We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chic location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de Vendome

Save Saved
You added Hotel de Vendome to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel de Vendome
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Place Vendome, 75001 Paris, France (Louvre / Place Vendôme)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #268 of 1,795 hotels in Paris
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Chic location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The hotel is located in a historic building right next to Place Vendome, an underappreciated fact. The decor is aged, but with antique details of good quality as is appropriate for such a hotel with a rich background. The bathrooms feel luxurious. Reception is friendly and helpful. Can't say anything about breakfast or the restaurant, since we didn't try it there, but we saw their high-tea treat trays and they look outstanding.

Great for a short romantic getaway in the heart of Paris.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    148
    62
    17
    9
    4
See reviews for
28
132
13
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Stayed from 27th to 30th August. When we got to our room we were instantly underwhelmed by the lack of shine quality of the room. The bathroom floor had stains on it, minor I know. The air-con knob fell off the moment it was touched. The room was tired, no tea making facility, no iron etc. The air-con wasn't working properly throughout the stay, and was never sorted. However 'Ines', the tall receptionist was amazing. She was the only reason we didn't check straight out on the first night. The breakfast was included in the price, but not up to par for 5 star service in the slightest, although the staff were extremely sweet and a joy to be around. The food was of limited choice. All in all quite a let down for £400 a night. I don't recommend this hotel, but the staff are certainly propping the place up!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North New Jersey, United States
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

This hotel was recommended by a friend and I have to say it was a nice location, but the hotel itself lacked any amenities you would normally find in a hotel at this rate. The Westin was near by and it seemed to be busier and more suited for families and business travelers.

The room was nice and all in room amenities were very good, but at almost $500 USD a night it just wasn't worth it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, England
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed for 2 nights over Bastille weekend and had a wonderful time. The hotel is a delight. Friendly staff, beautiful room, slightly small bathroom but well equipped and perfectly adequate. The hotel is wonderfully situated and you are right in the centre of everything. Top tip though - don't get a private taxi from the station either wait in the queue or get the metro TWO stops. They tried to charge us 100 euros and we were still gullible enough to pay 60 euros not realising how close we were!

The only slight disappointment was the hotel restaurant which although aesthetically lovely was empty and the food was average but very pricey. Give it a miss. There are a plethora of great restaurants on the doorstep with better food at reasonable prices.

We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

My husband and I based ourselves here for a week's stay in Paris. This is a gorgeous boutique hotel with a romantic feel. The location is convenient for sightseeing and shopping. Our room was charming and comfortable with beautiful drapes and furnishings and a lovely bathroom. Breakfast every morning in the elegant and restaurant was a wonderful experience. The staff in the restaurant were friendly and helpful and the food was delicious. The hotel is a stylish and private retreat, close to all the hustle and bustle outside but peaceful and welcoming to come home to each day. The only downside was that the front desk staff seemed a little busy and preoccupied at times. No gym or health club but all in all good value for money in this part of Paris.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This is a very chic, smaller hotel in central Paris. The rooms are spacious and beautifully updated, while still maintaining the feel of a romantic Paris. You wont feel like you could be in a Ritz-Carlton anywhere. The plusses: great location for high end shopping; beautiful rooms and baths.Negatives: pricey, although reasonable for its location and quality; minimal public space: no real lobby per se.

Room Tip: We had room 207: large, bright. Couldn't ask for more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This is a smaller 5* hotel, but it's very charming and offers everything you need in Paris: stylish luxury, very friendly and helpfull staff, large and quiet airconditioned rooms. (don't look for a spa of fitness, but than again, who needs this in Paris??). Perfectly located in the centre of Paris with all the boutiques and fine restaurants within reach. We found the hotel well maintained and very clean. We would certainly recommend this hotel for a romantic city trip. Breakfast is served at the table, and they have wonderfull Belotta ham as an extra!

Room Tip: we had a room on the fifth floor: spacious and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel de Vendome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Vendome

Address: 1 Place Vendome, 75001 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Louvre / Place Vendôme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#135 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#199 Romantic Hotel in Paris
#401 Family Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel de Vendome 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1723 by Pierre Perrin, the Sun King's secretary, this elegant building was in turn a private residence and a seat of government, then in 1842 the embassy of the young Republic of Texas whose independence France was the first to recognise. The square is named from the fact that n°1 was the site of the former Vendome family residence. Three centuries of art, culture and elegance make it a unique address in Paris. Today the place Vendome is the temple of Parisian jewellery, and gives onto Paris's most brilliant quartier, with its haute couture, antique dealers, art galleries, the Opera and the Louvre museum. The Hotel de Vendome is thus a unique jewel, on a par with all the precious stones in the vicinity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Venere, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Otel so you can book your Hotel de Vendome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vendome Hotel
De Vendome Paris
Hotel Vendome Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel de Vendome, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.