We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Le Cordon Bleu--Making Your Own Bread workshop” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Cordon Bleu Academie d'Art Culinaire

Le Cordon Bleu Academie d'Art Culinaire
8 rue Leon Delhomme, 75015 Paris, France (Montparnasse)
33 (0)1 53 68 22 50
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #97 of 635 Attractions in Paris
Type: Educational Sites, Cultural
Activities: Leisure education
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This famous cooking school, established over 100 years ago, has a growing international reputation.
Kaiserslautern, Germany
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Le Cordon Bleu--Making Your Own Bread workshop”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Baking yeast breads has been my passion for years and attending a Cordon Bleu workshop was a dream come true: educational, entertaining, and fun. Chef Jean-Jacques Tranchant is a true master of his trade. The 10 participants represented 5 countries. Now I want to come back for another class. I highly recommend the experience!

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    85
    16
    7
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Well worth it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

I had finally convinced my husband to sign up for the "Freshly Baked Pastries" course as an anniversary present for ourselves, the price tag was quite heavy, but I knew it'd be worth it. Was it? YES!

For € 180.00 you get the following:

• Le Cordon Bleu tea towel
• Le Cordon Bleu apron
• Le Cordon pen & paper
• Full use of their kitchen & tools
• Welcome drinks
• Cold lunch buffet
• Translator
• Assistance from students in training
• Pre-prepared dough
• Recipes
• Diploma
• All your baked goods from the class, and a few extras from the Chef [Which fed me & my husband, the staff at our hotel, our taxi driver & his family, & a young family we met at the train station.]

I couldn't believe it. Not to mention the sheer awe of how many celebrities, political leaders, & various philanthropists shown in photographs on the wall who had all once visited the school.

Chef Daniel was amazing. Everything I could hope for in a French chef. With approximately 50 years of baking under his belt, he not only made the environment friendly, but he made sure to be very helpful. My husband and I loved the course. I'm already working on trying to convince him to let me take "The Secrets of Macaroons" course. Sigh. I already loved Paris, but to be taught by a Parisian baker made this city even more charming!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“It was surprising for such a big name”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

I took a class about one year ago at Cordon Bleu; one of the menu items was a "tatin de tomates". I was privileged to take the class in a context which made me share with a world class chef (Diane Tremblay). She told the instructor that his instructions did not fit with her understanding of what a "tatin" should be (named after the eponymous sisters of course). And so she suggested: I do it my way, you do it your way, and we taste the difference. Oh boy; what a difference. She followed the classic approach (which includes a syrup and baking with dough on top); they did not. She did a proper Pesto with it - they did not. Overall they cut a lot of corners, and the result "looked good". But hers really tasted good - and looked good too ... So, I am not sure I would recommend taking a class at Cordon Bleu based on what I saw that day.

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Thank you Trip Advisor!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

I wouldn't have known these classes existed without Trip Advisor. I went with a co-worker after we were done with business stuff for the day. It's an easy walk from the metro station (although in a very quiet neighborhood, so print a good map).

We attended a 2-hour Chef's Secrets demonstration on October 24th (Chocolate and caramelized pear tart, Truffle ice cream, and Passion fruit marshmallow). The chef and the translator were wonderful. It was also interesting to see the chef interact with the student assistants (all business, a reminder this is still a serious culinary school). You receive a packet with the ingredients for each recipe and then write down the instructions as you watch the chef. It's a little hurried in parts but both chef and translator were always happy to circle back and answer questions about what had been done. As others have said, during the Chef's Secrets courses you don't do any cooking yourself, just watching. It's a great set up in a real classroom though so you won't miss a thing (the front station is designed for teaching and there are multiple monitors around the room). Then, at the end, you get to taste! It was a wonderful evening activity in Paris and I would love to take more courses.

The staff were nice enough to keep the gift shop open after the course if you want to buy aprons or other culinary goodies.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Cooking School”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We went to two cooking demonstrations. The chef was entertaining, staff was accommodating, menus interesting- overall good time. We were the only visitors, everyone else was a long-term student. Everything is translated into english.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Cordon Bleu Academie d'Art Culinaire also viewed

 

Been to Le Cordon Bleu Academie d'Art Culinaire? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Cordon Bleu Academie d'Art Culinaire, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.