We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Opera Garnier” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palais Garnier - Opera National de Paris

Palais Garnier - Opera National de Paris
8 rue Scribe, Place de l'Opera, 75009 Paris, France (Opera / Bourse)
01 58 05 49 42
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Palais Garnier - Opera National de Paris like an insider
Private Tour
$140*
and up
Private Tour: Opera Garnier and Passages Couverts
Ranked #6 of 1,123 things to do in Paris
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This performance hall hosts opera, ballet and chamber music performances.
St. Petersburg, Russia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
30 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Opera Garnier”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Opera Garnier offers everything you might want - beautiful performances, interiors and a nice buffet

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,953 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    5,115
    1,481
    244
    58
    55
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
broken arrow, oklahoma
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“UNEXPECTED WOW!! ADD TO YOUR PARIS BUCKET LIST..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

The Granier Opera House was Not on our original plan, but what a pleasant WOW! We didn't go for the opera, but for the history, architecture, and beauty. After having seen the Louvre and Palace at Versailles and other famous points of interest, I would rank the opera house right up there at the top of the list. What a treat. Magnificent Opulence is an understatement.

I would recommend paying the extra fee to secure a tour guide. I wish I could remember the tour guide's name, but she was a charming, personable guide originally from Italy.

Don"t forget to put the opera house on your list of places to visit. You won"t be sorry. Hope this was helpful.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“The gem in the crown of Paris.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

If you are lucky enough to score tickets to something in this hallowed of all hallowed European opera houses make sure and spring for at least 45euro seats or you will be upset about your sight lines. Get to the theater before the show and wander the gorgeous interior. If you can schedule a tour in your schedule, it's one of the best you'll get in Paris and you'll hear both the history of a beautiful and iconic building, but the history of Paris itself.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great theatre ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

Tremendous theatre. Enjoyed Ballet de l'Opera performance of Miss Julie and Fall River Legend. Hint - if you get seats in a box, try to get them in the front row of the box. It's worth it, because some of the boxes are very narrow.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Absolutely stunning”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

Considering that this was not in the guide book, I was taken back by the beauty and grandeur when I arrived here! I was only planning to view from the outside but upon seeing the architecture I felt compelled to go inside and I was certainly not disappointed. Inside the building was just as exquisite as the outside. I only wish that I had been there to see a performance and hadn't have missed the English speaking tours on that day.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palais Garnier - Opera National de Paris also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Palais Garnier - Opera National de Paris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palais Garnier - Opera National de Paris, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.