We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely old-fashioned time!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Raphael

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Raphael to your Saves list
Hotel Raphael
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   17 Avenue Kleber | 16 Arr., 75116 Paris, France (Passy)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #224 of 1,793 Hotels in Paris
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“A lovely old-fashioned time!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

We stayed at the Hotel Raphael in Paris in October 2011 on a beautiful weekend in Paris.

Even before we arrived, I was very impressed by the incredibly helpful concierge desk, who (due to my changing my mind about restaurants) changed my bookings three times without a single complaint and managed to secure a last minute reservation at Les ambassadeurs at the Hotel Crillon (no mean feat!)

From the moment you walk in and climb into the old-fashioned lift with it's cage door, it's like stepping back into the victorian era, but with modern bits. Our suite was lovely, a huge bathroom and a bedroom in a curtained alcove with a large living room with lovely antique furniture. A fruit bowl and chocolates were a nice touch. The breakfast buffet was really good with yummy extra additions if you wanted. It's also right by 2 major metro stations, so easy to get around.

The staff couldn't have been more helpful for the entire stay.

My only niggles were that you had to pay for wi-fi (not what i expect at E400 plus a night) and that the prices in the downstairs bar (which is lovely) were extortionate - E25 for a cocktail, E20 for a glass of champagne and E8 for a soft drink. It was cheaper to drink at the hotel Crillon (which we duly did). The mini-bar was not much better!

All in all though, we had a delighful stay and would happily go back.

Room Tip: The higher rooms are quieter - floor 3 and above
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IDHANA, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel Raphael, responded to this review, November 23, 2011
Dear Guest,
We do apologize for not replying sooner.
Thank you very much for staying at the Raphael and for sharing your feedbacks here on Tripadvisor.
Please be assured that we have taken good note of your remarks and consider them very seriously, as they will help us to improve the quality of services for our guest.
We sincerely hope to have the chance to welcome you back in the future.
Yours faithfully,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    70
    28
    16
    9
See reviews for
43
146
13
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denmark
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

Have stayed here many times since was recommended by a French friend.

Its old like every other hotel in Paris but it has style and the service is great. The location is good and the breakfast likewise

Only bad thing is the cost for internet but reckon its like that all over Paris

Room Tip: hi floors are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IDHANA, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel Raphael, responded to this review, November 23, 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for choosing the Raphael for your visit to Paris and for sharing your feedbacks on Tripadvisor.
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the Raphael and are honoured to have contributed to the success of your Parisian experience.
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again in a near future.
Yours sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

One of the most beautiful rooms I have stayed in and a wonderful location! The service was extremely friendly and quick, and the rooftop bar provides one of the best views of the Parisian skyline available. It's location is ideal as it is right in the heart of the Champs Elysee without having the noise and traffic of staying on the famous blvd.
Beautiful fruit and chocolate on arrival and delicious champagne was brought up also. All-in-all, highly recommended for a romantic getaway.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IDHANA, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel Raphael, responded to this review, November 23, 2011
Dear Guest,
We thank you for sharing your recent experience at the Raphael hotel and for having taken the time to write your comments on Tripadvisor.
We are delighted to read that you found your stay with us most enjoyable.
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

Absolutely love this hotel. Located on Kleber (3 block walk to Champs Elysees) with a Metro stop on the same block. Staff very helpful. Mix of business and leisure travel but everyone blends well. In the summer, go to the top floor of the hotel to their garden with a great view of the eiffer tower. Rooms were a decent size though I'm not sure if they have a lot of double rooms. Felt comfortable here and will recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
socal
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

I visited the Raphael with two friends and we shared a junior suite. The staff was knowledgeable and friendly. I have also stayed at two of the sister properties - the Majestic, located just behind the Raphael, and the Regina Hotel, across the street from the Louvre. Any one of the these properties works well for me. Each one has its own personality, but the people are all well trained and the Raphael and Regina are very close to the Metro.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

Obivously, in my review below, I meant "great" restaurant, not "quail" restaurant -- my helpful Apple device got a little too exuberant with its word choices. Not a whole lot of restaurants in Paris or anywhere else dedicated completely to quail. Thanks for the positive comments about the review, FoodEpicure.

Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

For many years my wife and I have eyed this beautiful property on rue Kléber and in September this year we had the priviledge of spending three nights here. It is the sister propery of the Hotel Regina and the Majestic. Our welcome was warm and the staff a pleasure to deal with. The dining room was truly beautiful as all the other public areas such as the bar Anglais.The room was large and very comfortable. For those looking for a taste of the old Europe and Paris of a more gracious age, this is the place to stay.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the inner courtyard are probably quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IDHANA, Responsable relations publiques at Hotel Raphael, responded to this review, September 19, 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for choosing the Raphael for your visit to Paris and for having taken the time to share your comments on Tripadvisor.
We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Raphael. Please, be assured that your kind words have been passed on to the staff and are much appreciated.
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.
Sincerely,
Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Raphael? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Raphael

Address: 17 Avenue Kleber | 16 Arr., 75116 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Passy
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#106 Business Hotel in Paris
#116 Luxury Hotel in Paris
#218 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Raphael 5*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated a 2-minute walk from the Champs-Elysees and the Arc de Triomphe, this 5-star hotel offers luxury accommodation in the heart of Paris. It offers a panoramic terrace and a gastronomic restaurant. Decorated in a Louis 15th and 16th style, guest rooms feature wooden furnishings and elaborate wall hangings. They include a flat-screen TV and a minibar. Some of the suites feature a balcony, views of the Eiffel Tower and lounge area. Award-winning chef, Amandine Chaignot, proposes gastronomic French cuisine at the sophisticated Raphael Restaurant. Guests can relax and have a snack, tea, drink or just a breath at the cosy English Bar's red velvet arm chairs. Other facilities at the hotel include free Wi-Fi access and a fitness room. Charles de Gaulle - Etoile Metro Station is just 400 metres away, providing direct access to the Louvre Museum and the Grand Palais. Trocadero is a 15-minute walk away, which offers one of the best views of the Eiffel Tower in Paris. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, LHW, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Raphael reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raphael Hotel Paris
Hotel Raphael Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Raphael, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.