We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An out of the way gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Au Piano Muet - CLOSED

Au Piano Muet
48 Rue Mouffetard, 75005 Paris, France (Quartier Latin)
01 43 31 45 15
Improve this listing
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Neighborhood: Quartier Latin
Marietta, GA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“An out of the way gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

My daughter and I happened upon this restaurant by accident when we were strolling this area of Paris near our hotel. The restaurant was open air to the street. As we passed by a young lady in the restaurant asked if we wanted a seat we said we were just passing by and would return in the evening for dinner. She gave us a card and I'm sure thought she would never see us again. We did return and got a great table next to the open front and could watch the foot traffic go by. The price was amazing (for Paris) 11euros for full meal and 16 euros for wine that was very nice. People would stop and read the menu and see us eating therre and ask about the food we always said they should come and eat here, most did and it was an amazing meal at a great price. Anyone going to Paris must seek this restaurant out. You will not be disappointed!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    33
    4
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Largs, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Always good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

This is the third time we have visited. We were last here for a late Sunday lunch when our first choice was closed. We had a menu that was three courses for less than £11. This in Paris, which is a capital city in case you have forgotten. This is fantastic value and would probably not be repeated in any anonymous town in England. How do they do it?

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolding, Denmark
1 review
“Cosy restaurant and delicious food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We really enjoyed our meal in this small and cosy restaurant. The service and food was very nice. Good value for money.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larnaka, Cyprus
Top Contributor
198 reviews 198 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Very good restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Very tasty french food in a beautiful place and at not expensive price. Menu price from 12 euro per person and one litre french wine for 16 euro.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagler Beach, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very Pleasant Surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

This restaurant is in the middle of a very touristy area (top of Rue Mouffetard) but don't let that scare you. Excellent value and surprisingly good food. Three-course meal for 16.90 euros. The kids (20 and 23) had snails and duck confit. My wife and I had the onion soup. She had the steak au poivre and I had the duck confit as well. Nothing terribly innovative but executed very well. Very nice wait staff too. Desserts were outstanding. From chocolate mousse to raspberry panna cotta. Dinner for 4 with two bottles of wine = 118.00 euros.Nice area to visit too. Just down from Place de la Contrescarpe behing the Pantheon.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Au Piano Muet also viewed

Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 
Paris, Ile-de-France
Paris, Ile-de-France
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Au Piano Muet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.