We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location Great But Hotel Is Not” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de Vendome

Save Saved
You added Hotel de Vendome to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel de Vendome
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1 Place Vendome, 75001 Paris, France (Louvre / Place Vendôme)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #321 of 1,796 hotels in Paris
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Location Great But Hotel Is Not”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Location is great but the hotel did not live up to a 5 star. They originally tried to put us on the top floor which had small windows, stains in the carpet and had a smell in the room. I requested that we would be moved to lower floor which they did. Breakfast and lunch only served in dining room, they had a limited menu that they would deliver to your room for dinner. The bathtub was dangerous to get in and out of. I am 5'3" and the edge was about 3' off the floor, my husband would help me in and out, to make sure I did not slip (someone that has a mobility problem would have a hard time getting in and out). We stayed the previous year at the Renaissance Vendome which was down the street, we went there for snacks during this stay and wished we had stayed there again. I would not stay at the Hotel De Vendome again, location was great, but there are other hotels that are a great location for the price.

Room Tip: Make sure you are not on the top floor as the windows are small, ask to be move to a lower floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    146
    61
    18
    9
    4
See reviews for
30
135
13
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This hotel is beautiful and in a great part of paris. The rooms are lavishly decorated and come with a doorbell and camera to show you who is knocking on your door. Everything is automated: the curtains, optional music, etc. Walking distance from great cafes and shopping. I would highly recommend this hotel if you are visiting Paris!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
office
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

The Hotel was very nice and the staff was very friendly. The rooms were a good size and the beds were as comfortable as you wouild expect in a European hotel. The location is worth the price! The rooms have a centralized light and sound system so you can control all the lights and the music from the nightstand. When you enter the room jazz music greats you to the set the mood for Midnight in Paris. The hotel is close to teh best shopping-Chanel, Lanvin, Guerlin, Tiffany & Co., Tom Ford, etc.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

This is a small luxury hotel located on Place Vendome within a 15 minute walk to the Louvre, Musee D'Orsay and many other attractions. The rooms and public spaces are immaculate. Our suite had 1 and 1/2 marble bathrooms. The room was maintained in pristine condition. Despite the fact we arrived from the US at 10am, we were allowed to check-in to our room shortly after arrival which is not always common, especially in a small (29 room) hotel. The staff was generally efficient although the evening turndown service did not occur during 2 of our 5 night stay. An excellent choice for travelers looking for high room quality and location who don't need pool/fitness center/spa facilities.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

It is small but it has everything a luxury hotel needs. Rooms that are large for parisian standards and quiet (!) a lovely restaurant serving good food (a find for lunch in itself) and staff that could not be more lovely and caring in one of the larger houses around the corner. We have tried many hotels in Paris and this will be one of our favs.
The only small issue is that there is no gym. A small room is available for use by the hotelguests in a nearby hotel but it is very basic. They have a pool too however.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Our last stay in February at Hotel de Vendome was my 3rd. I love it, each time I say it is perfect, but each time it seems to get better. For the first time we had dinner in the dining room The food was amazing.....far superior to many, many restaurants! We will defintiely be back.
The staff are lovely and can't do enough for you.
A little oasis in a gorgoeus part of Paris.
I would highly recommend.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel de Vendome? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Vendome

Address: 1 Place Vendome, 75001 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Louvre / Place Vendôme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#161 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#223 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel de Vendome 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1723 by Pierre Perrin, the Sun King's secretary, this elegant building was in turn a private residence and a seat of government, then in 1842 the embassy of the young Republic of Texas whose independence France was the first to recognise. The square is named from the fact that n°1 was the site of the former Vendome family residence. Three centuries of art, culture and elegance make it a unique address in Paris. Today the place Vendome is the temple of Parisian jewellery, and gives onto Paris's most brilliant quartier, with its haute couture, antique dealers, art galleries, the Opera and the Louvre museum. The Hotel de Vendome is thus a unique jewel, on a par with all the precious stones in the vicinity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Booking.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Hotel de Vendome reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Vendome Hotel
De Vendome Paris
Hotel Vendome Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel de Vendome, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.