We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Greta location, but stay depends on the room!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Grand Hotel Malher

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Grand Hotel Malher to your Saves list
Grand Hotel Malher
5 Rue Malher | 4th Arr., 75004 Paris, France (Le Marais)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #401 of 1,794 Hotels in Paris
Germany
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Greta location, but stay depends on the room!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2008

This hotel is situated in a great location in the Marais, good for the Bohème, alternatives, trendies and gays.
The hotel staff were friendly enough, but the success of staying here depends on the room. At one stay we had a room to the front in the fifth floor, which was great! Much light, and a view of the street scene. The next time we had two rooms (having to change after two nights). The first room was to the back and the first floor. The meant we had to have the light on even in the day time. No daylight penetrated down there. The second room was on the ground floor, with the bins in front of the window. Dark thick fabrics and over-dimensioned furniture didn't help.
Being in Paris, we didn't try the hotel breakfast, but rather went for the great choice of nearby restaurants.
The area is fantastic, but there are better hotels to be had.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    26
    16
    4
    5
See reviews for
13
26
8
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zagreb, Croatia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2008

Stayed two nights at the Hôtel Malher in February 2008 on a business trip. The location of the hotel is great - in Le Marais, walking distance to great shops, cafes and very near the Saint-Paul metro station. It's a small hotel. I had a room facing the inner courtyard and it was very peaceful. The room was really small, but comfortable enough and clean. The hotel has an elevator and WI-FI access in the rooms. Breakfast (in a basement room, but refurbished and decorated to appear more airy, elevator accessible) is the standard French croissant + baguette + butter + fruit jam + warm drink, and in decent quantity. I'd recommend it to travelers who don't mind a small room.

  • Liked — location, free WI-FI, neighbourhood
  • Disliked — small rooms
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2007

Grand Hotel Malher is a pleasant hotel right near Place De L'Opera. It's a nice area of Paris with lots of great cafes nearby. The room was not noisy at all - good for Paris, and was fairly small - but for Paris, not bad at all.

The desk staff were very friendly, and everything was clean. A sure bet for a good place from which to see the great city of Paris.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2007

Stayed just one night at the Mahler but loved it! The staff were friendly and helpful, the room was delightfully clean and comfortable and breakfast was delicious. The location in the Marias is ideal and it is just steps from the St. Paul Metro stop.
One minor complaint is that the lift is barely big enough for baggage much less for people. We had quite a comical time getting our sports gear to and from our room! There was a bit of noise in the morning as the building directly behind the hotel was undergoing renovations.

  • Liked — Excellent quality
  • Disliked — A tiny lift
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, NM, USA
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2006

This was our fourth extended stay at this wonderful, clean, well-located hotel. The owners and all the staff go out of their way to make your time in Paris enjoyable. We shall always try them first when looking for a place to stay in Paris!

  • Liked — Welcoming staff, very clean and well-appointed rooms and bathrooms.
  • Disliked — I'd like a little more room and storage space, but the rooms are actually average-size for Paris.
  • Tips/Secrets — Book ahead if possible.
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco Bay Area
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2006

This is a good, reasonably priced hotel in a great location in the Marais. Nothing special or fancy about the rooms ... a typical small room, reasonably firm foam mattress, and a remodeled bathroom with modern appliances. Our room faced a small inner courtyard, which was ringed by windows from this and other hotels/apts, most of which kept blinds drawn for privacy. No A/C that we could see, so it could get hot and stuffy in the summer. Has a small elevator to help with baggage, and a steep narrow central staircase as well. A block from the St. Louis-Marais stop on line 1 of the Metro, which puts you about 15 minutes from pretty much anywhere you want to go in the City.

I have to mention the great little american breakfast spot across the street from this hotel, (on Rue Mahler just up from Rue Rivoli). Called "Breakfast in America," its a great little spot to head for when you tire of croissants and tiny cafe noirs to start your day. Its done up like a typical american diner, playing tunes from the 80s and 90s. Not what you go to Paris for, but after two weeks in France it was just the spot to recharge with an omelette, hash browns, and a bottomless cup of joe, and converse with the friendly expat waitresses from the U.S. before heading out to do battle with the crowds at the Louvre.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2006

Having used the Malher a number of times and found it be be excellent, we were very upset to find on arrival that our confirmed booking meant nothing. We were told that although we had a confirmed booking, the hotel was completely full and we would have to go somewhere else (a nearby cheaper local hotel of poorer quality was suggested). We asked for an explanation but none was forthcoming (the desk clerk was unable to offer any explanation whatsover). We left our mobile number so that if anyone wanted to offer an explanation they would be able to, but no-one has rung. Anyway, it's been a good hotel in the past so if anyone is walking past the door and in need of a somewhere to stay, do try it - the recently renovated rooms are nice. But if you need to book in advance and be sure that the room you've booked hasn't been given to someone else, maybe try another hotel in this fantastic area of Paris.

Stayed March 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grand Hotel Malher? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Malher

Address: 5 Rue Malher | 4th Arr., 75004 Paris, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Paris > Le Marais
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#173 Best Value Hotel in Paris
#439 Romantic Hotel in Paris
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a family establishement for the past 3 generations, in the very heart of the Marais area, just next door to Place des Vosges, the Bastille Opera House, the Picasso and Carnavalet museums, and close to the Ile Saint Louis, Notre Dame, Pompidou center and the Grand Louvre.We are located 2 minutes from the metro station Saint Paul.In our historical area, you will also find antique dealers, art galleries, fashion boutiques, restaurants, typical bars and colourful markets.The Grand Hotel Malher is being entirely renovated now and 2 floors are already finished. We will become a 3 star hotel by the end of the year. All rooms including bathrooms and furnitures are new, with modern and elegant design. You will also be delighted to have breakfast in our 17th century wine cellar.Our charming team will be happy to help you if you need information on your business trip or if you are visiting Paris. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Grand Hotel Malher reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Paris

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Grand Hotel Malher, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.