We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This street was magical...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rue Cler

Rue Cler
Rue Cler (Ecole Militaire metro) near Eiffel Tower, Paris, France (Tour Eiffel / Invalides)
Improve this listing
Ranked #135 of 1,131 things to do in Paris
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Activities: Shopping
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This lively cobblestone street effectively preserves the ambience of Paris of old and is home to countless small shops.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“This street was magical...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2011

My first trip to Paris included this wonderful street. It was exactly what you would expect -incredibly charming, with all kinds of lovely shops. It was very French and completely lovely. Flower shops, food shops, boulangeries, patisseries, cafes, lots of people. It was fantastique!

Visited April 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    155
    80
    33
    17
    8
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“2 blocks of heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2011

Despite all the tourists, I loved this place. It's not a huge traditional food market. But, it has a enough variety to make for a wonderful pinic. Our hotel was just a block away. We enjoyed going her every morning for pastries etc.

Visited May 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
211 reviews 211 reviews
131 attraction reviews
Reviews in 86 cities Reviews in 86 cities
202 helpful votes 202 helpful votes
“Pretty and great area to stay!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2011

A great area to stay in and a 10min walk to the Eiffel Tower. It has quite a few good places to eat and feels safe at night. I always stay in this area when in Paris.

Visited September 2010
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
naperville
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“rue Cler. is awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2011

Um. if you think Rue Cler is the one block or two blocks all you have to do is explore the surrounding areas and you will find Rue Cler is a central point of an incredible area. Indulge yourself in the area and you will want to go back again. Some of you are complaining about it but by reading your review it is easy to see you limited yourself to a confined area with expectations that everything should indulge you within 2 blocks oh Puh-lease. :)

Visited March 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not a 'market' at all!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2011

Reading reviews on tripadvisor, my friend and I decided to go to the Rue Cler on Sunday afternoon. It was really only a small street with shops extending stalls into the street admittedly selling some lovely fresh produce, but not the market hub bub we were looking for!

Visited April 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rue Cler also viewed

 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Rue Cler? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rue Cler, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.