We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great place to visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palais Garnier - Opera National de Paris

Palais Garnier - Opera National de Paris
8 rue Scribe, Place de l'Opera, 75009 Paris, France (Opéra)
01 58 05 49 42
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Private Tour
$147*
and up
Private Tour: Opera Garnier and Passages Couverts
Ranked #2 of 634 Attractions in Paris
Type: Architectural Buildings, Operas, Theaters & Stadiums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This performance hall hosts opera, ballet and chamber music performances.
France
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“great place to visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

beautiful building inside and out, very heavy in decoration- fine to visit on your own or with a guide

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,948 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,363
    1,258
    224
    52
    51
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Thessaloniki, Greece
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
46 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Exceptional”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Another must seen when in Paris. It is better if you can arrange a guided tour. It is more impressive than Teatro Scala at Milan.
Watchout not losing your kids, it's very easy for them just to look an impressive dress as you are walking ahead.
I really appreciate not standing at a queue waiting to enter.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finspang
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“very beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

it was a very nice visit
one of the most attractive places I saw
I didn't take that much time but it was very nice

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“It's amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We never went inside but the outside and the architecture is absolutely stunning, you should stop by as it's not far from the city centre (Louvre, Champs Elysees) and it's near Galeries department store (heard it's the best in town) We were travelling by bikes (Velib, Paris' free bike system) and this was our stop on the way from Louvre to Arc de Triomphe.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
251 reviews 251 reviews
116 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Very luxury Opera interior”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

I enjoyed the Entrance interior design with fine details. The terrace looking to opera square was fantastic view

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Palais Garnier - Opera National de Paris also viewed

 
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Been to Palais Garnier - Opera National de Paris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palais Garnier - Opera National de Paris, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.