We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Central Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de Vendome

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel de Vendome to your Saves list
Hotel de Vendome
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Place Vendome, 75001 Paris, France (Louvre / Place Vendôme)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #352 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Surrey, England
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Lovely Central Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed for 2 nights over Bastille weekend and had a wonderful time. The hotel is a delight. Friendly staff, beautiful room, slightly small bathroom but well equipped and perfectly adequate. The hotel is wonderfully situated and you are right in the centre of everything. Top tip though - don't get a private taxi from the station either wait in the queue or get the metro TWO stops. They tried to charge us 100 euros and we were still gullible enough to pay 60 euros not realising how close we were!

The only slight disappointment was the hotel restaurant which although aesthetically lovely was empty and the food was average but very pricey. Give it a miss. There are a plethora of great restaurants on the doorstep with better food at reasonable prices.

We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    66
    21
    10
    4
See reviews for
34
143
15
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

My husband and I based ourselves here for a week's stay in Paris. This is a gorgeous boutique hotel with a romantic feel. The location is convenient for sightseeing and shopping. Our room was charming and comfortable with beautiful drapes and furnishings and a lovely bathroom. Breakfast every morning in the elegant and restaurant was a wonderful experience. The staff in the restaurant were friendly and helpful and the food was delicious. The hotel is a stylish and private retreat, close to all the hustle and bustle outside but peaceful and welcoming to come home to each day. The only downside was that the front desk staff seemed a little busy and preoccupied at times. No gym or health club but all in all good value for money in this part of Paris.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This is a very chic, smaller hotel in central Paris. The rooms are spacious and beautifully updated, while still maintaining the feel of a romantic Paris. You wont feel like you could be in a Ritz-Carlton anywhere. The plusses: great location for high end shopping; beautiful rooms and baths.Negatives: pricey, although reasonable for its location and quality; minimal public space: no real lobby per se.

Room Tip: We had room 207: large, bright. Couldn't ask for more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This is a smaller 5* hotel, but it's very charming and offers everything you need in Paris: stylish luxury, very friendly and helpfull staff, large and quiet airconditioned rooms. (don't look for a spa of fitness, but than again, who needs this in Paris??). Perfectly located in the centre of Paris with all the boutiques and fine restaurants within reach. We found the hotel well maintained and very clean. We would certainly recommend this hotel for a romantic city trip. Breakfast is served at the table, and they have wonderfull Belotta ham as an extra!

Room Tip: we had a room on the fifth floor: spacious and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomsburg PA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

I finished my Paris experience by spending the last 3 nights at Hotel de V after being at the Hotel Britannique for the previous 7 nights so my assessment is based upon the experience I had at a reasonably priced lovely small boutique hotel like Hotel B - I wanted to experience a more prestigious address and area before leaving Paris. What struck me (and keep in mind at both places I got the 'typical' standard single) is that Hotel V's room was most definitely larger, more elegant, and with a more classic tasteful Parisian feel (both places, btw. had extremely comfortable beds!). This room was in the 'back' of the hotel so it overlooked an odd inner court but was quite peaceful and quiet. The lobby is beautiful, the old elevator a wonderful trip to the Art Deco-ish era, and the staff were very helpful. Keep in mind I did not make any special requests so I can not say how they would react to any special needs. I did order room service one night (too dang exhausted) and I'll be danged that the cheeseburger and fries (don't ask I had a hankering) was absolutely great - and so were the breakfasts, but very pricey. I did find, interestingly, that I missed the neighborhood feel of Hotel B's region - I was surrounded by enormous wealth and although it was a bit fun to pretend to be super rich for a bit I must admit I found the people and region sad and artificial more than anything - I must say that I preferred the fun vibes of the Hotel B's area. BUT if you want the feel of a scaled-down version of the Ritz, in the very same square, and have close access to incredible shopping, the gardens, museums, but not spend a fortune this would be the place. One thing to watch for - taking a shower can be very dangerous! The tub is slippery and the shower device irksome (and the water gets all over the floor) - I actually fell in the tub and got banged up pretty good - the tub is huge so you have to step up way high and over to get in...if you are elderly or physically limited you may need to request a different arrangement (although the marble bathroom was huge and beautiful!).

Room Tip: The smaller rooms in the back are extremely quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
2 reviews
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

The staff is super nice, but this hotel is not pulling 5 stars and doesn't worth the money I paid for it. It's small, outdated, and has no facilities. The cleaning is bad-what you got on the floor will stay on the floor for weeks, but somebody's hair regularly appears everywhere. Tips don't help. The restaurant is slow and the extremely pricy food tastes just to the level not to be poisoned. Tea costs 7 euro and they will bring you warm water and a tea bag. Basic requests can't be satisfied. I know places in Paris at the same location that are cheaper and million times better than this one. Don't recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

My daughter and I stayed at this hotel May 30 to June 2, 2013, it was lovely. Our room was clean and comfortable. The staff was very helpful and accommodated us with all of our requests. Breakfast was wonderful, and we had a lovely server named Daniele, she made sure we were happy with everything and she was prompt and very cheerful. We had drinks at the bar, BEST bloody Mary, I ever had. It was a wonderful trip and the hotel was within walking distance of everywhere we wanted to go. I loved that it was a small and intimate hotel with very helpful staff. Would recommend it and would love to stay there again. Virginia Prouse

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel de Vendome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Vendome

Address: 1 Place Vendome, 75001 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Louvre / Place Vendôme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#181 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#189 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel de Vendome 5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1723 by Pierre Perrin, the Sun King's secretary, this elegant building was in turn a private residence and a seat of government, then in 1842 the embassy of the young Republic of Texas whose independence France was the first to recognise. The square is named from the fact that n°1 was the site of the former Vendome family residence. Three centuries of art, culture and elegance make it a unique address in Paris. Today the place Vendome is the temple of Parisian jewellery, and gives onto Paris's most brilliant quartier, with its haute couture, antique dealers, art galleries, the Opera and the Louvre museum. The Hotel de Vendome is thus a unique jewel, on a par with all the precious stones in the vicinity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel de Vendome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vendome Hotel
De Vendome Paris
Hotel Vendome Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel de Vendome, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.