La Maison du Chocolat
225 Faubourg de St. Honore, Paris, France (Champs-Élysées)
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #56 of 426 Shopping in Paris
Type: Specialty Shops, Shopping
Activities: Dining
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Visit the original chocolate shop of Robert Linxe, whose popular chocolate stores have spread throughout the United States.
São Paulo
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Chocoparidise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013 via mobile

Such a terrific macarrons there, at Orly Airport.

The hot chocolate (chocolate chaud) was not so hot at Maison near Champs Elisees Av.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    26
    6
    3
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Constanta, Romania
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Shouldn't miss this in Paris!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

This place remains one of the best chocolate shop you'll ever try. Everything is sensational, from dark chocolate pralines, to coffee eclairs and raspberry macarons! If you're gourmand as I am, if you love quality chocolate, you shouldn't miss this place. What is very nice too is the way they pack everything!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Top Contributor
267 reviews 267 reviews
198 attraction reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
181 helpful votes 181 helpful votes
“The best chocolate éclair ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

We spotted this store while exploring the neighborhood near the Hôtel Sofitel Arc de Triomphe. My mother and I couldn't stop staring at the pastries in the window display. They looked so good, but we didn't have time to stop. We ended up going back the next day. It turned out to be one of the most memorable visits of our trip together. After a very difficult decision, we decided to have the chocolate éclair with a cup of coffee. It was (and still is) the best éclair I've ever had. The smooth and creamy milk chocolate filling paired well with the dark chocolate glaze on top of the pastry. The sips of coffee in between bites of the éclair totally enhanced the whole chocolate experience for us.

The only negative at the time of our visit (May 2011) was the seating. There was a small high-top counter near the window for dining. The high stool was difficult for someone over 80 years old to maneuver. A lovely employee assisted me in boosting her up to the chair. For that alone, they get 5 stars. I couldn't have done that on my own. My only regret is that I didn't get to sample any of the chocolate candy. We'll be sure to buy a box on our next trip to Paris.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
57 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“choccy heaven”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

there are some awesome chocolate sculptures here and some of them look too good to really be chocolate, the sculptors are very skilful.
even the small macaroons etc are very expensive.
well worth a visit

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Try the chocolate éclair!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

This is a high end chocolate shop made for serious chocolate lovers. We tried the chocolate éclair which was lovely. We could tell that it had been made fresh and it was not too sweet – filled with a chocolate cream. The chocolate mousse was nice too, a little richer than the éclair.

If you want to avoid the crowds, visit the smaller store on 19 rue de Sevres instead of the flagship store.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Maison du Chocolat also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to La Maison du Chocolat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Maison du Chocolat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.