We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbeatable Location in Paris but needs renovation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel du Louvre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel du Louvre to your Saves list
Hotel du Louvre
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Place Andre Malraux, 75001 Paris, France   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Bed & Breakfast Package
Ranked #574 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Unbeatable Location in Paris but needs renovation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

The hotel is right next to Louvre museum and you can get tickets from concierge and skip the long line. The metro is right infront aswell,making it one of the best located hotels in Paris. Seine river and Musee De Orsay is short 5 min walk away. The area is filled with upscale shops and restaurants. Perfect for couples in vacation as it's in the hear of the city of Lights.

But Hyatt needs to upgrade the property in order to compete with other 5 star properties like Park Hyatt nearby; especially when they are charging almost 700-800 dollars/night during peak season. The floor, stair carpets must go now.. the rooms and baths need to be redocarated with modern amenities and better soundproofing. With a few million Euro of investment this could be the crowning Jewel of Hyatt properties in Europe.

I found the service and staff in the hotel varied, for example the frontdesk lady who received us at 1am the day we arrived was extremely helpful and went above and beyond to give us a great start. But the next day we met indifferent person called Christine at Frontdesk who just seems to be following standard process. Same goes for breakfast area.. the south asian manager was super helpful in getting us the right seats and extending time when we were delayed one day, but the British greeter seemed very cold.

Room Tip: With view of Opera
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pfauret, Manager at Hotel du Louvre, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thank you very much for having taken the time to leave a review following your stay at the Hotel du Louvre.

Please do accept our most sincere apologies for not having met your expectations.

I will definitely share your remarks with the Heads of Department concerned and appropriate actions will be taken, in order to avoid such issues in the future, especially in regards to your comments regarding the service at Front Desk and Breakfast.

Please rest assured that the comfort and the satisfaction of our guests are our first preoccupations. I thank you for your understanding and for helping us to improve the quality of our service.

Yours sincerely,

Pierre Fauret
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    506
    425
    163
    79
    42
See reviews for
240
525
59
120
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pretoria, South Africa
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

No denying the excellent location. The staff are also outstanding, but then it ends. I booked a bigger room with a king size bed. The family next door were very noisy, poor sound proofing. I was moved to a smaller and more expensive room. This is a old hotel and it shows. It is not 5 star and I don't think it can make the Hyatt group proud.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pfauret, Manager at Hotel du Louvre, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thank you for having taken the time to leave a comment about our hotel.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Paris.

However, we have taken good note of your remarks concerning your room. Please rest assured that the comfort and the satisfaction of our guests are our first preoccupations. Thank you for your understanding and for helping us improve the quality of our service.

We do hope for an opportunity to welcome you again to our hotel under better circumstances.

With our best regards,

Pierre Fauret
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is shockingly poorly kept. One expects a certain minimum standards when a name like Hyatt is associated with a hotel and when you pay top dollars. Please beware that this is not a Hyatt hotel other than the branding on the website. The quality of rooms 'reserved' for Expedia/ Tripadvisor bookings are worse than you will get in a travelodge. Broken furniture, smelly rooms... Let your imagination run wild. Staff are decent and helpful enough and
that's the only saving grace.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pfauret, Manager at Hotel du Louvre, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments on your stay in our hotel.

We apologize for the level of service you experienced on this occasion and will indeed be following up in all areas mentioned. We do hold the greatest importance to up keeping high guest service levels and thank you for bringing these issues to our attention in order to help us follow up.

We do hope for an opportunity to welcome you again to our hotel under better circumstances.

With our best regards,

Pierre Fauret
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Being 5* you tend to expect the best and whilst it may not have met all expectations, the location couldn't have been better, the staff were great and the exterior and some areas were stunning. As a with all older buildings upkeep is difficult but many 5* have kept up so a little disappointing this hotel hasn't. Rooms are very small and fittings are showing much wear and tear.
Gym certainly wasn't 5* but at least they had one, a decent spa is kind of expected (even though I don't use)

Room Tip: Decide if you want a view of the Louvre (within spitting distance - excuse the scenario) or the quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pfauret, Manager at Hotel du Louvre, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you for your review following your stay with us.
We are very happy to read that you enjoyed our hotel, and be sure that I will tell our staff about your kind words.
Concerning the rooms, we would like you to know that most of them are unique and benefit from individual touches and exceptional views.
Please rest assured that the comfort and the satisfaction of our guests are our first preoccupations. I thank you for your understanding and for helping us to improve the quality of our service.
We would be happy to welcome you again soon,
With my best regards,
Pierre Fauret
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasilia, DF
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Amazzing place to stay in Paris.
You can do anything by walking but if you need to take the metro is quite easy because the best line (LIGNE1)is a few steps of the hotel
Breakfast is very good as well the staff
Cleaning was a little poor , our room stay 1 day without cleaning...
the shower on the bathroom was not very good, weak, warm/cold doesn't work.
But I recomend this hotel because the localization and food.

Room Tip: take a suite , amazzing view of opera garnier
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pfauret, Manager at Hotel du Louvre, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your comments on Tripadvisor. I was very pleased to learn that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

However, we have taken good note of your remarks concerning the housekeeking and the bathroom. Please rest assured that the comfort and the satisfaction of our guests are our first preoccupations. Thank you for your understanding and for helping us improve the quality of our service.

I am looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to the Hotel du Louvre.

With my best regards,

Pierre Fauret
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We stayed in two rooms on the 5th floor over looking the plaza behind it...Not a critical thing to say. The rooms were large, the hotel staff went out of their way to help and very very pleasant and accomodating. The bar had a great Jazz band for entertainment and the restaraunt attached to it served superb food. The location is great for the metro and of course is right across the street from the Louvre...They just completed a renovation and the property looks fantastic...

Room Tip: Become part of the Hyatt points program and maximize your opportunity to stay in properties like thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pfauret, Manager at Hotel du Louvre, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Thank you very much for sharing your impressions.
We are delighted to see that our mission of excellence was carried out in every aspect trough your stay.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back at the Hotel du Louvre.
With my best regards,
Pierre Fauret
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel du Louvre during our stay in Paris. It was a great experience! It is centrally located and easy to maneuver around Paris. The room had a wonderful view! The room was quiet, beds were very comfortable and the room was perfect! The staff was very friendly and answered all of our questions and provided guidance. We will return!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pfauret, Manager at Hotel du Louvre, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments. I am extremely pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay at the Hotel du Louvre, a Hyatt Hotel.
I will definitely share with all our staff your positive comments. Your satisfaction is an encouragement to us in the pursuit of making each stay memorable.
Hopefully we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future !
With my best regards,
Pierre Fauret
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel du Louvre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Louvre

Address: Place Andre Malraux, 75001 Paris, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#255 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#364 Family Hotel in Paris
#422 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel du Louvre 5*
Number of rooms: 177
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by the best of Paris with four facades facing the most famous cultural sights, the Hotel du Louvre is two minutes walk from the Louvre Museum, and ten minutes away from the Opera Garnier. It is set in the heart of the fashion district just steps away from the boutiques on the Rue St Honoré and has direct access to the Champs-Elysées and to the business district of La Défense. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Otel, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel du Louvre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Du Louvre Paris
Du Louvre Hotel
Hotel Du Louvre Paris
Hotel De Louvre

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel du Louvre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.