We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Solemn, free, beauty” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sacred Heart Basilica of Montmartre (Sacre-Coeur)

Sacred Heart Basilica of Montmartre (Sacre-Coeur)
35, Rue du Chevalier-De-La-Barre - Montmartre, 75018 Paris, France (Montmartre)
+33 1 53 41 89 00
Website
Improve this listing
Visit like an insider
Private Tour
$470*
and up
Private Tour: Montmartre Walking Tour, Dinner and...
Ranked #24 of 1,123 things to do in Paris
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Watching sunrise/sunset
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: This Montmartre landmark, a 19th-century basilica built by the French government following the Franco-Prussian War, features a large medieval dome that provides excellent views of the city.
Hudson, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
471 reviews 471 reviews
106 attraction reviews
Reviews in 127 cities Reviews in 127 cities
177 helpful votes 177 helpful votes
“Solemn, free, beauty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

Just a delightful track up Monmarte (or take the funicular) and have your breath taken by its simple grandeur and the view (or simply forum climbing up the hill...). Go early in the am, before the crowds.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,856 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,666
    2,345
    530
    185
    130
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great Area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

This part of Paris had a fantastic ambience. The building itself was beautiful and the views from it were equally so. There were a lot of people approaching us trying to sell their wares which sometimes became annoying. The square close by also had a great ambience with artists selling their paintings and others giving caricatures. There are plenty of cafes around this area to choose from.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumaguete City, Philippines
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
49 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

I felt privileged to be able to visit the Sacred Heart Basilica. There is perpetual adoration of the Blessed Sacrament since 1885 and you can feel the holiness of the place. Cameras and video cams are not allowed inside so you can take all your souvenir shots outside the Basilica. in front is a stunning view of Paris. On a beautiful day, you can sit and relax outside for a long time.

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A spiritual vista - outside and in!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Overlooking the city of Paris, this Basilica is hard to get to but well worth the effort. You can see the whole of Parish from here and on a clear day this vista is certainly a site to behold! And then there is the Basilica itself. I have visited many "holy" places in my time and sadly many of them are overly commercialised. Not the case here. The silence requested upon entry is well warranted for this is a most Holy place. The artwork throughout and especially on the ceiling above the sanctuary is deeply moving. It's a must-see as far as I am concerned!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tahoe City, California
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
63 attraction reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
154 helpful votes 154 helpful votes
“A bit Touristy but has Wonderful View”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

My wife and I ended up at Sacre-Coeur on a path likely different than most. We had read about a street market in the 18th arrondisement. We took the metro out to the stop called "Chateau Rouge". Near the stop is Rue Dejean. Some would call it an North African market with spices, fabrics, jewelry, etc. After a walk thru this area we were able to walk to Sacre Coeur in about 20 min. The walk tested our legs but it was a nice day to walk.

Since we came from the east, we avoided the crowds, vendors, and shops that are between those who get off at Metro Stop Anvers and then walk up to the Basilica along Rue de Steinkerque.

I've read that Sacre Coeur is the third most visited sight for tourists in Paris. Based upon the crowd we say, I won't argue. If you've got a problem with crowds when visiting Paris, you're visiting the wrong city. Part of the fun is mixing with everyone on the Basilica steps. While resting tired feet, we took photos, helped others by offering to take photos of them with their cameras, and asking others to return the favor. It's interesting to chat with your fellow travelers.

The Basilica is awesome, certainly worth a walk thru. I'm always impressed with such huge structures and all that they hold inside.

After concluding our visit, we decided to walk west to Place Tertre to see the collection of artists at work or selling their wares. Place Tertre is also a great place to get a reasonably priced and tasty sit-down lunch. And then you also get to walk the streets to shop and window shop. You can take a circuitous route that ends up taking you back to the streets below the Basilica. There's lot of shopping to be had along Rue de Steinkerque. And there's more surrounding the Anvers Metro stop that should interest everyone.

Our visit to Sacre Coeur ended up being one of the best afternoons we spent in a week-long stay in Paris.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sacred Heart Basilica of Montmartre (Sacre-Coeur) also viewed

 
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Sacred Heart Basilica of Montmartre (Sacre-Coeur)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sacred Heart Basilica of Montmartre (Sacre-Coeur), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.