We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a 5 star, doesn't worth it” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de Vendome

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel de Vendome to your Saves list
Hotel de Vendome
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Place Vendome, 75001 Paris, France (Louvre / Palais-Royal)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #363 of 1,792 Hotels in Paris
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Not a 5 star, doesn't worth it”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

The staff is super nice, but this hotel is not pulling 5 stars and doesn't worth the money I paid for it. It's small, outdated, and has no facilities. The cleaning is bad-what you got on the floor will stay on the floor for weeks, but somebody's hair regularly appears everywhere. Tips don't help. The restaurant is slow and the extremely pricy food tastes just to the level not to be poisoned. Tea costs 7 euro and they will bring you warm water and a tea bag. Basic requests can't be satisfied. I know places in Paris at the same location that are cheaper and million times better than this one. Don't recommend.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    72
    24
    10
    5
See reviews for
38
158
17
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

My daughter and I stayed at this hotel May 30 to June 2, 2013, it was lovely. Our room was clean and comfortable. The staff was very helpful and accommodated us with all of our requests. Breakfast was wonderful, and we had a lovely server named Daniele, she made sure we were happy with everything and she was prompt and very cheerful. We had drinks at the bar, BEST bloody Mary, I ever had. It was a wonderful trip and the hotel was within walking distance of everywhere we wanted to go. I loved that it was a small and intimate hotel with very helpful staff. Would recommend it and would love to stay there again. Virginia Prouse

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

This property is beautiful, well located but simply cannot be considered a 5 star property. The staff is polite and well meaning but could not accommodate basic requests. For example we could not seem to get a laundry service bag in the room despite several requests. They could not get a rental car booked. They could not get a guide booked for a tour of the catacombs because their guide was "afraid". Worst the elevator did not work for our entire stay. Nice people that can't seem to execute. Too bad.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We recently had a fabulous 5 night stay at this hotel, and we did not want to leave! It is at Place Vendome, which is a great position with the Tuilleries Gardens, Opera House, The Louvre, Boulevarde Haussman department stores, River Seine and many other attractions very close by, so is an easy walk. Our suite was beautifully decorated in a classic lavish style and by Paris standards, was simply huge! With an outlook over Rue St Honore, it had a separate powder room, sitting room, separate bedroom, massive walk in wardrobe and a large bathroom. The ambience in the whole hotel is of a calm oasis in a busy city. We had breakfast included and it is served in the restaurant which has been decorated by Dior. The food at breakfast and also at the dinner that we had there one night, was faultlessly presented, so delicious and the service was first class. For our dinner there, we chose the 5 course degustation menu, and were not disappointed with the quality and the amount of the serving. We felt very at ease in this hotel, and were constantly greeted by name. All the staff were very helpful and efficient, and could not do enough for us.

This was our first stay at this hotel, but will not be our last!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Understanding how wildly expensive Paris is for U.S. travelers, i was understandably nervous about what I would find at the Hotel de Vendome, where i had booked a four-night stay. This charming hotel is on the block immediately off Place Vendome and just around the corner from the Ritz (which is closed for renovation). Our room at Hotel de Vendome was quite reasonable by Paris standards, generously sized, and the service was old world charming. Only 29 rooms makes the place quite intimate, almost all the staff were quite helpful and pleased to have us staying with them (refreshing for Paris) and overall i would go back most certainly. The small bar/restaurant is alright and the service there is actually quite dim, but everything else about the hotel is Five Star.

Room Tip: Buy the modest upgrade for a superior room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

I had the absolute pleasure of staying in a suite at this hotel for 4 nights this last week . The service was impeccable and the bar was a lovely relaxing area to indulge in a delicious glass of pink champagne after shopping. Our suite was fantasic with every comfort you could wish for. The hotel is perfectly placed for shopping and dinning out. I would recommend this hotel without hesitation!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

I found the Hotel de Vendome on line and fell in love with the pictures. We traveled from New Orleans to Paris. This was our first trip to Europe. I must say that The Hotel de Vendome did not disappoint. It is a beautiful, elegant Hotel in an excellent location that is within walking distance to just about everything. Our room was wonderful. It was very clean, comfortable and quiet even though we had a room that faced the street. The bathroom featured a gorgeous marble deep soaking tub which came in handy at the end of a long day. We ate at their restaurant everyday. It was delightful and the food was excellent. The staff service was top notch. While we were there we requested wake up calls, taxis, room service and everything was done as requested. I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Paris hotels
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Hotel Le Burgundy
Hotel Le Burgundy
#110 of 1,792 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 406 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Castille Paris
Castille Paris
#409 of 1,792 in Paris
4.0 of 5 stars 759 reviews
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Renaissance Paris Vendome
Renaissance Paris Vendome
#384 of 1,792 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Louvre / Palais-Royal
Grand Hotel du Palais Royal
Opera / Bourse
Park Hyatt Paris - Vendome
Champs-Elysees
Sofitel Paris Le Faubourg
Sofitel Paris Le Faubourg
#275 of 1,792 in Paris
4.5 of 5 stars 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Vendome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Vendome

Address: 1 Place Vendome, 75001 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Louvre / Palais-Royal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#198 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#229 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel de Vendome 5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1723 by Pierre Perrin, the Sun King's secretary, this elegant building was in turn a private residence and a seat of government, then in 1842 the embassy of the young Republic of Texas whose independence France was the first to recognise. The square is named from the fact that n°1 was the site of the former Vendome family residence. Three centuries of art, culture and elegance make it a unique address in Paris. Today the place Vendome is the temple of Parisian jewellery, and gives onto Paris's most brilliant quartier, with its haute couture, antique dealers, art galleries, the Opera and the Louvre museum. The Hotel de Vendome is thus a unique jewel, on a par with all the precious stones in the vicinity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Hotel de Vendome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vendome Hotel
De Vendome Paris
Hotel Vendome Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel de Vendome, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.