We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de Vendome

Save Saved
You added Hotel de Vendome to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel de Vendome
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Place Vendome, 75001 Paris, France (Louvre / Place Vendôme)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #267 of 1,795 hotels in Paris
Valletta, Malta
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Central Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

The Hotel de Vendome is not cheap, but it is well located just off the Place Vendome. It only has a relatively small number of rooms which are well-appointed and of a decent size. The bathrooms are a little small given the price of the room.

Breakfast in bed is excellent! A good place for a romantic long week-end.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    144
    60
    17
    8
    4
See reviews for
28
132
13
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Evergreen, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

My husband and I spent our last two days in Paris at the Hotel de Vendome. After checking in, we now wish we had reserved more time for this lovely jewel of a hotel! We were warmly received by reception, and when we were escorted up to our room, were pleasantly surprised to find out that they had upgraded us to a suite! The suite was the most beautiful one we had ever been in, full of antique furniture, beautiful paintings, and they had even taken the liberty of tastefully sprinkling rose petals on the bedroom furniture as well as the main bath as we were there celebrating our wedding anniversary. While we did not have the chance to eat in the main restaurant, we did have drinks there (some of the best I've ever had) and later ordered from room service which was prompt and the food excellent. We will definitely be planning on coming back for a much longer stay!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

HDV is old-school in a good way; a little fussy and formal, clubby and classy. I like that it is small. The restaurant is one of the most attractive spaces in any hotel anywhere-just divine. Those houndstooth chairs are gorgeous. The staff there and at the front desk are very professional and courteous. The elevator was not functioning during my stay. I didn't mind. I loved the exercise. But I do think that perhaps a small compensation would be in order-a free cocktail or minibar selection maybe. Good location.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrington, Illinois
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We had an excellent stay at this lovely hotel on Place Vendome. We arrived tired from our flight and were pleased to learn that our room was ready and upgraded! This won't happen to everyone every time, but it does show that they do try to make their guests stay as pleasant as possible if they can--and our room was comfortable and beautifully decorated besides. Staff was friendly and helpful when we asked for recommendations or directions. Youlia was especially accommodating and placed a phone call for a successful reservation at Le Souffle! The hotel is small, which is a plus as we didn't need a large, busy lobby and numerous noisy guests milling around. The location is absolutely perfect for walking to many noteworthy landmarks and also has a taxi station and metra stop close by. We Americans definitely do not understand the expensive breakfasts these upscale hotels charge. In this case we opted out of the full meal deal and enjoyed a perfect omlette and coffee that was less costly than the Cafe across the street! We did not eat at their charming restaurant for dinner, but understand it has received many good reviews. Our only criticism is that our bell hop should have explained the room amenities better when he delivered the luggage--i.e. the drapes close electronically and we never knew we had a minibar!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

This was an excellent hotel. Found the location ideal in walking distance to the metro and all sites. Beautifully decorated rooms and the staff friendly, polite and more than helpful. Restaurant was also beautifully appointed and the breakfast menu and staff wonderful. Would definitely stay again next time in Paris.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maui
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Historic, with old world charm yet all the modern luxuries you would expect at a 5 star. 18 rooms allows for a quiet and intimate lobby and public spaces - no large tour groups here. Staff was very helpful and assisted with making a few phone calls for me to confirm some dinner plans I had made prior to arrival. Only negative was the cost of the buffet breakfast and wifi service. There are many local bakeries nearby that we walked to for morning coffee and fruit. Booked thru Hotels.com and when prepaid received a good discount, so shop around for prices here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chagrin Falls, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We visit Paris every January and stay at Hotel De Vendome every time. It's only because the location is perfect for us. However, at the end of every trip we realize we are paying top dollar to have the rude man that works at the front desk talk down to us. He really is a bitter man. He is always on the phone with a wife or girlfriend and makes the guests wait until he's done talking. The rooms are lovely and very comfortable. I do believe once the ritz reopens we will begin staying there.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel de Vendome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Vendome

Address: 1 Place Vendome, 75001 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Louvre / Place Vendôme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#136 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#200 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#403 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel de Vendome 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1723 by Pierre Perrin, the Sun King's secretary, this elegant building was in turn a private residence and a seat of government, then in 1842 the embassy of the young Republic of Texas whose independence France was the first to recognise. The square is named from the fact that n°1 was the site of the former Vendome family residence. Three centuries of art, culture and elegance make it a unique address in Paris. Today the place Vendome is the temple of Parisian jewellery, and gives onto Paris's most brilliant quartier, with its haute couture, antique dealers, art galleries, the Opera and the Louvre museum. The Hotel de Vendome is thus a unique jewel, on a par with all the precious stones in the vicinity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Venere, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Hotel de Vendome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vendome Hotel
De Vendome Paris
Hotel Vendome Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel de Vendome, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.